Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using These Resources
While the most recently updated version of the national bibliography is accessible through the contemporary database, previously published bibliographies are useful for tracking specific items through history, identifying inconsistencies in the bibliographic record, and for understanding the history of bibliography as explained by many of these bibliographers in their introductions.
These resources are some of the major bibliographies of monographic items that were published in the Netherlands before they were added to the contemporary database. As the Netherlands has a prolific history of publishing, this is by no means an exhaustive list, but is a starting point for researchers looking for major publications with substantial introductions and indices. This list also attempts to cover the entirety of Dutch printing without any gaps in year coverage. Many of these records are available via Hathi Trust and reference their related bibliographers' works.
Dutch National Bibliographies of Monographs
Short-title catalogue of books printed in the Netherlands and Belgium and of Dutch and Flemish books printed in other countries from 1470 to 1600 now in the British Museum by
Call Number: 015.492 B777S
Publication Date: 1965
This catalog contains citations for books in the collections of British Museum that were either printed in the Netherlands or were printed in the Dutch language (in any location) from 1470-1600. This bibliography therefore covers the earliest incunabula period of Dutch printing (1470-1500), as well as the post-incunabula period (1500-1540), and so on. Entries are alphabetical by author, or title if there is no author listed. In addition to an introduction and indices for printers/publishers, there is a supplement for books destroyed during the war years 1939-1945.
The British Museum also has a webpage with further reading for Dutch/Flemish catalogs: http://www.bl.uk/reshelp/findhelplang/dutch/dutchflemcatalogues/dutchflemcat.html
Nederlandsche bibliographie van 1500 tot 1540 by
Call Number: 015.492 N58N
Publication Date: 1923-1961 (periodical)
There is no open Hathi Trust record for this title.
This bibliographer includes post-incunable books printed in the Netherlands that are now located at libraries and museums both in and outside of the Netherlands. This bibliography includes an introduction, an overview Dutch printers, and indices for people and place names.
Naamregister van de bekendste en meest in gebruik zynde Nederduitsche boeken, welke sedert het jaar 1600 tot het jaar 1761 zijn uitgekomen, met bijvoeginge wanneer, waar en bij wien dezelven gedrukt zyn, als mede van het formaat het getal der deelen, en d by
Call Number: 015.492 B771
Publication Date: 1788
Hathi Trust: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/012313597
This bibliography, compiled from publisher book lists, covers books printed in the Netherlands 1600-1761, with supplements from the author through 1787. Entries are organized alphabetically by author's last name. Each entry includes the work's title, date and location of publication, and size. This text is 502 pages long.
Alphabetische naamlijst van boeken, welke sedert het jaar 1790 tot en met het jaar 1832, in Noord-Nederland zijn uitgekommen, met aanduiding van het getal deelen, de platen en kaarten, het formaat, het jaar der uitgave, den naam des eigenaars, en de prijz by
Call Number: 015.492 B772
Publication Date: 1835
Hathi Trust: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/004947644
This title is a continuation of the Naamregister, taken up by new bibliographers. This title covers 1790 (really 1788) through 1832, also organizing entries alphabetically by author's last name. In addition, each entry includes: the work's title, language and translation if applicable, the number of parts or volumes, the size of the item, the year of publication, the last known owner or location, and the item's price.