Begun in 1978, this massive set is finally considered complete. Each volume contains essays by scholars on specific topics in American Indian life and culture, with a cumulated list of sources cited in the essays and a detailed name and subject index.

Written by more than 260 contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present. Separate articles on more than one hundred major tribes - from Abenaki to Zuni - discuss community origins, rituals and beliefs, social organizations, and present-day life.

In-depth historical, cultural, and current information on 107 Native American groups. Organized by region, each entry features a locator map, a fact box (origin of name, location, population, language family), a chronology, and information under the following subheads: introduction, history, religion, language, buildings, subsistence, clothing and adornment, healing practices, customs, oral literature, current tribal issues, and short biographies.

Follows the history of efforts to preserve and recover the civil rights of American Indians in the United States. Examines such matters as the political struggle over treaty obligations, religious freedom, and the political sovereignty of reservations. A-Z entries cover key persons, legislation, organizations, and events, including the American Indian Movement (AIM), the Wounded Knee occupation, the occupation of Alcatraz, the Native American Church, and the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

This collection surveys Native American history from ancient times to the twentieth century. Entries cover specific topics and incidents from a Native American perspective, in categories of Pre-Columbian history, Colonial history, Eighteenth century history, Nineteenth century history, Twentieth century history, Court cases and legal decisions, Wars and battles, Reservations and relocation, Organizations, Religion and missionary activities, National government and legislation, Native government, Treaties, and Protest movements.

Provides descriptions of the social, political, and economic conditions of Indian reservations across the nation. Tribes are listed alphabetically by state. Each entry provides a contact address, a description of the reservation's history, government, and land status, and other pertinent information and statistics. Much of the data was provided by the tribes themselves. Maps and photos accompany the text. An extensive index and bibliography offer further guidance.

Reference guide to American Indian history and culture from ancient times through the formation of the US and Canada and into modern society. Topics covered include: personages; tribes; art and architecture; organizations; historical events; cultural traditions; and ceremonial customs.

Note date of publication. 2 vols. Provides a "brief description of every linguistic stock, confederacy, tribe, subtribe or tribal division, and settlement known to history or even to tradition, as well as the origin and derivation of every name treated…and every form of the name..." (p. viii). Also lists places, individuals, families, missions, pueblos, and religions, with bibliographies and an index of name equivalents.

Each volume comprises essays by specialists on topics in archaeology, linguistics, literature, natural environment, social anthropology, physical anthropology, ethnology, and ethnohistorical sources, with bibliographic references, maps, and illustrations.

200 alphabetically-arranged entries that illuminate how indigenous North Americans lived in the past and how they live now. Together with a wealth of stories, songs, and first-hand renderings of events, they include biographies of leaders, accounts of social problems, explanations of ceremonials, and descriptions of origin stories. Although most of the artifacts portrayed come from the British Museum, they are supplemented with other important examples from American collections.

Economic themes underlie many aspects of Native American history from the fur trade, the devastating impact of European diseases, and the taking of Native American land to the current issues of uranium mining on Navajo land and casino gambling. Yet this is the first encyclopedia to analyze Native American history against an economic background. Describing the impact of Euro-American settlement from a Native American perspective, the book profiles the economies of roughly forty Native American tribes and nations from pre-Columbian times to the present. Other entries focus on demographics, such historical issues as the Allotment Act of 1887, and modern efforts at economic development. The book provides a valuable guide to an important area in Native American Studies and American economic history. Basing entries on Native nations, the work includes peoples living in present-day Canada, Mexico, Guatemala, and the United States.

Indigenous North Americans have continuously made important contributions to the field of art in the U.S. and Canada, yet have been severely under-recognized and under-represented. Native artists work in diverse media, some of which are considered art (sculpture, painting, photography), while others have been considered craft (works on cloth, basketry, ceramics).Some artists feel strongly about working from a position as a Native artist, while others prefer to produce art not connected to a particular cultural tradition. This volume examines the lives and works of approximately 70 Native American artists, demonstrating the range of media, themes, and experiences of Native artists, and their influences on and by western culture.

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, Third Edition is a fully updated reference discussing more than 200 American Indian tribes of North America, as well as prehistoric peoples and civilizations. Summarizes the historical record - locations, migrations, contacts with non-Indians, wars, and more - and includes present-day tribal affairs and issues. The book also covers traditional Indian lifeways, including diet, housing, transportation, tools, clothing, art, and rituals, as well as language families. Includes at least one representative tribe from each language family or language isolate for each of the culture areas. New entries include: Beaver (Tsattine); Bella Coola; Cahuilla; Coahuiltec; Columbia (Sinkinse); Cowichan; Diegueno; Keres; Mobile; Nanticoke; Puyallup; Quinault; Salinas (Salinan); Tewa; Tolowa; Washoe; Yellowknife; and more.

