Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Resources for the Study of the Hungarian language: Home

General Hungarian Resources

Here at UIUC the International Area Studies Library offers a Hungarian collection that numbers approximately 23,990 volumes.  It contains standard reference works and a representative selection of works in most disciplines.  The monographic literature is strongest in the history of Hungary up to 1918.  The library also possesses an excellent collection of official documents and law books.  There are, for example, the complete records of the Hungarian diet and parliament from 1790 to 1944 and nearly 2,500 items on all aspects of Hungarian law published before 1918.  The periodical and serial collections on history, literature, and language are strong.

 

Indiana University Hungarian Studies has "... one of most important collections of Hungarica in the United States, the largest among US academic institutions.  According to IUB's collection description, "...  total collection contains approximately 24,300 volumes, 20,400 of which are in Hungarian." Visit the Herman B. Wells Library. Although there are major gaps in the Hungarian collection, it is still one of the best in the United States. During the years when professor Ranki was at Indiana, only the Library of Congress and Harvard could match Indiana's then current collecting. The post 1989 holdings are weak, due to the enormous difficulty of receiving books from Hungary. The total collection contains approximately 24,300 volumes, 20,400 of which are in Hungarian.

 

Hungarian instruction began at Rutgers already in 1959.  The Institute for Hungarian Studies (IHS) arose in 1991 following an agreement between Rutgers and the Ministry of Culture and Education of the Republic of Hungary.  It supports the study of the culture, history, politics and society of Hungary and Hungarians with programs on the Rutgers campus and abroad.

 

The Hungarian Studies Association (HSA) was formed in 1970 as The American Association for the Study of Hungarian History by 12 scholars: Janos Bak, George Barany, Stephen Borsody, Laszlo Deme, Tibor Halasi-Kun, Samuel Goldberger, Andrew Gyorgy, Bela Kiraly, Peter Pastor, John Rath, Steven B. Vardy, and Peter Sugar. They charged their new organization with the following mission:

    - to act as a forum for historians interested in Hungarian history, and
   -  to establish contacts and cooperate with colleagues in Hungary.

In 2003 the decision was made to change the Association's name to reflect the academic diversity of its membership. Since 2004 the new name of the association is Hungarian Studies Association. The membership has doubled to about 140, representing not only scholars in the United States, but also in ten countries; Australia, Canada, Israel, Italy, Japan, Hungary, Germany, Norway, Spain, and the United Kingdom. The association is an affiliate of both the American Historical Association and the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies and its business meetings are held concurrently with the annual conventions of these national organizations. Contact with members is maintained with our Newsletter, which between 1970 and 1984 was published three times a year, and since then, it is published four or five times annually. The Association also presents an article prize and a book prize in alternate years for the best Hungary related article or monograph. The biennial article prize is funded by the Association, while the book award is given jointly with the Hungarian Chair of Indiana University, Bloomington. A quick count shows that members have published over 100 books and innumerable articles in various scholarly and popular journals.

You can find a list of their resources, here.

Intensive Language Programs

The American Association for Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (AATSEEL) website has a page that describes intensive programs in Slavic and East European languages as well as in the languages of the Republics of the former Soviet Union. The listings include those programs offered in U.S. (and some Canadian) colleges and universities as well as in programs abroad. This is a free service provided by AATSEEL to such programs.

Each language has its own page, and programs are divided into the following categories: Summer Programs in the U.S., Summer Programs Abroad, and Semester/Year Programs Abroad. Information is added to this page as it is received, so check frequently for updates.

The website has a table which allows you to click on the language you are interested in, and it directs you to links to the program/school websites teaching the language.

Overview

Depiction of ancient Magyars

Source

 

Hungary became a Christian kingdom in A.D. 1000 and for many centuries served as a bulwark against Ottoman Turkish expansion in Europe. The kingdom eventually became part of the polyglot Austro-Hungarian Empire, which collapsed during World War I. The country fell under Communist rule following World War II. In 1956, a revolt and an announced withdrawal from the Warsaw Pact were met with a massive military intervention by Moscow. Under the leadership of Janos KADAR in 1968, Hungary began liberalizing its economy, introducing so-called "Goulash Communism." Hungary held its first multiparty elections in 1990 and initiated a free market economy. It joined NATO in 1999 and the EU five years later. In 2011, Hungary assumed the six-month rotating presidency of the EU for the first time.

 

Image of the Hungarian flag.

Population: 9,825,704 (July 2018 est.)

 

Ethnic Groups: Hungarian, Romani, German, Other

 

Languages: Hungarian, English, german, Russian, Romanian, French

 

Religions: Roman Catholic, Clavinist, Lutheran, Greek Catholic, Other

 

Hungarian map.

 

Area - 93,028 sq km

Comparative: slightly smaller than Indiana

 

Climate: temperate; cold, cloudy, humid winters; warm summers


Terrain: mostly flat to rolling plains; hills and low mountains on the Slovakian border


Elevation extremes:
lowest point: Tisza River 78 m
highest point: Kekes 1,014 m


Natural resources: bauxite, coal, natural gas, fertile soils, arable land

 

Environment - current issues: the upgrading of Hungary's standards in waste management, energy efficiency, and air, soil, and water pollution to meet EU requirements will require large investments

 

Geographic note: landlocked; strategic location astride main land routes between Western Europe and Balkan Peninsula as well as between Ukraine and Mediterranean basin; the north-south flowing Duna (Danube) and Tisza Rivers divide the country into three large regions

 

The walls of the fortress above the city of Eger.

source: CIA - The World Factbook

Hungarian Cultural Association

Image states: Hungarian Cultural Association Indiana University

Join the  Hungarian Cultural Association!  Sign up and follow their listerv...   Here is what they have to say: the Hungarian Cultural Association is a student-run organization at Indiana University. The HCA organizes programs and events for students of the Hungarian language and Hungarian Studies. Our group is comprised of both Americans and Hungarians alike, and our membership includes undergraduates, grad students, and community members.