History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library Online Reference Collection

Use WorldCat to find books and other library resources not available at University of Illinois or through I-Share. WorldCat is a union catalog of more than 9,000 libraries from around the world. North American libraries most heavily represented.

Identifies doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian institutions, and includes the full text of many. Should include full text of all University of Illinois dissertations. Based on Dissertations Abstracts.

CURRENLY UNAVAILABLE: British Library has taken this resource offline as of December, 2023. Identify doctoral dissertations from the United Kingdom. The database contains records for over 400,000 dissertations, and almost half of these are available online through EthOS.

Indexes archival finding aids from archival repositories around the world

Searches finding aids (of varying granularity) from over 300 British archival repositories.

The most comprehensive online inventory of the U.S. National Archives. Unlike the Microfilm Catalog (see below), the scope of this catalog includes all government records under the stewardship of the NARA. Includes links to some digitized records as well, but most of the documents identified in this catalog would have to be viewed on site at the NARA in Washington, D.C., one of the twelve regional archives, or one of the other archival repositories identified in the catalog.

Searchable and browsable catalog of federal government records that have been reproduced on microfilm. Record series reproduced were selected for their perceived research value. Many of these microfilmed record series are available here at University of Illinois; many others have been subsequently digitized. All can be requested through interlibrary loan.

Searches finding aids from almost 7,000 archival repositories across Europe.

A multi-disciplinary source for journal articles. One strategy: perform a broad keyword search, then use limiters such as "peer-reviewed" to focus in on more relevant results. Good for book reviews. Comparable to Google Scholar but with additional features.

Identifies articles from over 5,500 humanites and social sciences periodicals. Searches are by title keyword only--no subject headings. Complements Periodicals Archive Online. Indexes publications from 1665-present.

The backfile for Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, one of the oldest and most common article indexes. Identifies articles from general interest periodicals, including popular magazines such as "Life", "Look", "Colliers", "Ladies’ Home Journal", "Catholic World", "Good Housekeeping", "Saturday Evening Post", and "Country Life". Emphasis on American periodicals. Indexes publications from 1890-1982.

Formerly Nineteenth Century Masterfile. The database originally combined "Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922"; "Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907"; and several indexes for general and religious periodical literature of the late 19th century. Date coverage varied by file. The database now cross searches dozens of additional sources, including digital collections, with coverage now 1100-1960.

Ceased. Identified journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia and Eastern Europe. Emphasis was on Slavic studies and social sciences. Indexed publications from 1980-2023.

Identifies articles from scholarly journals. In addition to searching for articles on a known topic, this database allows you to search for citations. So, if you already have an article, you can discover what other resources cite that article, as well as the resources cited by the article itself. This can be helpful when doing academic research, although the search interface itself can be somewhat confusing. Ask a librarian if you need help! Indexes publications from 1975-present.

Indexes articles from over 1,000 periodicals and journals in the humanities and social sciences. Digitized version of H.W. Wilson's Humanities Index and Social Sciences Index. Indexes publications from 1907-1984.

Identifies articles in humanities and social sciences periodicals from 40 different countries. Indexes publications from 1985-present.

1984-2015. Identifies humanities and social sciences journal articles (from over 4,300 journals), books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports from Western Europe and North America, often providing subject headings and abstracts in both French and English. International coverage of topics in philosophy is strong. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS). For 1972-1983 see print volumes.

Identifies articles from alternative newspapers, magazines and journals. Indexes publications from 1969-present. Alternative Press Index file actually only covers 1991-present. To add 1969-1990, you must click "Choose Databases" above search box, and select Alternative Press Index Archive as well.

Identifies articles written from a leftist political, economic, social or cultural perspective. Includes some retrospective coverage of historically significant left wing publications like the People (New York, N.Y. : 1891). Indexes publications from 1982-present.

