Welcome
Use this guide to locate digitized newspapers, especially historical newspapers. By "historical" we mean, roughly, newspapers more than ten to twenty years old. The guide emphasizes digital newspaper collections, but also highlights several of the major digitized newspapers (e.g. the Chicago Tribune, the London Times).
To find more newspapers, regardless of format, search the University of Illinois Library Newspaper Database. The University of Illinois Library has a large newspaper collection, with newspapers available in different formats: original print, digitized, or microfilmed. This database enables you to identify newspaper titles by place of publication, date of publication, intended audience, or subject of newspaper. You can also restrict by format, so that, for example, you can see all digitized Illinois newspapers. When you search the Newspaper Database, you are searching bibliographic records that describe newspapers in our collection; you are not searching the actual newspapers.
Photograph credit: “Two Students Reading the Miami Herald”. From: University of Florida Archives, Special Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, UF00030618:00001
Contact Us
For more information on finding newspapers in the library, please contact us in the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library:
History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library
246 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
Website: https://www.library.illinois.edu/hpnl/
Email: hpnl@library.illinois.edu
Phone: 217-333-1509
Credits
Guide created by Geoffrey Ross, November 13, 2007. Last updated June 18, 2025.