Brian Wright-McLeod, the producer/host of Canada's longest-running Native radio program, has gathered the musicians and their music into this comprehensive reference, an authoritative source for biographies and discographies of hundreds of Native artists. Provides an overview of the surprising abundance of recorded Native music while underlining its historical value. With almost 1,800 entries spanning more than 100 years, this book leads readers from early performers of traditional songs like William Horncloud to artists of the new millennium such as Zotigh. Along the way, it includes entries for jazz and blues artists never widely acknowledged for their Native roots--Oscar Pettiford, Mildred Bailey, and Keely Smith--and traces the recording histories of contemporary performers like Rita Coolidge and Jimmy Carl Black, "the Indian of the group" in the original Mothers of Invention. It also includes film soundtracks and compilation albums that have been instrumental in bringing many artists to popular attention. In addition to music, it lists spoken-word recordings, including audio books, comedy, interviews, poetry, and more.

Offers essential facts on the identity, kinships, locations, populations and cultural characteristics of some 400 separately identifiable peoples native to the North American continent, both living and extinct, from the Canadian Arctic to the Rio Grande. The abundance of illustrations and photographs form an especially rich store of material describing the vast range of Native American material culture. The maps are valuable pictorial representations of major historical events. Population and settlement trends based on the most recent US Census paint detailed portraits of all officially recognized tribes. The book includes: More than 600 color and archival photographs Extensive visual coverage of tribal dress and cultural artifacts 46 maps, including prehistoric cultural and historic sites and tribe distribution maps, as well as maps showing movement of tribes and non-indigenous troops during conflicts.

Specific information about over 200 North American Indian groups in Canada and the United States. rates each Native American group in careful detail. Listed alphabetically, starting with the tribal name, translation, origin, and definition, each entry includes significant facts about the group's location, population, history, and culture, government, economy, legal status, and land holdings.

17th ed.

Mini-biographies of prominent Native Americans.

Lists works in English by Native Americans published between 1772 and 1924. Includes political essays, sermons, published letters, memoirs, and historical writings, as well as belles lettres. Each volume is comprises two main sections: the first is a bibliography of writings arranged alphabetically by author, and the second consists of biographical notes on the authors with bibliographic references to sources of information. There is a separate section for writers known only by pen names, plus an index by tribal affiliation and a subject index.. The first volume covers 250 writers, and the supplement covers an additional 942 writers.

Covers works written in English by American Indians and Alaska natives from Colonial times to 1924.

Reproduces the card file from the Library of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (now at the Department of the Interior Library), covering Indian chiefs and other historically prominent Indians, Indian agents and other BIA personnel.

"Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900

Entries include bibliographies. Indexed by area of woman's specialization, state of birth, and tribe.

Indexes Native Americans by tribe and non-Indians by occupations.

3 vols. This set is designed to be a first source for information that can direct the user to more detailed sources. Alphabetical entries provides 2-5 page descriptions of each group. Additional features include a detailed index and several descriptive maps.

Reprint of: The Dictionary of Native American Literature.

For each practice, object, symbol, ritual, mythical figure, or story described, there is a brief description, indication of tribe and cultural area, and bibliographic references.

Dictionary of terms used in Native American cultural studies, including objects, events, groups, activities, and concepts from anthropology. Each entry consists of headword, definition, alternate spellings, synonyms, and, for native language terms, provenance.

Vol. 1: 1826-1924, vol. 2: 1925-1970, vol. 3: 1971-1985. Covers periodicals and newspapers edited by published by American Indians or Alaska Natives and others whose purpose was to publish about contemporary American Indians or Alaska Natives. For each title, there is a narrative history, a full bibliographic description, detailed publication history, citations to other sources of information, and a list of location sources. There is a chronological list of titles, and indexes by tribal affiliation and place of publication, and a list of contributors to the project with brief biographies.

Complete bibliographic descriptions for 1,164 periodicals and newspapers by and about Native Americans, published between 1828 and 1982, arranged alphabetically by title Includes holdings for selected repositories, subject index, geographic name index, and index of publishers.

Guide to major information sources for research on American Indians. The nearly 400 annotated entries are divided by genre into 12 chapters, covering encyclopedias, dictionaries, periodicals and newspaper indexes, directories, statistical compendia, bibliographies, biographical sources, government publications, and other materials published in the U.S. between 1970 and 1993.

