LibGuides: Pure Land Buddhism : Databases

English Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). The ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Though coverage is from 1949 to the present, not all publications began in 1949.
Alternate Access Link
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Bibliography of Asian Studies in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat.. Use Bibliography of Asian Studies in the NEW EBSCO user interface.

Alternate Access Link
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a My OBO function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Japanese Databases

Open Access

CiNii This link opens in a new window
Open-access database with information about articles, books, journals, and dissertations published in Japan. Has a lot of information from Japanese academic libraries and connects to full text when available.
J-Stage This link opens in a new window
Repository of open-access papers published in Japanese academic association publications.
Institutional Repositories Database This link opens in a new window
A database that covers the institutional repositories at Japanese institutions (primarily universities). Very useful for accessing currrent Pure Land scholarship and journals from Japanese scholars.
National Diet Library Online This link opens in a new window
The National Diet Library is the national library of Japan and as such collects a copy of every publication in Japan. A useful starting tool for doing research in Japan or in Japanese.

INBUDS
Indian and Buddhist Studies Treatise Database. Articles, books, and journals on Indian and Buddhist studies manly published in Japan.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign NetID required

Zassaku Plus This link opens in a new window
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.