Communications Library
Newspaper Databases
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires and newspaper columns, as well as TV and radio news transcripts. Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 20 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to over 700 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The PressReader App is available for reading papers on tablet devices. Formerly Library PressDisplay.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (IDNC) contains digital facsimiles of historic Illinois newspapers. You can browse the newspapers by date or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions. You can print, download, or e-mail individual articles. And it's free!
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowIncluded are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
- Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest Latin American Newsstream provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 37 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. Key newspaper titles include El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nación (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Econômico (Brazil), and Portafolio (Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowExplore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada, from historic pressings to contemporary periodicals. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
- Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new windowThis publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Coverage: 1985 - current - Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
(Academic Search Ultimate classic*) A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. *(best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches)
- University of Illinois Newspaper Database This link opens in a new windowA catalog of newspapers at the University of Illinois Library. Lists newspapers in all formats--print, microfilm, and digitized. Use this database to search for newspapers by title and to identify newspapers by place of publication, date of publication, or by the newspaper's subject or intended audience.
- News & Newspaper Databases A-ZA comprehensive list of all the news and newspaper databases offered through the University of Illinois Library.
Newspaper LibGuides
- Finding Online NewspapersThis guide is intended to help University of Illinois students, faculty, and staff locate and access newspaper articles using our online databases.
- Find Newspapers LibGuideThis guide will help you find links to U.S. Historical Newspapers, African American Newspapers, Alternative Press papers, Foreign Historical papers, and other current newspapers.
- History, Philosophy, and Newspaper LibraryFor additional information about historical newspaper research and historical newspaper collections at the University of Illinois, you can visit the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library website.
- Illinois Newspaper ProjectThe Illinois Newspaper Project (INP) identifies, preserves, and digitizes Illinois newspapers and is an initiative of the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library, and the Department of Preservation Services, at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.