Communications Library
Box
Search for Books
- UIUC Library CatalogSearch for books at UIUC's libraries.
- I-Share CatalogSearch for books not owned by UIUC at I-Share libraries.
- Interlibrary LoanYou can place a request and Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery will obtain materials not available in the Illinois Library system. This includes items that are checked out, lost or missing.
- WorldCatSearch libraries all over the world and place requests through interlibrary loan.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowReproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts, online via ProQuest Direct.
- Early European Books Collection II This link opens in a new windowEarly European Books Collection II contains early printed volumes from the
Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (the National Central Library of Florence). The selection of works focuses on four collections of particular historic and bibliographic importance within the library’s holdings from this period: The Nencini Aldine Collection, Marginalia, Incunabula, and Sacred Representations.
Books at UIUC
New Chapters in the History of Rhetoric by
This volume gathers over forty papers by leading scholars in the field of the history of rhetoric. It illustrates the current trends of this new area of research and covers the Bible, Classical Antiquity, Medieval and Modern Europe, Chinese and Corean civilization, and the contemporary world. One major topic is Rhetoric and Religion.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9789047428473Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Politics and Rhetoric by
Interpretation and definition as rhetorical and logical modes are interactive in determining and précising meaning that transcends our repertoire of literal usage. Refining language use gives us the opportunity and freedom to explore and discover what never has been thought about, used, or expressed before.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780230623316Publication Date: 2009-07-20
The War of Words by
Discouraging militarism during the Cold War even as it catalogues belligerent persuasive strategies and tactics that remain in use today, The War of Words reveals how popular news media outlets can, wittingly or not, foment international tensions and armaments during tumultuous political periods. This authoritative edition includes an introduction from the editors explaining the compositional history and cultural contexts of both The War of Words and A Rhetoric of Motives. The War of Words illuminates the study of modern rhetoric even as it deepens our understanding of post-World War II politics.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0520970373Publication Date: 2018-11-13
Disability Rhetoric by
Disability Rhetoric is the first book to view rhetorical theory and history through the lens of disability studies. Traditionally, the body has been seen as, at best, a rhetorical distraction; at worst, those whose bodies do not conform to a narrow range of norms are disqualified from speaking. Yet, Dolmage argues that communication has always been obsessed with the meaning of the body and that bodily difference is always highly rhetorical. Following from this rewriting of rhetorical history, he outlines the development of a new theory, affirming the ideas that all communication is embodied, that the body plays a central role in all expression, and that greater attention to a range of bodies is therefore essential to a better understanding of rhetorical histories, theories, and possibilities.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780815652335Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Argumentation: The Art of Persuasion by
Drawing from the study of human reasoning, Argumentation describes different types of arguments and explains how they influence beliefs and behaviour. Raymond Nickerson identifies many of the fallacies, biases, and other flaws often found in arguments as well as 'stratagems' (schemes, illogical and alogical tactics) that people regularly use to persuade others. Much attention is given to the evaluation of arguments.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781108879958Publication Date: 2020-10-12- The Sage Handbook of Persuasion: Developments in Theory and Practice by
Provides readers with logical, comprehensive summaries of research in a wide range of areas related to persuasion. From a topical standpoint, this handbook takes an interdisciplinary approach, covering issues that will be of interest to interpersonal and mass communication researchers as well as to psychologists and public health practitioners.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781452218410Publication Date: 2013
- Culture & Rhetoric by
While some scholars have said that there is no such thing as culture and have urged to abandon the concept altogether, the contributors to this volume overcome this impasse by understanding cultures and their representations for what they ultimately are - rhetorical constructs.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9786612627880Publication Date: 2009
Art of Rhetoric by
Rhetoric, probably composed while Aristotle was still a member of Plato's Academy, is the first systematic approach to persuasive public speaking based in dialectic, on which he had recently written the first manual. This edition of Aristotle's Rhetoric, which replaces the original Loeb edition by John Henry Freese, supplies a Greek text based on that of Rudolf Kassel, a fresh translation, and ample annotation fully current with modern scholarship.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780674997325Publication Date: 2020-06-09
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Rhetoric by
Rhetoric thoroughly infused the world and literature of Graeco-Roman antiquity. This Companion provides a comprehensive overview of rhetorical theory and practice in that world, from Homer to early Christianity, accessible to students and non-specialists, whether within classics or from other periods and disciplines.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780521860543Publication Date: 2009-07-09
Dialectical Rhetoric by
In Dialectical Rhetoric, Bruce McComiskey argues that the historical conflict between rhetoric and dialectic can be overcome in ways useful to both composition theory and the composition classroom.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780874219821Publication Date: 2015-07-01