Book reviews published in American and British periodicals, journals, trade magazines, and other books. Most reviews come from general periodicals, rather than specialized sources of the kind you would find in an article database like Historical Abstracts.

An indispensable reference tool, the Broadcast Index lists and abstracts all segments for American network evening news broadcasts going back to August, 1968. If our library subscribed, you would also be able to view the broadcasts. See also Vanderbilt's Television News Index and Abstracts, 1972-1995.

Lists books that have been translated. Useful for locating primary sources in translation. Produced by UNESCO. 1932-1978 available in print. 1979-present available online.

Historiographical essays on the year's scholarship. Reviews publications from 1911-present.

Tables of contents from important German-language history journals, book series, and Festschriften. Coverage has expanded to include other European-language publications as well.

Identifies articles from over 11,000 local history and genealogical publications. Search by surname, place name, subject, or citation keyword. Indexes publications from 1790 to the present, with the bulk from 1850 to the present. Although PERSI is part of Find My Past, a subscription database, the Index itself is free to use. Once you have a citation, you can locate the article in the University of Illinois Library, the same as you would with any other citation.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in military history. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

NOTE: As of July 29, 2025, this resource is offline according to a note from the International Institute for Social History. Identifies articles on women's and gender history in English, French, German, Dutch, Spanish, and Scandinavian languages from 180 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. Indexes publications from 1975-present.

"Describes ancient-world information resources on the world-wide web"--[publisher's description].

Index to freely available texts online for the study of classics, early Judaism, and early Christianity.

Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Indexes publications from 1928-present.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in Classical Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in Medieval Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Identifies articles (over 4,000 journals covered) and books on the Medieval period in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. Indexes publications from 1958-present. Comprises three separate files: International Medieval Bibliography, the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale = Bibliography of Medieval Civilisation (bibliographies published in the Cahiers de Civilisation Médiévale from 1958-2003), and Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance = International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.

Identifies modern editions of Medieval primary sources.

Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, encyclopedia articles, exhibition catalogs, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Middle Ages and Renaissance studies. Part of Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Indexes publications from 1784-present.

No longer updated, but remains a useful bibliography of online resources for Medieval studies, with emphasis on digitized primary sources.

Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles, books, and book chapters about women, sexuality, and gender during the Medieval period. Indexes publications from 1990-2007.

Online content aggregator.

Antiquity, Middle Ages, and the Renaissance. A catalog of texts from three major libraries: Institut de Recherche et d’Histoire des Textes (Paris), Hill Monastic Manuscript Library (Collegeville, Minnesota), and Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Département des Manuscrits, as well as records from several smaller public and private collections. Catalog contains over one million records, each record providing, in addition to standard bibliographic information, the records include each work's incipt and, in some cases, explicit.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays, arranged by broad and specific topics, each compiled and annotated by experts. Lists both primary sources and secondary sources. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.

Catalog of fifteenth-century European printed books.

Identifies books, book chapters, and articles on all aspects of British and Irish history, including the British Empire and Commonwealth. Indexes publications from 1700-present.

Detailed records for almost 500,000 works published (mostly in Britain and North America) between 1473 and 1800. Catalog supports advanced searching options, such as name of bookseller, name of printer, and subject . Based on A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad 1473-1640 by Pollard and Redgrave, and A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America and of English Books Printed in Other Countries 1641-1700 by Donald Wing.

Identifies books, journal articles, and dissertations on all aspects of 19th century British studies. Indexes publications from 1945-present.

A federated collection of records from standard indexes and catalogues for researching nineteenth-century Anglo-American history and culture: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906; The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900; Stead's Index to Periodical Literature of the World, 1891-1903; Cotgreave's Contents-Subject Index to General and Periodical Literature, Periodicals Index Online, 1770-1919; Cumulative Index to Niles' Register, 1811–1849; An Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1791-1908; the Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue; and Palmer's index to the [London] Times Newspaper, 1790-1905

Catalog of every book printed in the Netherlands, or in Dutch outside the Netherlands, prior to 1800.

