Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Palestinian Israeli Conflict Through Cinema (SAME 199, JS199, CWL199): Home

This is a guide to Sayed Kashua's course "Palestinian Israeli Conflict Through Cinema (SAME 199)"

Welcome

Sayed Kashua (Qashua) Welcome you in "Palestinian Israeli Conflict Through Cinema" (SAME199 /JS199 /CWL199) course. This course explores how the conflict is depicted in Israeli and Palestinian films from the British Mandate to the present. We will look at how social and historical processes shape Palestinian and Israeli cinematic narratives. We will also discuss issues of self-representation, the representation of the Other, the relationship to the land, diaspora, and narratives of nation-building. This course offers a cinematic journey from the revolutionary to the postmodern, from the collective to the individual, from hope to despair.

Middle East and North Africa Collection at UIUC

The Middle East and North Africa collection (MENA) at the University of Illinois is a part of the International Area Studies Library. Our collection covers the region through the rise of Islam to the present and is developed to support the University’s centers and departments that offer courses related to the Middle East, North Africa, and the Islamic world.

The collection covers various disciplines of the humanities and the social sciences and includes languages such as Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, Kurdish, Turkish, English, French, German, and Spanish. To locate non-Latin script language materials please follow the guideline set by the Library of Congress and the American Library Association, ALA-LC Romanization Tables.

This website is by no means a complete representation of the vast MENA collection however it serves as an entry way and portal to the digital and electronic resources available in the field.

If you have any questions or comments about using our collection, or wish to submit requests for new materials please contact Laila Hussein, Middle East & North African Studies Librarian.

Pictures

The Alhambra Cinema in Jaffa, 1937

Al-Kasaba theatre in Ramallah

The Mograbi Cinema

Cinema City in Rishon Lezion

Middle East and North African Studies