Continued by: Indian-White Relations in the United States: A Bibliography of Works Published 1975-1980.

Each of these volumes consists of two parts: citations to guides and reference works, followed by a classified bibliography of books and articles (covering Indian policy, treaties, land, military relations, trade, missions, law, education, health, specific groups, and "special topics," including captivities, images of Indians, and place names). All entries are annotated. Coverage is limited to works of historical narrative and analysis, including biographical treatment; and anthropological works are generally excluded. The main volume lists publications through 1974, with 306 entries in part I (guides and reference works) and nearly 9,400 in part II (the classified bibliography). The supplemental volume adds another 3,400 citations (91 in part I and more than 3,300 in part II).

Lists works in English by Native Americans published between 1772 and 1924. Includes political essays, sermons, published letters, memoirs, and historical writings, as well as belles lettres. Each volume is comprises two main sections: the first is a bibliography of writings arranged alphabetically by author, and the second consists of biographical notes on the authors with bibliographic references to sources of information. There is a separate section for writers known only by pen names, plus an index by tribal affiliation and a subject index.. The first volume covers 250 writers, and the supplement covers an additional 942 writers.

Covers works written in English by American Indians and Alaska natives from Colonial times to 1924.

An annotated list of 1,100 books, articles, and government publications divided into four parts: introductory material, history and historical sources, economic and social aspects, and religion, arts, and literature. Each section, covering topics such as political organization or urban life, begins with an essay summarizing the literature.

Separately published bibliographies of varying length on individual tribes or other topics pertaining to Native Americans. Examples: Bibliography of the Sioux (1980), A Guide to Cherokee Documents in Foreign Archives (1983), A Guide to Cherokee Documents in the Northeastern United States (1986), Bibliography of the Blackfoot (1989), The Seneca and Tuscarora Indians (1994), The Native American in Long Fiction (1996), Indian Slavery, Labor, Evangelization, and Captivity in the Americas (1998). Many of these bibliographies are located in the main bookstacks; others can be found in the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library or the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library. All are searchable under the series title in the online catalog.

Comprehensive listing of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published between 1639 and 1700. Entries are arranged chronologically, with separate ethnological and geographical indexes. The Readex numbers for the Early American Imprints set are provided. In American Antiquarian Society, Worcester, Mass. Proceedings, n.s. Worcester, 1974. 24 cm. v. 83, pt. 2 (1974), p. 287-341.

Citations are arranged topically within four main sections (general studies/reference; history; eight culture areas; and contemporary life), with descriptive annotations and author index. This is a selective bibliography, with emphasis on books published since 1970.

16 vols. Combined author and subject catalog of this magnificent collection, totaling, in 1960, more than 90,000 items. The three-volume supplement lists 9,500 books added to the collection during the 1960s.

More than 100 black and white maps documenting culture and tribal areas; U.S. census data; so-called Indian land "cessions"; Indian reservations; agencies, school, hospitals; Oklahoma Indian Territory; Alaska; the U.S. Army and the Indian frontier. Notes to the maps are listed in the back of the volume. There is a single index combining subjects and tribal and geographic names.

3rd ed. Maps and diagrams of Native American territory from the ancient to modern periods, arranged in eight topical chapters, with a combined subject and name index. There are appendices listing tribes and their locations, reservations, museums and historical and archaeological sites, place names, Indian bands in Canada, a bibliography, and a chronology of events.

Compendium of statistical data with more than 1,000 tables and charts arranged in 12 topical chapters. The chapters cover topics such as history, population, family, education, culture, health, social and economic conditions, business and industry, land and water management, government relations, and law and law enforcement. Each table references the original source. There is also a separate list of sources, as well as a detailed keyword index. Does not incorporate 1990 census data, but has projections for 2040.

Timeline of key events in Native American history from emergence in North America through early 2001, emphasizing Native and Euro-American relations since 1492, with a glossary of terms, bibliography, and subject index.

A detailed timeline, with illustrations, of Native American history in North America, beginning with the first migrations across the land bridge from Asia to Alaska, up to 1994.

Entries are grouped by year, and then subdivided by broad subjects (e.g.: Laws and Legislation, Politics, Settlements and Villages, Land Cessions and Reservations and so forth). For a chronology it supplies surprisingly few dates beyond year, but the interesting subject arrangement will make it a useful research tool for many.

This digest presents selected summaries of Important Indian law cases, as well as a chronological history of U.S. Indian policy since Columbus landed in the Americas.