Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geologic Atlas of the United States
The Geologic Atlas of the United States is a set of 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945.
Historic Topographic Maps
In 2009, USGS began the release of a new generation of topographic maps (US Topo) in electronic form, and in 2011, complemented them with the release of high-resolution scans of more than 178,000 historical topographic maps of the United States.
ISGS Coal Maps & Data
Digital coal resource shapefiles and raw database files available from the ISGS Coal Section.
LOC American Memory Map Collections
The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
The National Map
The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation.
National Geographic Interactive MapMaker
Explore the world, learn about human and physical patterns, and make your own maps.
National Geographic Maps
Maps have been a cornerstone of National Geographic since they were published in the first issue of the magazine, in October 1888.
National Geologic Map Database
The National Geologic Map Database (NGMDB) is a distributed archive of geoscience information for the Nation. It was mandated by the Geologic Mapping Act of 1992 and is cooperatively built and maintained by the USGS and State Geological Surveys.
National Weather Service Weather Map
Provides weather, water, and climate data.
Natural Resources Canada
Provides access to a selection of interactive maps produced by Natural Resources Canada.
US State Geologic Maps
Digital geologic maps of the US states with consistent lithology, age, GIS database structure, and format.
World Soil Resources Map Index
Several maps of various soil properties from around the world.
Online Map Resources & Tools