Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using these Resources
While the most recently updated version of the national bibliography is accessible through the contemporary database, previously published bibliographies are useful for tracking specific items through history, identifying inconsistencies in the bibliographic record, and for understanding the history of bibliography as explained by many of these bibliographers in their introductions.
These resources are some of the major bibliographies of periodical items that were published in the Netherlands before they were added to the contemporary database. As the Netherlands has a prolific history of publishing, this is by no means an exhaustive list, but is a starting point for researchers looking for major publications with substantial introductions and indices. Most bibliographies of periodicals continue with the ones produced by Muller and Tiele, with subsequent versions available through Hathi Trust.
Dutch National Bibliographies of Periodicals
Bibliotheek van Nederlandsche pamfletten: eerste afdeeling by
Call Number: RBML 015.492 M91b
Publication Date: 1858-1861
This bibliography, published in multiple parts, lists pamphlets printed in the Netherlands 1482-1702. The first section was compiled by Frederik Muller, with subsequent editions compiled by P.A. Tiele. Many of the editions contain their own introductions and other supplementary material. This compilation was added to by multiple bibliographers in subsequent versions. In 1882, Louis Petit added the collections of Joannes Thysius to the existing bibliography.
The various editions can be found:
Catalogus der pamfletten van de Bibliotheek der Rijksuniversiteit te Groningen, 1542-1853 (niet voorkomende in de catalogi van Broekema, Knuttel, Petit, Van Someren, Tiele en Van der Wulp) by
Call Number: 017.1492 G89CAT
Publication Date: 1944
This supplement includes new pamphlets, 1542-1853, that were not previously included from the University of Groningen. Multiple copies of previous bibliographies were compared and revised for accuracy. Entries are numbered and separated by the year. A total of 2,779 pamphlets are listed in this bibliography, with title, author, and publisher indices at the back.