Maroon Arts by Richard X. Price; Sally Price"Lavishly illustrated with more than 300 images, this groundbreaking study presents the arts of the Maroons - descendants of rebel slaves from diverse African origins who wrested their freedom from Dutch plantation owners in South America in the eighteenth century and established independent societies in the tropical rain forest." "The Prices build on their more than thirty years of involvement with the Maroons, which has produced over a dozen books on Maroon history and culture. Here, they recount the art history of these unique societies, showcase the work of individual artists, and explore the place of the arts in daily life. They also chronicle the challenges faced by today's Maroons as they struggle to maintain their cultural identity despite harsh attacks from without - civil war, a plummeting economy, the introduction of drugs, and invasion of their territory by multinational mining and lumber companies. And readers will follow the spread of Maroon arts beyond the rain forest, as tourists, dealers, collectors, museum curators, and even art forgers enter the picture."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Publication Date: 1999
The Fanon Reader by Frantz Fanon; Azzedine Haddour (Editor, Introduction by)Frantz Fanon is a key figure in postcolonial and cultural studies. Born in 1925 on the French Caribbean island of Martinique, he passionately identified with Algeria's struggle for independence against the French. He became the leading voice in black liberationist writing. With the publication of this book, it is now possible to access all his important writings in one source.The Fanon Reader features extracts from each of Fanon's major works including Black Skin, White Masks, Studies in a Dying Colonialism, Toward the African Revolution and The Wretched of the Earth. It also contextualises Fanon and his work, and provides a comprehensive summary of critical perspectives on his writings.This fully rounded critical introduction to Fanon's work will appeal to students and teachers in postcolonial studies, cultural studies, political theory, psychoanalysis, literary theory, race studies and anyone interested in the life and writings of one of the world's foremost pioneers of black liberation.
Publication Date: 2006
Applying A Critical Race Framework Towards Anti-Racist Art Teacher EducationThe purpose of this research is to suggest strategies for creating an anti-racist art teacher education. This topic is timely given the disparity in the racial composition of K-12 students enrolled in American public schools in contrast to that of art teachers and art teacher educators. In response to diverse K-12 student populations, art teacher training programs can and should be responsible for producing teachers with anti-racist pedagogies. Although art education has the potential to counter systemic racism and other forms of oppression, art teacher education has not made an explicit commitment to train art teachers who will know how and intend to do so. Through my own research and cross-disciplinary studies, I have found that using critical race theory and critical Whiteness studies in education is useful in understanding how art teacher training programs might be failing to train art teachers to recognize and to counter racism in the classroom. Through a critical race framework, I seek to suggest strategies that can be used to create an anti-racist art teacher education. My purpose for suggesting such strategies is to support the training of art teachers who will counter racism through art education.
Exploring the Effects of Art-Making on the Racial Climate of a Multicultural ClassroomThe purpose of this case study was to explore the effects of art-making on the racial climate of a multicultural classroom of 11th graders. Critical Race Theory and Critical Race Methodology laid the foundation for approaching the topic of racial climate in an academic setting. An emphasis was placed on analyzing the developments of the counternarratives of students engaged in a culturally-responsive curriculum. Over an eight week period, students participated in three art projects focused on identity and racial identity. Each art lesson was devised as a response to the strengths and needs of students as they created artwork. The case study focused on three 11th grade students that identify as African American: Shanice, Tonia and Dashawn. Private regard, cultural imagery and language, and emotional responses were observed daily during both the direct instruction and the independent art-making. Interviews were conducted with the three participants, while artifacts were collected from participants and their peers. Throughout the study, themes of isolation through the Binary Race Paradigm, emotional exhaustion, and racial stereotyping emerged in discussions and art-work. Subsequently, art-making proved to provide inclusion, self-expression for students, and an evolution of private regard for students who participated.
The Methodologies of Art by Laurie Schneider AdamsSince the nineteenth century, when art history became an established academic discipline, works of art have been 'read' in a variety of ways. These different ways of describing and interpreting art are the methodologies of artistic analysis, the divining rods of meaning. Regardless of a work's perceived difficulty, an art object is, in theory, complex. Every work of art is an expression of its culture (time and place) and its maker (the artist) and is dependent on its media (what it's made of). The methodologies discussed here (formal analysis, iconology and iconography, Marxism, feminism, biography and autobiography, psychoanalysis, structuralism, race and gender) reflect the multiplicity of meanings in an artistic image. The second edition includes nineteen new images, new sections on race, gender, orientalism, and colonialism, and a new epilogue that analyzes a single painting to illustrate the different methodological viewpoints.
Publication Date: 2009
Among Others: Blackness at MoMA by Darby English (Editor); Charlotte Barat (Editor); Mabel Wilson (Text by)Among Others: Blackness at MoMA begins with an essay that provides a rigorous and in-depth analysis of MoMA's history regarding racial issues. It also calls for further developments, leaving space for other scholars to draw on particular moments of that history. It takes an integrated approach to the study of racial blackness and its representation: the book stresses inclusion and, as such, the plate section, rather than isolating black artists, features works by non-black artists dealing with race and race- related subjects. As a collection book, the volume provides scholars and curators with information about the Museum's holdings, at times disclosing works that have been little documented or exhibited. The numerous and high-quality illustrations will appeal to anyone interested in art made by black artists, or in modern art in general.