Based on Gesamtkatalog der Wiegendrucke. A catalog of 15th century European imprints.

Catalog of books printed in German speaking countries during the sixteenth-century.

Catalog of books printed in German speaking countries during the seventeenth-century.

Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and online resources from the United States and Canada. Indexes publications from 1989-present, with coverage back to 1939 for some materials.

Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in Chinese Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Quarterly bibliography, began as a section in the journal Africa. Became a separate publication in 1971. For pre-2001 issues, consult the print edition. Indexes publications from 1929-present.

Annual bibliography of African Studies. Identifies books, essays, and articles in the social sciences, environmental sciences, humanities, and fine arts. Began as a catalog of publications received by the Edinburgh University Library and the International African Institute. Not useful for identifying government documents. Indexes publications from 1984-present.

Multi-disciplinary. The catalog of the African Studies Centre in Leiden, which lists over 80,000 books, over 85,000 journal articles, as well as African newspapers, government reports, grey literature, and motion pictures. Includes annotated citations to journal articles and listing of books chapters from works acquired since 1988.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in African Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

A catalog of open-access digitized primary sources from hundreds of libraries and historical societies. Use this resource to identify digitzed books, periodicals (including journals, magazines, gazetteers, and newsletters), government documents, maps, realia, photographs, and more. Includes records for documents from 1000 CE to the present.

Six databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Search Women Travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, and Water in Africa. Files can be searched separately, or together through AfricaBib.

Identifies books, book chapters, government documents, periodical and journal articles, dissertations and theses, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1986-present.

Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.

A finding aid to archival collections on Chicago history, with some digitized photographs included.

Article index. Coverage unclear.

Identifies articles on all aspects of Black studies, in journals from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean. Indexes publications from 1902-present.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in African American Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Identifies journal articles, newspaper articles, books, and book chapters on all aspects of the Chicano and Latino/Latina experience in the United States. Indexes publications from 1960s-present.

Two key article databases for Hispanic American, Latin American, and Caribbean Basin studies. Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States. While HAPI is an article index, PRISMA is a full text collection of scholarly journals. Together they cover a combination of peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals and periodicals. HAPI Indexes publications from 1966-present.

Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers on Latin American Studies. Indexes publications from 1935-present.

Covers all three branches of the United States federal government, with heaviest emphasis on records of the Executive branch.

Selected, annotated bibliographies, arranged by broad topic (e.g. epistemology, free will) and major philosopher. Each section includes an introductory essay written by a scholar. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Identifies journal articles, books, and book chapters on all aspects of philosophy. Indexes publications from 1902-present.

Identifies articles in philosophy journals, books, websites, and other kinds of publications found on the Internet. It is also a digital repository, to which scholars can upload articles and preprints. Users can create accounts and submit content to the database. Includes calls for papers and presentations, as well as job announcements.

ATLA Religion Database Identifies journal articles and books on all aspects of Religious Studies. Indexing for some journal titles extends back into the 19th century. Indexes publications from 1949-present. Catholic Periodical and Literature Index identifies journal articles, book chapters, church publications, papal documents, and electronic resources about the Roman Catholic Church and its history. Indexes publications from 1981-present. For retrospective coverage: Print edition extends coverage back to 1968, with Catholic Periodical Index covering 1930-1966.

Catalog of the patristic records of the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron.

Identifies books and journal articles in all European languages on the subjects of theology, church history, and religious studies. Indexes publications from 1960-present.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in Biblical Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Identifies journal articles, books, and electronic resources on all aspects of Old Testament studies. Indexes publications from 1978-present.

Identifies journal articles, books, and electronic resources on all aspects of New Testament studies. Indexes publications from 1985-present.

Indexes all printed, English language hymns to 1820. Supports searching by Biblical text as subject, musical source, hymnal, and composer.

