The University of Illinois Archives holds many collections relevant to Native American studies. The following are just a few possible starting points. Of course, depending on the perspective you’re looking for, you might find relevant material elsewhere. For example, if you're interested in Native American participation in WWII, you might look in the papers of professors of 20th-century U.S. history. Searching the subject headings in the Archives catalog should help you narrow down results.

Learn more about using the Archives on their website:

Several professors at the University of Illinois have taught classes which touched on the topic of Native Americans and their interactions with Europeans. 

• 15/13/45 Winton U. Solberg papers, 1952-92
• 15/13/21 Fred A. Shannon Papers, 1910-1963
• 15/13/25 Marcus L. Hansen Papers, 1928-42
• 15/13/31 Frank Freidel Papers, 1939-50
• 15/13/36 Louise B. Dunbar Papers, 1894-1975
• 15/13/47 James Leonard Bates Papers, 1937-98

Several anthropologists with ties to the University have worked on related topics and deposited their papers with the Archives. 

• 15/2/32 Doris Duke Indian Oral History Program Archives, 1908-1995
  • Some materials are restricted and require approval by the Tribes and Archives staff.
• 15/2/20 Oscar and Ruth Lewis Papers, 1944-89
  • The Lewis papers include information about the Blackfoot First Nations of Alberta.
  • Access to the materials requires agreement to a conditions of use form; please contact the Archives to request a copy of the form. 
• 15/2/26 Demitri B. Shimkin Papers, 1935-1993
  • Boxes 10, 11, 12 contain Shimkin’s research on Native Americans, esp. the Shoshone.
• 15/2/24 A. R. Kelly Papers, 1929-33
  • Including correspondence, questionnaires, newspaper clippings, and reports concerning the advancement of the Illinois Archaeological Survey of Southern Counties, and excavation of Indian sites in southeastern Illinois.
• 15/2/21 Julian H. Steward Papers, 1842-1976
  • Box 13 contains bibliographies on Native American Cultures, box 20 contains photos and information on petroglyphs, many more references to Steward’s work on Native American tribes throughout. 
• 15/2/29 Edward M. Bruner Papers, 1859-2017
  • Recommend looking in group 6, “Native American Materials.”
• 12/5/75 School of Music Ethnomusicology Audio Archives, 1896-2001
  • A substantial portion of the recordings are from Iran, India, and from indigenous peoples of North and South America, including (but not exclusive to) the Yahi, Shipibo, Shawnee, Ayore, Siriono, Penobscot, Shuar, Navajo, Hopi, Kiowa, and the Caddo peoples.

The American Library Association’s records are deposited at the University of Illinois. There are a few records in this collection which relate to the ALA’s interaction with the topic of Native Americans in the last 50 years or so. 

• 97/1/44 James P. Danky Papers, 1965-2012
  • See material starting in box 15 relating to Native American archives and publications. 
• 10/2/6 Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services Executive Secretary Subject File, 1964-
  • Boxes 1, 4, and 12 contain material relating to library and information outreach and Native Americans.

A number of student clubs and organizations on campus supported Native American students and provided community during their time here. The first Native American student on campus was Wassaja, or Carlos Montezuma, and you can find some information on him in many history books about the campus. 

The controversy over the University's "Chief Illiniwek" mascot is well-documented in the Archives.

Most of this material is held in the Student Life and Culture Archives, and the archivists there can help with more pinpointed searching of this material.

Some relevant collections include:

• 39/1/17 Chief Illiniwek Subject Files, 1966-2004
• 41/8/801 Daily Illini Newspaper (digitized and full-text searchable through 1975)
• 41/8/805 Illio Yearbooks (also digitized and full-text searchable)
  • Many student clubs are listed in these, and even in the early days of the University, there were many culturally-focused student groups. 
• 39/2/20 Photographic Subject File
  • A huge file of images organized by subject heading, reflecting all facets of campus life.
• 12/3/1 Art and Design Department Subject File, 1930-2001
  • Box 13 contains some information on Native Americans. 
• 12/6/812 Small Homes Council Research Reports, 1948-2005
  • This series also contains reports (2002-2005) prepared for the U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Office of Native American Programs assessing mold and moisture conditions in the housing found on Native American reservations.
• 15/34/50 Reginald and Gladys Laubin Papers, 1862-1999
  • Contains documentation relating to their work as producers and performers of Native American dance concerts; authors, lecturers, and filmmakers on topics related to Native American arts and culture; and collectors and craftsmen of Native American artifacts.