Kathryn Koca Polite is the Assistant Curator and Publications Specialist at Krannert Art Museum. 

Materials accessed in this guide are provided for personal and/or scholarly use.  Users are responsible for obtaining any copyright permissions that may be required for their own further uses of that material.  For more information about fair use please refer to the College Art Association Code of Best Practices in Fair Use in the Visual Arts.

About the Show: 

Pattern and Process is on display at the Krannert Art Museum February 2, 2023-December 22, 2023. This show "encourage us to investigate how pattern can create and challenge our ways of knowing and interpreting the world," presenting "a selection from KAM's twentieth- and twenty-first-century collection" (from the exhibit website).  

Ricker Library has provided a collection of browsing materials for the Pattern and Process exhibition. Viewers are invited to browse, relax, learn, and get inspired by their surroundings. This guide includes the books featured in this reading room collection. 

About this guide:

This guide provides resources to help viewers of the show learn more about the artists and the themes of the show. The three themes of the show are Exploring Form and Function, Physical Worlds, and Evoking the Personal. The subpages about each artist are organized by the theme their piece falls under according to the curator. Finally, the Reading Room List features a complete list of the materials included in Ricker Library's embedded collection within the gallery. This list was created in collaboration with Kathryn Koca Polite, the curator of the exhibition.

About KAM and the Collection

Krannert Art Museum (KAM) is a museum of fine arts that houses the University of Illinois art collection. This link will provide you with more information about the museum, the collection, exhibitions, and events at KAM.