Librarian's Environmental Toolkit

Legal and technology news. Also includes a reasonable number of environmental documents.

This library contains research reports produced by the Building America program and other building science resources used to support this Solution Center. The materials cover both new construction and existing homes. Use the search box and/or the filters to explore hundreds of residential building resources.

Excellent source of information on environmental remediation technologies.

The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues.

A listing of information resources in the areas of environmental protection, management, and science as selected by librarians supporting the United States Environmental Protection Agency. Each entry includes the title, author or editor, publication date, and publisher or distributor of the resource. Many of the entries include a brief description of the resource as well. This edition of the Core List is a complete revision of the second edition, which was published in 2002 as EPA 260-R-01-001. The original Core List was published in 1993 as EPA publication EPA 220-R-93-007. The EPA National Library Network plans to update the Core List periodically, expanding it to include new information sources and new media formats. Previous editions of the Core List can be accessed via EPA’s National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP).

Developed by Bob Teeter, who also created and maintains the Water Librarian's Home Page.

This is a Wikipedia list of scholarly, peer-reviewed academic journals focused on the biophysical environment and/or humans' relations with it. Inclusion of journals focused on the built environment is appropriate. Included in this list are journals from a wide variety of interdisciplinary fields including from the environmental sciences, environmental social sciences, environmental humanities, etc.

Digital archive of EPA's publications. Also searchable via Google using their site search feature. Type your search terms into the Google search box, followed by site:epa.gov.

Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) are rich sources for publications on a wide variety of topics.

OSTI.gov is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. Join their mailing list to receive a daily update of reports released by the agency.

Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 100,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau. Includes a browsable list of recent USGS publications.

Links for librarians dealing with water and related topics; links to subject pages, libraries, publishers, collection development, and current awareness sources. Maintained by Bob Teeter, longtime water librarian.

Coverage of sustainability and climate

Includes newsletters related to environmental health and chemical exposure.

Explanatory journalism written by academic experts. Articles are distributed through a Creative Commons license.

No RSS.

Environmental Leader is a daily trade publication keeping corporate executives fully informed about energy, environmental, and sustainability news.

Newsletter of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Since 2003, ' a publication of Environmental Health Sciences, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to driving science into public discussion and policy on environmental health issues, including climate change.'

Environmental news blog founded and edited by Laura L. Barnes, retired environmental information professional.

Curates environmental news from a wide variety of sources.

The purpose of this newsletter is to keep FSTRAC members and the public up to date on current developments in toxicology, risk analysis, and water quality criteria and standards. This newsletter also provides information on recent FSTRAC webinars and upcoming events.

Browse the EPA Newsroom to find public service announcements, news releases by topic or language, or find news about what EPA is doing in your region.

News from EPA's P2 and Toxics programs.

EPA's Science Matters newsletter covers the latest from EPA's Office of Research and Development.

Environmental news from the Great Lakes region.

Grist is a nonprofit, independent media organization dedicated to reporting on climate change.

Industry Dive publishes newsletters for a variety of industry sectors including food, grocery, supply chain, healthcare, smart cities, supply chain, utilities, and waste.

Pulitzer Prize-winning, nonpartisan reporting on the biggest crisis facing our planet.

Updates, commentary, and analysis on environmental regulatory issues

Includes an e-newsletter for environmental and energy law.

A free newswire that distributes press releases from professional associations and universities.

How are climate change, scarcer resources, population growth and other challenges reshaping society? From science to business to politics to living, the New York Times Green reporters track the high-stakes pursuit of a greener globe in a dialogue with experts and readers.

Established in 1992, Planet Ark is one of Australia's most respected and trusted environmental organisations. We are focussed on solutions and making positive environmental actions accessible to everyone.

News and information about search engines, databases, and social media. Often includes interesting environmental information.

News releases about science research. Good source of cutting edge energy and environmental research news.

Formerly GreenBiz, Trellis empopwers professional communities to confront the climate crisis.

Triple Pundit cultivates awareness and understanding of the triple bottom line.

All news from the DOE.

Yale Environment 360 is an online magazine offering opinion, analysis, reporting, and debate on global environmental issues. We feature original articles by scientists, journalists, environmentalists, academics, policymakers, and business people, as well as multimedia and a daily digest of major environmental news. published at the Yale School of the Environment.