Formerly called "Index of Christian Art." 10th century through the 16th century. Identifies Christian artwork created in western Europe and Byzantium, with some coverage of Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.

Identifies English-language articles from journals and magazines on Jewish religion and Jewish life. Indexes publications from 1988-present. Print edition extends coverage back to 1963.

Selected, annotated bibliographies, arranged by broad topic. Each section includes an introductory essay written by a scholar. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Identifies Hebrew, Yiddish, and European language articles on all aspects of Jewish studies. Indexes publications from 1966-present.

Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Indexes publications from 1906-present.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in Islamic Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Volumes 1 and 2 (CMR1 and CMR2) cumulate all eight volumes published so far in Brill’s serial bibliography, Christian Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History. CMR1 covers the time period 600-1500. CMR2 claims to cover 1500-1914, but like the four previously-published volumes on which it is based, its coverage seems to extend only as far as 1700. Organized around historical authors who wrote about Christian-Muslim relations. For each author you will find bibliographies of works by and about that author. CMR1 is arranged by time period, and then by author. CMR2 is organized more broadly by region, then time period, and then by author. In both CMR1 and CMR2, each entry begins with a short, biographical essay on the author, and then lists primary sources about the author, followed by secondary sources about the author. The entries then list those works in which the author treated the subject of Christian-Muslim relations, with a separate bibliography for each work. These bibliographies are briefly annotated, and list both unpublished and published primary sources, as well as variant editions, translations, and links to online versions (where available). For each primary work, the bibliographer gives a note on that work’s significance for the study of Christian-Muslim relations, as well as an additional bibliography of secondary sources on the primary work. All entries are signed.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in Buddhist Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts on Hinduism. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Identifies books and journal articles published in Italy on all aspects of the history of science. Indexes publications from 1982-2011.

Online database that cummulates the highly regarded, critical bibliographies published annually in Isis.

Identifies books, book chapters, and journal articles on all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Based four standard bibliographic tools: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science (1913-currrent with expanded retrospective coverage), the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (1964-current with expanded retrospective coverage), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza (1982-2007 with expanded retrospective coverage), and the catalog of the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine (1532-current).

Indexes online resources (mostly websites) that are intended to support the study of the history of science. Produced by the Commission on Bibliography and Documentation (CBD) of the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science/Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPS/DHST)..

Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, pamphlets, reports, and portraits from antiquity through the 1950s. Database of bibliographic citations from all five printed series of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, with direct access to the NLM online catalog, LocatorPlus. It also contains eTK for citations to medieval Latin texts and eVK2 for medieval English texts (listed here separately).

Catalog of manuscripts and early printed books. Based on Catalogue of Incipits of Mediaeval Scientific Writings in Latin by Lyn Thorndike and Pearl Kibre, and: Scientific and Medical Writings in Old and Middle English by Linda Ehrsam Voigts and Patricia Deery Kurtz.

Identifies journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all aspects of the modern visual arts, including history of modern visual arts from the 19th century forward. Indexes publications from 1960-present.

Identifies articles, book reviews, and art reproductions from journals and periodicals. Indexes publications from 1929-1984. For recent coverage, use Art Source

Identifies journal articles, books, and images from all art-related fields. Indexes publications from 1984-present. For retrospective coverage, see Art Index Retrospective.

Identifies journal articles on architecture, design, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Indexes publications from 1785-present.

Identifies journal articles, books, and dissertations on all aspects of European and American visual arts. Indexes publications from 1975-2007. For recent coverage, see International Bibliography of Art.

Identifies journal articles and books on all aspects of design, including history of design from the mid-19th century forward. Indexes publications from 1973-present.

Formerly called "Index of Christian Art." 10th century through the 16th century. Identifies Christian artwork created in western Europe and Byzantium, with some coverage of Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.

Identifies journal articles, books, and dissertations on all aspects of European and American visual arts. Indexes publications from 2007-present. For retrospective coverage, see Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA).

