History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library Online Reference Collection
A list of encyclopedias, bibliographies, indexes, catalogs, and other reference works available online for the study of History, Philosophy, Religious Studies, African American Studies, Jewish Studies, and related disciplines.
Identifies biographical entries in hundreds of reference sources, many available only in print. Especially useful for locating biographical information on obscure individuals, or people not well represented in the major biographical reference works.
Identifies articles from over 11,000 local history and genealogical publications. Search by surname, place name, subject, or citation keyword. Indexes publications from 1790 to the present, with the bulk from 1850 to the present. Although PERSI is part of Find My Past, a subscription database, the Index itself is free to use. Once you have a citation, you can locate the article in the University of Illinois Library, the same as you would with any other citation.
8.5 million biographical entries, on over 6 million people, from encyclopedic reference works, published from 1559 to the end of the 20th century. The complete contents of K.G. Saur's famous World Biographical Archive series, which include: the African Biographical Archive; the American Biographical Archive Series I through III plus Supplement; the Arab-Islamic Biographical Archive Series I through II; the Archives Biographiques Françaises Series I through III plus Supplement; the Archivio Biografico Italiano Series I through IV; the Archivo Biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica Series I through IV; the Australasian Biographical Archive Series I plus Supplement; the Baltic Biographical Archive Series I through II; the Biografisch Archief van de Benelux Series I through II; the Biographical Archive of the Classical World; the Biographical Archive of the Middle Ages; the Biographical Archive of the Soviet Union 1917–1991; the British Biographical Archive Series I through III; the Canadian Biographical Archive; the Cesky biograficky archiv a Slovensky biograficky archiv; the Chinese Biographical Archive; the Deutsches Biographisches Archiv Series I through III; the Greek Biographical Archive; the Hungarian Biographical Archive; the Indian Biographical Archive. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka: the Japanese Biographical Archive; the Jewish Biographical Archive Series I through II plus Supplement; the Korean Biographical Archive; the Polskie Archiwum Biograficzne Series I through II plus Supplements; the Russian Biographical Archive Series I plus Supplement; the Scandinavian Biographical Archive Series I through II; the South-East Asian Biographical Archive; the South-East European Biographical Archive; and the Turkish Biographical Archive. Each "biographical archive" is a research-library level collection of biographical encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Online version of the 2 volume original. Brief, signed entries. Not all entries are biographical--some entries treat concepts in Islamic philosophy, and these tend to be longer. Entries include bibliographies of secondary sources/further reading. Bibliographies not annotated.
Online version of the 27 volume original. Based on two classic reference works: Dictionary of Scientific Biography (New York: Scribner's, 1970), and: New Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Detroit: Scribner's, 2008. Signed entries, include bibliographies. Some bibliographies are annotated, and some bibliographies list both secondary and primary sources.
Biographies of men and women, deceased at least five years, who, in the judgment of the editorial board, made important contributions to British history and culture. Includes access to articles from the original, Victorian classic, The Dictionary of National Biography.
Covers the region of the Mediterranean, the Arab Peninsula, Central Asia, and India. Biographical entries from 376 reference works published between 1760 and 2002. Part of the World Biographical Information System.
Biographical entries from 626 reference works (in 933 volumes), originally published between 1702 and 1998, containing often-difficult-to-locate biographical information. Part of the World Biographical Information System.
Standard reference work for American biography. This is the online version of the 24 volume original plus updates. Biographies of men and women, deceased at least five years, who made especially important contributions to American history and culture. Only includes deceased Americans deemed historically significant by editorial board.
Online version of the 8 volume original. Part of the Oxford African American Studies Center. The standard reference work for biographical information on over 4,000 African Americans who have made especially important contributions to African American history and culture.
"Entries in this Dictionary, though normally brief, include a reference to the sources of the author's information; where it seemed doubtful to him that an individual was Jewish, a statement to this effect is included" (from the Mississippi Valley Historical Review review). See also the Hispanic American Historical Review review (p.585).