Publication Date: 2019
Art and Race Matters: the Career of Robert Colescott by Raphaela Platow (Editor); Lowery Stokes Sims (Editor); Matthew Weseley (Contribution by)The most comprehensive volume devoted to the life and work of pioneering African American artist Robert Colescott, accompanying the largest traveling exhibition of his work ever mounted. Robert Colescott (1925-2009) was a trailblazing artist, whose august career was as unique as his singular artistic style. Known for figurative satirical paintings that exposed the ugly ironies of race in America from the 1970s through the late 1990s, his work was profoundly influential to the generations of artists that have followed him, such as Kara Walker, Kehinde Wiley, and Henry Taylor, among many others. This volume surveys the entirety of Colescott's body of work, with contributions by more than ten curators and writers, including a substantive essay by the show's cocurator, the renowned Lowery Stokes Sims. It provides a detailed stylistic analysis of his politically inflected oeuvre, focusing on Colescott's own consideration of his work in the context of the grand traditions of European painting and contemporary polemic. In addition, the book features reminiscences and thought pieces by a variety of family, friends, students, curators, dealers, and scholars on his work as well as a selection of writings by the artist himself. Relying on previously unpublished transcripts of lectures, reviews, and archival materials provided by institutions and individuals, the book will provide a fuller story of the artist's life and career.
Publication Date: 2019
New Thoughts on the Black Arts Movement by Lisa Gail Collins (Contribution by, Editor); Adam Gussow (Contribution by); & OthersDuring the 1960s and 1970s, a cadre of poets, playwrights, visual artists, musicians, and other visionaries came together to create a renaissance in African American literature and art. This charged chapter in the history of African American culture--which came to be known as the Black Arts Movement--has remained largely neglected by subsequent generations of critics. New Thoughts on the Black Arts Movement includes essays that reexamine well-known figures such as Amiri Baraka, Larry Neal, Gwendolyn Brooks, Sonia Sanchez, Betye Saar, Jeff Donaldson, and Haki Madhubuti. In addition, the anthology expands the scope of the movement by offering essays that explore the racial and sexual politics of the era, links with other period cultural movements, the arts in prison, the role of Black colleges and universities, gender politics and the rise of feminism, color fetishism, photography, music, and more. An invigorating look at a movement that has long begged for reexamination, this collection lucidly interprets the complex debates that surround this tumultuous era and demonstrates that the celebration of this movement need not be separated from its critique.
Publication Date: 2006
The Black Arts Movement and the Black Panther Party in American Visual Culture by Jo-Ann MorganThis book examines a range of visual expressions of Black Power across American art and popular culture from 1965 through 1972. It begins with case studies of artist groups, including Spiral, OBAC and AfriCOBRA, who began questioning Western aesthetic traditions and created work that honored leaders, affirmed African American culture, and embraced an African lineage. Also showcased is an Oakland Museum exhibition of 1968 called "New Perspectives in Black Art," as a way to consider if Black Panther Party activities in the neighborhood might have impacted local artists' work. The concluding chapters concentrate on the relationship between selected Black Panther Party members and visual culture, focusing on how they were covered by the mainstream press, and how they self-represented to promote Party doctrine and agendas.
Publication Date: 2018
Black Post-Blackness: The Black Arts Movement and Twenty-First Century Aesthetics by Margo Natalie CrawfordA 2008 cover of The New Yorker featured a much-discussed Black Power parody of Michelle and Barack Obama. The image put a spotlight on how easy it is to flatten the Black Power movement as we imagine new types of blackness. Margo Natalie Crawford argues that we have misread the Black Arts Movement's call for blackness. We have failed to see the movement's anticipation of the 'new black' and 'post-black.' 'Black Post-Blackness' compares the black avant-garde of the 1960s and 1970s Black Arts Movement with the most innovative spins of 21st century black aesthetics. Crawford zooms in on the 1970s second wave of the Black Arts Movement and shows the connections between this final wave of the Black Arts movement and the early years of 21st century black aesthetics.
Black Art by Richard J. PowellThe African diaspora--a direct result of the transatlantic slave trade and Western colonialism--generated a wide array of artistic achievements in the past century, from blues to reggae, from the paintings of Henry Ossawa Tanner to the video installations of Keith Piper. Richard Powell's study concentrates on the works of art themselves and on how these works, created during a time of major social upheaval and transformation, use black culture as both subject and context.From musings on the "the souls of black folk" in early twentieth-century painting, sculpture, and photography to questions of racial and cultural identities in performance, media, and computer-assisted arts in the 1990s, the book draws on the works of hundreds of artists including Jean-Michel Basquiat, Romare Bearden, Elizabeth Catlett, Lois Mailou Jones, Wifredo Lam, Jacob Lawrence, Spike Lee, Archibald Motley, Jr., Faith Ringgold, and Gerard Sekoto.This revised edition includes expanded coverage of video art and a new chapter that discusses work by a number of artists who have newly risen to prominence, such as Chris Ofili, Kara Walker, and Renée Cox. Biographies of more than 170 key artists provide a unique art-historical reference.Placing its emphasis on black cultural themes rather than on black racial identity, this groundbreaking book is an important exploration of the visual representations of black culture throughout the twentieth century and into the twenty-first.