Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to Dutch bibliographies, prepared by Bertus H. Wabeke, chief by
Call Number: A.015.492UN3G
Publication Date: 1951
This guide was produced by the Netherlands Studies Unit of the Library of Congress Reference Department in 1951. There are comprehensive bibliographies on a variety of subjects, as well as for formats like dissertations, government publications, pamphlets, periodicals, and personal bibliographies. This guide has an especially substantial bibliography of materials relating to the Netherlands and their overseas territories, with sub-lists for specific territories. The entries are numbered, organized by subject, then alphabetized by author's last name.
Netherlandish Books: books published in the Low Countries and Dutch books published abroad before 1601 by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Netherlandish Books offers an overview of what was printed during the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries in the Low Countries. The introductory matter includes a summary of the importance of Dutch publishing in this period to global print culture, and it includes publishing data and maps. This bibliography lists descriptions of over 32,000 editions that are numbered and arranged alphabetically by author's last name. This source includes an index of printers.
A list of representative publications published in the Netherlands mostly of the 20th century by
Call Number: 015.492 N58c1940
Publication Date: 1940
This is an expansion of Nijhoff’s previous publication of Dutch literature to instead address a wider variety of subjects across books published in the Netherlands in Dutch and other languages. It mainly covers books published 1900-1939. It includes reference works such as encyclopedias and bibliographies. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author’s last name within their particular subjects. Subject areas include: reference, religion and philosophy, law and sociology, history and geography, science, useful arts, medicine, fine arts, languages and literatures, Dutch fiction, poetry, and theatre, education, sports/games.
Incunabula in Dutch Libraries: A census of fifteenth-century printed books in Dutch public collections by
Call Number: 011.42 In2
Publication Date: 1983
This title lists nearly 5,000 titles in nearly 8,000 copies preserved in 85 libraries, archives, and museums in the Netherlands. Volume 1 contains the full list of entries are numbered and arranged alphabetically by author's name and include title, imprint, format, and location. Volume 2 includes a general index, as well as indices for location and for printers/publishers. It also supplies a list of libraries referenced in the bibliography and several concordances.
A bibliography of Netherlandic dictionaries : Dutch-Flemish by
Call Number: 016.4393 C515B
Publication Date: 1980
This bibliography covers both general and specialized dictionaries for the Netherlandic (called Dutch, Flemish, Hollandic, etc.) language from 1477-1977. This bibliography includes only printed sources and not any manuscript dictionaries printed before 1477. The primary categories are for monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries; each of these has many subject sub-categories. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author's last name within their categories. Each entry is numbered and can be referenced in either the subject, language, or author index.
Guide to Dutch studies; bibliography of textual materials for the study of Dutch language, literature, civilization by
Call Number: 016.9492 L13G
Publication Date: 1961
This is an annotated bibliography that includes bibliographies for a variety of Dutch language, literature, art, and history topics, but more extensive annotation and focus is given to the Dutch language section. In addition to citations for published works, this bibliography also includes significant annotations for libraries, museums, universities (and courses), and organizations that have collections about or contribute to Dutch language, literature, and education. These also include lists of Dutch art collections and film companies/titles in the U.S. Entries are alphabetical within their sections by author's last name. They are not numbered. There are no indices, but there is a list of Netherlands newspapers available in the U.S.
Dutch emblem books; a bibliography by
Call Number: Z2401 .L3 1962
Publication Date: 1962
This bibliography compiles emblem (allegorical illustrations and text) books that are either: written by Dutch or Flemish authors, published in the Netherlands (or Belgium), or foreign works translated into Dutch. The introduction argues the importance of emblem books to the history of Dutch literature and offer suggestions for other related bibliographies. The majority of Dutch emblem books were printed in the 1600s, but this bibliography includes titles from the 16th-18th centuries. Entries are numbered and are arranged alphabetically by author's last name. Within each numbered entry, the bibliographers have listed citations for subsequent printed editions, which are then organized by date. The location (in the book) and artist of an entry's illustrations are also included with each citation. The bibliography includes indices for artists (illustrators) and publishers.
A Classified Bibliography of the History of Dutch Medicine 1900-1974 by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012-12-06
The bibliographies in this title survey the history of Dutch medicine through 1974, as well as medical literature written by Dutch authors. Entries are arranged by chapter, with chapter subjects including biographies, comprehensive historical periods, medical disciplines, medical education, and pharmacy. Entries are arranged by subjects within chapters and are numbered. This source also includes indexes for historical person, first author, and place-names.
Dutch Modernism by
Call Number: 016.7209492 L267D
Publication Date: 1996-10-11
This bibliography includes English-language publications about Dutch contribution to 20th-century architecture. This guide summarizes, describes, and evaluates 1,250 references to Dutch contributions to the development of Modernism. This source includes indices for authors and architects.
Dutch Americans : a guide to information sources by
Call Number: 016.973 D67D
Publication Date: 1979
This annotated bibliography provides citations and summaries for informational resources about Dutch immigrants, communities, and culture in the United States. The entries are limited to printed monographs, but there are appendices for archives and libraries, newspapers and periodicals, and audiovisual materials, though these are not annotated. The entries are separated by chapters: reference works, general works, the colonial period, and the new immigration (1846-present). Each chapter has sub-categories for specific subjects. Entries are numbered and are alphabetical within their section by author's last name. The bibliography also includes author, title, and subject indices.
Dutch-American Bibliography 1693-1794 by
Call Number: 015.73 ED2D
Publication Date: 1974
This title describes the first major period of Dutch immigration to the United States from the late 17th – 18th centuries, when Dutch-American materials were largely printed in New York, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey. The introduction details the history of Dutch-Americans during this period and the printing of Dutch books, pamphlets, and almanacs. Entries are chronological by year of publication and then alphabetical by author’s last name. They include full transcriptions of the item’s title page, along with annotations describing the item and its context. This bibliography also includes a reference list for further reading and an index of authors, titles, names, and places.