Web Sites
The following web sites provide comprehesive information about all aspects of green living.
- Green America: Living Green articles from the Green American These green-living articles originally appeared in Green American magazine.
- Treehugger > Home & Garden Tips, lists, and expert opinion on making your home and garden a safe and thriving eco-friendly haven.
- National Geographic Environment Channel Includes video and stories related to the environment.
- U.S. EPA Greener Living Our actions impact the environment. Each thing we do can help or hurt our planet in many ways. EPA has tools to help you learn and understand the issues and help you reduce your environmental footprint.
Books
Because sustainability is such a hot topic, there are many books available. The titles listed below will get you started. To see what is available at your local library, search their catalog using the following subject headings:
- Sustainable living
- Environmental protection -- Citizen participation
- Conservation of natural resources -- Citizen participation
50 Simple Things You Can Do to Save the Earth
The authors have teamed up with 50 of Americas top environmental groups and provided Steps for Success that will empower you and your family in the fight to save the Earth.
ISBN: 1401322999Publication Date: 2008
The Better World Handbook: Small Changes That Make a Big Difference
Intended for those who care about creating a more just, sustainable and socially responsible world but don't know where to begin, this book contains information on global problems, effective actions, and resources.
ISBN: 0865715750Publication Date: 2007
Gorgeously Green: 8 Simple Steps to an Earth-friendly Life
Offers a simple eight-step program that is an easy and fun way to begin living an earth-friendly life. Each chapter covers topics from beauty to fitness, shopping to your kitchen -- even your transportation.
ISBN: 0061575569Publication Date: 2008
Green, American Style: Becoming Earth-friendly and Reaping the Benefits
Green is not about giving up. It's about gaining more money, time, opportunity, health, and well-being. Green, American Style proposes a uniquely American perspective that takes into account your values, our country's democratic and capitalistic history, and our ingrained resistance to reining in. More than a list of ways to reduce, reuse, and recycle, this book explores the green movement from the diverse perspectives of business, faith, and lifestyle, showing you the economic, physical, and spiritual benefits of sustainable living.
ISBN: 0801013348Publication Date: 2010
The Green Book: The Everyday Guide to Saving the Planet One Simple Step at a Time
Ellen DeGeneres, Robert Redford, and other celebrities tell you how they make a difference to the environment.
ISBN: 0307381358Publication Date: 2007
Green Living: The E Magazine Handbook for Living Lightly on the Earth
Includes advice on everything from planet-friendly cosmetics to home-based renewable energy, and straight talk on hemp, hybrids and hair coloring.
ISBN: 0452285747Publication Date: 2005
Green Living for Dummies
This practical guide delivers an array of realistic practices and changes you can undertake to help the environment and create a better home for yourself and your loved ones.
ISBN: 0470227427Publication Date: 2008
How to Reduce Your Carbon Footprint: 365 Practical Ways to Make a Real Difference
This book gives information on the major lifestyle issues: what new forms of energy we should be considering, how we can take a responsible approach to travel, and what we can usefully do at home and at work to cut back pollution and waste.
ISBN: 1844835936Publication Date: 2008
Inconspicuous Consumption by
From a former New York Times science writer, this urgent call to action will empower you to stand up to climate change and environmental pollution by making simple but impactful everyday choices. With urgency and wit, Tatiana Schlossberg explains that far from being only a distant problem of the natural world created by the fossil fuel industry, climate change is all around us, all the time, lurking everywhere in our convenience-driven society, all without our realizing it. By examining the unseen and unconscious environmental impacts in four areas-the Internet and technology, food, fashion, and fuel - Schlossberg helps readers better understand why climate change is such a complicated issue, and how it connects all of us: How streaming a movie on Netflix in New York burns coal in Virginia; how eating a hamburger in California might contribute to pollution in the Gulf of Mexico; how buying an inexpensive cashmere sweater in Chicago expands the Mongolian desert; how destroying forests from North Carolina is necessary to generate electricity in England. Cataloging the complexities and frustrations of our carbon-intensive society with a dry sense of humor, Schlossberg makes the climate crisis and its solutions interesting and relevant to everyone who cares, even a little, about the planet. She empowers readers to think about their stuff and the environment in a new way, helping them make more informed choices when it comes to the future of our world. Most importantly, this is a book about the power we have as voters and consumers to make sure that the fight against climate change includes all of us and all of our stuff, not just industry groups and politicians. If we have any hope of solving the problem, we all have to do it together.
