Below is a list of searches using subject headings that may prove useful when searching for horn materials in VuFind, the online library catalog. Using quotation marks will return results containing the exact phrasing of the subject heading.
This reference resource is a dictionary of key horn terminology and notable figures in the history of the horn. This resource is in both German and English and includes a basic overview of horn history.
This introduction to the early horn provides a historical account of the instrument's development during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as well as a practical guide to the playing techniques of the time and the principles of interpretation.
This resource is a book that goes into the history and development of the French horn, going into detail about the evolution of its key features and proper playing techniques. This book includes a list of French horn makers in addition to a bibliography.
This resource is a thesis that focuses on the history evolution of the French horn, specifically its development in regards to the different styles of composition it was used for based on different historical eras. This resources includes a bibliography.
The story of the first African American French Hornist hired by a major symphony in the United States. Watt walks readers through the many obstacles of the racial climate in the United States, both on and off stage, and his efforts to learn and eventually master an instrument little considered in the African American community.
This resource acts as a biography about Philip Farkas, one of the most acclaimed and influential horn players in America. The book includes his own personal history of his professional career in addition to anecdotes from several colleagues of his and published articles written by both himself and others about him and his views on horn performance and musicianship.
Note: Periodicals are arranged alphabetically in MPAL.
The Historic Brass Society Journal is an annually-published and peer-reviewed journal distributed to members of the society and any subscribing libraries. The library has all current issues of the journal.
This periodical is the journal for the International Horn Society, with three issues published annually. The journal includes membership news, workshop reports, feature articles, a variety of clinics, biographical sketches, music and recording reviews, and advertisements for horn-related products and services. The library has all of the print issues of the journal up until the year 2011 when printing was cancelled. For any content later than 2011, see the UIUC Online Collection.