LibGuides: Fibromyalgia: Academic Resources

Journals

Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases
Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases (ARD) is an international peer-reviewed journal covering all aspects of rheumatology, which includes the full spectrum of musculoskeletal conditions, arthritic disease, and connective tissue disorders. ARD publishes basic, clinical, and translational scientific research, including the most important recommendations for the management of various conditions.
Clinical Rheumatology
Clinical Rheumatology is an international English-language journal devoted to publishing original clinical investigation and research in the general field of rheumatology with accent on clinical aspects at postgraduate level. It aims to cover all modern trends in clinical and experimental research as well as the management and evaluation of diagnostic and treatment procedures connected with the inflammatory, immunologic, metabolic, genetic and degenerative soft and hard connective tissue diseases.
International Journal of Rheumatic Diseases
The International Journal of Rheumatic Diseases (formerly APLAR Journal of Rheumatology) publishes original articles on clinical or experimental research pertinent to the rheumatic diseases, work on connective tissue diseases and other immune and allergic disorders.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Use Academic Search Ultimate in the NEW EBSCO user interface.

Alternate Access Link
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers.
Alternate Access Link
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides indexing for close to 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Alternate Access Link
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Alternate Access Link
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research. Filter by subject and content type.

Statistics

Check out our "Finding Statistics" guide for more information on finding statistics from multiple areas of study:

Finding Statistics
by Teaching, Learning, and Academic Support Library Last Updated Jul 11, 2024 299 views this year

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides a variety of health statistics and surveys. The information on this website is free and they also publish the National Vital Statistics Report.

Searching Tips

Here are some ways to use keywords in a more complex search:

- By using the word AND to combine keywords databases will yield a narrower and more specific set of results, since AND tells the database to retrieve articles that have both keywords in them.

- By using the word OR to combine keywords databases will yield a broader and more comprehensive set of results, since OR tells the database to retrieve articles that have either one of the keywords in them (rather than both).

Examples:

Fibromyalgia OR Fibromyalgia Syndrome
Fibromyalgia AND Women
Fibromyalgia AND Teens OR Children