ISBN: 9781538747087Publication Date: 2019-08-27
Making the Good Life Last: Four Keys to Sustainable Living
Deconstructing the assumption that consumption, stimulation, and constant motion comprise the good life, this book urges the embrace of sustainability as an operational principle and a life-sustaining core value. It presents sustainability as a frame of reference that can ground us spiritually, heal us internally, and deepen our relationships.
ISBN: 1576755703Publication Date: 2009
Natural Living Style by
In Inspirations, Selina starts by revealing the concepts that inspire her: natural decor, living simply, mindful consumption, recycling, upcycling and reducing plastic waste. She looks at materials suited to the natural living look, including wood, bamboo, cork, recycled glass and upcycled materials. In Textures, she focuses on organic fabrics, fibres such as coir and rattan and eco-friendly paints. Finally, she shows how to style the home using lighting, decorative objects, vintage pieces, garden flowers and house plants. In the second section, Natural Living Spaces, Selina shows how sustainability and style can go hand in hand in living rooms, kitchens, bedrooms, bathrooms, home offices and even utility rooms. In The Natural Garden, she steps outside to discuss green gardening, growing your own produce and venturing further afield to camp, travel and explore. Thoughout, eco-friendly tips and hints will inspire those who want to lighten their footprint on the planet. Last but not least, the Natural Resources section will help readers get the look and create a sustainable, eco-friendly home of their own.
ISBN: 1788790669Publication Date: 2019-03-12
The New Normal: An Agenda for Responsible Living
In this book, the author challenges to transform our non-sustainable culture by transforming ourselves. For the author, our current "old normal" lifestyle, buying water in disposable bottles, allowing the government to ignore global warming, will not preserve the planet. To nurture our world, he challenges us to rethink our lives, stand up for a healthy planet and move towards a "new normal" lifestyle in an agenda that includes: Initiating local business alliances that actively lobby for local buying ; Creating an investment strategy that values the balance of nature ; Supporting the design, manufacture, and use of products made with natural chemicals ; Publicly advocating a more efficient use of water by placing a higher cultural value on wetlands, streams, rivers, and lakes. He urges readers to promote environmental health by lobbying for sustainable lifestyle habits, covering such practices as buying locally, using natural chemicals, and conserving water.
ISBN: 0312575432Publication Date: 2011
Seven Wonders for a Cool Planet by
What do a clothesline, a locally grown tomato, and a microchip have in common? They’re all ordinary things that can have an extraordinary impact in the fight against global warming. Carbon dioxide from vehicles, appliances, heating and cooling systems, and other common devices is thickening the Earth’s atmosphere and causing dangerous climate changes around the globe. But some everyday things — like the seven wonders described in this book — can vastly reduce these impacts. The wonders are profiled in short, lively chapters that also explore the key issues behind global warming: transportation ("The Bicycle"), population ("The Condom"), fossil fuel efficiency ("The Ceiling Fan"), renewable energy ("The Clothesline"), food production and distribution ("The Real Tomato"), resource conservation and reuse ("The Library Book"), and the information economy ("The Microchip").
ISBN: 9781578051458Publication Date: 2008-04-28
Wake Up and Smell the Planet: The Non-pompous, Non-preachy Grist Guide to Greening Your Day
Sustainability is the new "bling," and Grist knows how to wear it. Not a guide about guilt, but about making little choices throughout the day that improve the planet
Grist is the hottest online magazine covering sustainability and popular culture. Like Grist, this is a quirky, humorous, entertaining, and sometimes irreverent read.
ISBN: 1594850399Publication Date: 2007
The Story of Stuff by
A classic exposé in company with An Inconvenient Truth and Silent Spring, The Story of Stuff expands on the celebrated documentary exploring the threat of overconsumption on the environment, economy, and our health. Leonard examines the "stuff" we use everyday, offering a galvanizing critique and steps for a changed planet. Uncovering and communicating a critically important idea--that there is an intentional system behind our patterns of consumption and disposal--Annie Leonard transforms how we think about our lives and our relationship to the planet. From sneaking into factories and dumps around the world to visiting textile workers in Haiti and children mining coltan for cell phones in the Congo, Leonard, named one of Time magazine's 100 environmental heroes of 2009, highlights each step of the materials economy and its actual effect on the earth and the people who live near sites like these. With curiosity, compassion, and humor, Leonard shares concrete steps for taking action at the individual and political level that will bring about sustainability, community health, and economic justice. Embraced by teachers, parents, churches, community centers, activists, and everyday readers, The Story of Stuff will be a long-lived classic.
ISBN: 9781451610291Publication Date: 2011-02-22