Identifies rare book and art auction catalogs. Records include the date and place of sale, auction house, seller, institutional holdings, and titles of works. Indexes catalogs from 17th century-present.

Indexes articles from 42 American art journals from the nineteenth-century.

Catalog of the large foreign official gazette collection at Center for Research Libraries. All gazettes available through Inter-Library Loan.

Subscription canceled. Identifies articles from political science periodicals published around the world. Indexes publications from 1989-present. For retrospective coverage, 1951-1988, consult the print volumes.

The official catalog, issued by the Government Printing Office, of the publications of the United States government that were available for purchase or distribution to depository libraries.

Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues. Indexes publications from 1915-present.

Identifies articles from political science periodicals published around the world. Indexes publications from 1975-present.

Identifies articles in business and economics journals newspapers, magazines, trade publications, reports, and government documents.

An author/title index, not the actual works themselves. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

The card catalog of the Working Class Movement Library, in Manchester Britain. A current version of the catalog is also searchable online. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online. Indexes publications from 1790-1984.

Newspapers and periodicals with an emphasis on women and gender issues. Indexes publications from 1970-present.

Identifies articles on all aspects of LGBTQ studies from thousands of periodicals, books and reference works Also includes full text for more than 120 historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as full text for more than 150 books. Indexes publications from 1950-present.

Identifies articles from women's studies journals as well as books, reports, websites, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1972-present.

Identifies articles from scholarly journals. In addition to searching for articles on a known topic, this database allows you to search for citations. So, if you already have an article, you can discover what other resources cite that article, as well as the resources cited by the article itself. This can be helpful when doing academic research, although the search interface itself can be somewhat confusing. Ask a librarian if you need help! Indexes publications from 1900-present.

Identifies journal articles, books, and conference papers, on all aspects of sociology, including sociological history, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family studies, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social structure, and social theory. Indexes publications from 1908-present.

Identifies journal articles on all aspects of sociology, comparable in scope to SocINDEX, but includes more books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1952-present.

Identifies journal articles on urban studies, urban affairs, community development, and urban history. Indexes publications from 1973-present.

Identifies articles in education-related periodicals, as well as books, dissertations, reference sources, course plans, and other resources. Indexes publications from 1966-present.

Identifies articles from education-related periodicals. Full text goes back to 1996. Prior to that, the file comprises citations only. Indexes publications from 1983-present.

Identifies articles in education-related periodicals and yearbooks. Indexes publications from 1929-1983.

Searchable as part of the GEOBASE file in Ei Village. Identifies journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and trade journal articles on historical geography, human geography, and other social aspects of geography. Indexes publications from 1989-present.

Identifies journal articles, books, magazine articles, conference proceedings, country reports, trade publications, industry profiles, book reviews, pamphlets, and reports on all aspects of the hospitality and tourism industry. Indexes publications from 1965-present.

Identifies articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of sport, fitness and related disciplines. Indexes publications 1800-present.

Combines the two standard indexes for research in communication and mass media studies: Communication Abstracts, and Communication and Mass Media Complete. Identifies books, journal articles, magazine articles, articles from trade magazines, and book reviews. Indexes publications 1900-present, with bulk of citations 1950-present.

Journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, and conference proceedings, on all aspects of music. Indexes publications from 1874-present, with the majority from 1996-present.

Journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and articles from trade publications on all aspects of music. Formerly Music Index Online. Indexes publications 1970-present.

Journal articles, periodical articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, book chapters, dissertations, sound recordings on all aspects of music. Indexes publications 1800-present.

Journal and periodical articles, with emphasis on Western classical music. Indexes publications from 1800-1950.

Four separate files searchable through a single interface: International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current), and: International Index to Television Periodicals (1979-current), International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections, and Bibliography of FIAF Members' Publications.

Identifies journal articles, book reviews, and articles from trade publications, with some coverage of books, book chapters, and reference works. Indexes publications from 1914-present.