Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Academy of Family Physicians - Epilepsy
The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a medical society devoted to primary care and is comprised of 129,000 physicians and medical students worldwide. This webpage provides a basic overview of epilepsy, as well as a list of questions to ask a doctor about the condition.
American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ACNS)
The American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ACNS) is a major professional organization in the United States that contributes to establishing and maintaining standards of professional excellence in clinical neurophysiology. This website contains information about their membership, meetings, education, practice, research, publications, and advocacy.
American Epilepsy Society (AES)
The American Epilepsy Society (AES), comprised of clinicians, scientists investigating basic and clinical aspects of epilepsy, and other professionals interested in seizure disorders, seeks to promote interdisciplinary communications, scientific investigation, and exchange of clinical information about epilepsy. This website contains information about clinical resources, professional education, research, and membership, as well as a "For Patients" section with information about epilepsy and resources for finding doctors and patient organizations.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Epilepsy
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is the leading national public health institute of the United States and is a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). This webpage is a comprehensive introduction to epilepsy and contains several resources organized by type (such as data and statistics, research, and publications) and intended audience (including parents and caregivers, health care providers, professionals, and schools and communities). This website also has information on seizure first aid, self-management programs, and a communications center to stay up-to-date with the latest studies, resources, and programs.
Epilepsy Centers of Excellence (ECoE)
The Epilepsy Centers of Excellence (ECoE) is a network of 16 sites that partners with VA physicians, nurses, therapists, pharmacists, and other allied healthcare providers to provide comprehensive epilepsy evaluation and care for veterans with seizure disorders. This webpage provides a basic overview of epilepsy and a compilation of patient resources, as well as resources for the patient, provider, and nursing education. This webpage also provides an introduction to different types of technology and scans used to diagnose epilepsy, including EEGs, MRIs, and PET scans.
The Epilepsy Foundation is a nationwide organization providing community services, public education, federal and local advocacy, seizure first aid training, and research funding into new treatments and therapies. This website contains several education resources about the nature of epilepsy, resources for living with the condition, and ways to make a difference through advocacy, research, and public awareness.
Finding a Cure for Epilepsy and Seizures (FACES)
Finding a Cure for Epilepsy and Seizures (FACES), affiliated with the NYU Comprehensive Epilepsy Center and NYU Langone Health, comprises of parents, adult patients, and doctors who seek to improve the quality of life for those with epilepsy through research, education and awareness, and community-building events. This website contains a compilation of patient resources, research and education resources, and information about events and programs.
International League Against Epilepsy
The International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE) is an association comprised of health care professionals and scientists that promote awareness, research, education, and training about epilepsy.
My Epilepsy Story
My Epilepsy Story is a national, non-profit organization that seeks to bridge the gap for women and girls diagnosed with epilepsy, as well as children impacted by their mother’s epilepsy, by advocating, researching, and educating others about the condition. This website provides access to services such as an online support group and how to find a doctor and hospital, as well as epilepsy news, research findings, and resources for doctors.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke - Epilepsy
The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) is a part of the U.S. National Institutes of Health that performs and funds research for neurological disorders. This webpage provides information about what research is being done on epilepsy, as well as information about treatment, diagnosis, prognosis, and clinical trials. This resource also has a compilation of patient organizations and publications to consult for more information.
Doing an online search for "fibromyalgia chat group" or "fibromyalgia support group" can help you find online forums for support and community.