Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Laws & Policies
U.S. Constitution - Legal Information Institute
Access the U.S. Constitution in full-text. The Legal Information Institute also provides explanations for each article and section of the constitution.
Federal Laws: Judicial Opinions - Legal Information Institute
This free resource provided by Cornell's Legal Information Institute contains Supreme Court and U.S. Court of Appeals cases going back to the early 1990s. Some of the Supreme Court's landmark decisions are also provided.
United States Supreme Court
The home page for the United States Supreme Court. Contains recent decisions, information on pending cases, oral arguments, news and updates.
United States House of Representatives
The home page for the House of Representatives. Contains information on current and past legislation, legislative agencies, information on current members and other resources related to the House of Representatives.
United States Senate
Home page for the United States Senate. Contains information on pending bills and legislation, current and past senators, committee information and other resources related to the US Senate.
Discover U.S. Government information. You can browse documents by topic, category, date, and more.
Databases: Public Policy Information
Updated weekly. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
CQ Press Public Affairs Collection
CQ Public Affairs Collection brings together CQ's storehouse of current affairs content in a fully integrated reference tool. Some subjects are advocacy and public service, education, energy, the environment, health, and transportation. Provides in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
Law Library Guides
The Law Library at the University of Illinois has created a number of guides on law topics, which can be helpful for finding additional resources.
Legal Research for UIUC Students Guide
Researching the law can be complicated, but this Law Library guide will help you figure out what kind of law you are looking for, and then point you toward some resources that can help you find what you need.
Communications Library Contact Information