LibGuides: Green Living: Product Guides/Certification

Certification Bodies

These groups certify green products or link to green certification organizations.

Cradle to Cradle Certification Certifies a variety of product types. Includes links to their certification criteria.
Ecolabel Index A global directory of ecolabels.
ENERGY STAR One of the main goals of the ENERGY STAR program is to develop performance-based specifications that determine the most efficient products in a particular category. Products that meet these specifications earn the ENERGY STAR label. Includes certification standards.
EPEAT Criteria EPEAT is the required method of product environmental assessment for desktop computers, laptops and monitors for federal agencies.
Forest Stewardship Council The FSC Principles and Criteria provide a foundation for all forest management standards globally, including the FSC US National Standard (v1.0) that guides forest management certification in the U.S.
Green Seal Standards Certifies a wide variety of products and services.
UL GreenGuard Certification Certifies products and materials for low chemical emissions.
WaterSense EPA-sponsored program to promote water efficiency. Certifies products and services.

Green Product Guides

Buying Environmentally Preferable Office Equipment: A Buyer’s Guide Guide to purchasing green office equipment. Includes a discussion of the environmental impacts of office equipment, how to establish a green purchasing program, and a list of resources.
Cradle to Cradle Certified Products Registry The Cradle to Cradle Certified Product Registry allows designers, builders and consumers to make decisions about products. The registry includes a certification scorecard, which summarizes levels achieved in five categories: material health, material reutilization, renewable energy and carbon management, water stewardship and social fairness.
EPEAT Product Registry EPEAT is the definitive global registry for greener electronics.
Forest Stewardship Council Find Products Products bearing the FSC logo guarantees that the wood from a certified well-managed forest
Good Stuff? A Behind-the-Scenes Guide to the Things We Buy Have you ever wondered where chocolate comes from, if antibacterial soap is good for your family, or how to recycle an old computer? If you've had these or other questions about the environmental and social impacts of the products you buy and use, Good Stuff is for you. It contains many of the tips, facts, and links you'll need to start making more informed purchases that benefit your health and the environment. Guide to purchasing everything from appliances to chocolate.
Green Seal Certified Products Guide Develops life cycle-based sustainability standards for products, services and companies and offers third-party certification for those that meet the criteria in the standard.
Consumer Product Information Database What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room? Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.
Identify Greener Products and Services To help you buy "greener," EPA has summarized information about several categories of products and services, including: Environmental attributes to consider; How to buy; Useful resources.
Safer Choice Labeled Products Database of products that meet EPA's Safer Choice standard.
SPOT (UL product guide) UL database of over 100,000 green products.
Staples EcoEasy Staples' portal to green office supplies. Includes links to green buying tips and benefits; resources; key terms; and carbon footprint calculators.
Vehicle Cost Calculator This tool uses basic information about your driving habits to calculate total cost of ownership and emissions for makes and models of most vehicles, including alternative fuel and advanced technology vehicles.
WaterSense Product Search EPA-sponsored program to promote water efficiency. Certifies products and services.