Bond County
Where to Start
For the most up to date resources, please use the Library Catalog. The Dewey call number for Bond County typically starts with "977.38". Some common subject headings for Bond County are:
Bond County (Ill.) --History.
Bond County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Bond County (Ill.) --Biography.
Bond County (Ill.) --Maps.
If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.
County Histories
Bateman, Newton, 1822-1897. Illinois, historical; editors: Newton Bateman, LL. D., Paul Selby, A.M. Bond County, biographical; editor: Warren E. McCaslin … Chicago : Munsell Pub. Co., 1915.
Call Number: 977.387 B31H
Chapman Bros., Pub. Portrait and biographical record of Montgomery and Bond counties, Illinois. Chicago, 1892.
Call Number: 977.38 C36
A History of Bond County, Illinois. Greenville, Ill. : Bond County Historical Society, c1979.
Call Number: 977.3873 H629
McCord, Alenia B. Index to History of Bond and Montgomery Counties, Illinois. 197-. (typescript)
Call Number: Q. 977.38 P42INDEX
Middlesworth, Grace H. Excerpts of Bond County, Illinois history biographies. Decatur, Ill., Decatur Genealogical Society, 1972.
Call Number: 929.3 M582E
Census
UIUC affiliates or patrons using computers on-campus can access past census data via:
- Heritage Quest Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A subset of the record collections in Ancestry.com. Includes: U.S. Decennial Census enumeration forms (1790-1940); city directories (1821-1989); 1850 and 1860 slave schedules (from the Seventh and Eighth U.S. Decennial Censuses); Indian census rolls (1885-1940); U.S. Decennial Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (availability of records varies by state); and U.S. Decennial Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (emphasis on agriculture schedules and manufacturing/industry schedules).
Atlases
Ogle, George A. & Co. Standard atlas of Bond County, Illinois. Chicago, 1900.
Call Number: F. 912.77387 OG5S
Rockford Map Publishers. Farm plat book and business guide, Bond County, Illinois. Rockford, 1977.
Call Number: Q. 912.77387 R59t1
Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book, Bond County, Illinois. Rockford, 1949.
Call Number: Q. 912.77387 R59FA
Further Information
More information can be found on our Web Resources Page as well as in the Illinois County Bibliography, which is shelved with 016.9773.
Boone County
Where to Start
For the most up to date resources, please use the Library Catalog. The Dewey call number for Boone County typically starts with "977.329". Some common subject headings for Boone County are:
Boone County (Ill.) --History.
Boone County (Ill.) --Biography.
Boone County (Ill.) --Maps.
If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.
County Histories
Bateman, Newton, 1822-1897. HISTORICAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ILLINOIS AND HISTORY OF BOONE COUNTY. Chicago, Munsell, 1909.
Call Number: 977.329 B31H
Boone County then and now, 1835-1976 : a history in words and pictures by her sons and daughters to celebrate the Bicentennial of the signing of the Declaration of Independence / edited by Virginia B. Moorhead. [Belvidere?] Ill. : Boone County Bicentennial Commission, 1976.
Call Number: Q. 977.329 B644
The Past and present of Boone County, Illinois. Chicago : H. F. Kett & Co., 1877.
Call Number: 977.329 P268
Census
UIUC affiliates or patrons using computers on-campus can access past census data via:
- Heritage Quest Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A subset of the record collections in Ancestry.com. Includes: U.S. Decennial Census enumeration forms (1790-1940); city directories (1821-1989); 1850 and 1860 slave schedules (from the Seventh and Eighth U.S. Decennial Censuses); Indian census rolls (1885-1940); U.S. Decennial Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (availability of records varies by state); and U.S. Decennial Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (emphasis on agriculture schedules and manufacturing/industry schedules).
Atlases
Middle West Pub. Co. 20th. century atlas of Boone County, Illinois. Chicago, 1905.
Call Number: F. 912.77329 M58T
Ogle, George A. & Co. Standard atlas of Boone County, Illinois… Chicago, 1923.
Call Number: F. 912.77329 OG5S
Page, H.R. & Co. Illustrated atlas of Winnebago and Boone counties, Illinois… Chicago, 1886.
Call Number: F. 912.77331 P14I
Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas & plat book ... Boone County, Illinois. Rockford, 1977.
Call Number: Q. 912.77329 R59FA1A
Further Information
More information can be found on our Web Resources Page as well as in the Illinois County Bibliography, which is shelved with 016.9773.
Brown County
Where to Start
For the most up to date resources, please use the Library Catalog. The Dewey call number for Brown County typically starts with "977.347". Some common subject headings for Brown County are:
Brown County (Ill.) --History.
Brown County (Ill.) --Biography.
Brown County (Ill.) --Maps.
If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.
County Histories
Biographical review of Cass, Schuyler, and Brown counties, Illinois. Astoria, Ill. : Stevens Pub. Co., 1971. Reprint.
Call Number: Q. 920.07734 B521971
Brink, W.R. & Co. Combined history of Schuyler and Brown Counties, Illinois. Philadelphia, 1882.
Call Number: Q. 977.347 B77C
Index of History of Schuyler and Brown Counties, Illinois : 1686-1882 : Brown County. 19--?
Call Number: 977.347 B77CINDEX
Schuyler-Brown Historical and Genealogical Society (Ill.). The Brown County Board. A history of Brown County, Illinois, 1880-1970. Astoria, Ill. : Stevens Pub., c1972.
Call Number: 977.347 SCH8H
Census
UIUC affiliates or patrons using computers on-campus can access past census data via:
- Heritage Quest Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A subset of the record collections in Ancestry.com. Includes: U.S. Decennial Census enumeration forms (1790-1940); city directories (1821-1989); 1850 and 1860 slave schedules (from the Seventh and Eighth U.S. Decennial Censuses); Indian census rolls (1885-1940); U.S. Decennial Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (availability of records varies by state); and U.S. Decennial Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (emphasis on agriculture schedules and manufacturing/industry schedules).
Atlases
Artcraft Co., Quincy, Ill. 1975 ownership atlas, Brown County, Illinois. Quincy, 1975.
Call Number: Q. 912.77347 AR75N
Ogle, George A. & Co. Standard atlas of Brown County, Illinois. Chicago, 1903.
Call Number: F. 912.77347 OG5S
Rockford Map Publishers. Plat book, Brown County, Illinois. Rockford, c1952.
Call Number: Q. 912.77347 R59P
Further Information
More information can be found on our Web Resources Page as well as in the Illinois County Bibliography, which is shelved with 016.9773.
Bureau County
Where to Start
For the most up to date resources, please use the Library Catalog. The Dewey call number for Bureau County typically starts with "977.337". Some common subject headings for Bureau County are:
Bureau County (Ill.) --History.
Bureau County (Ill.) --Biography.
Bureau County (Ill.) --Genealogy.
Bureau County (Ill.) --Maps.
If you have questions about using the online catalog or subject headings, please see Using the Library. We've provided a few areas below to start you off.
County Histories
The Biographical record of Bureau, Marshall and Putnam Counties, Illinois… Chicago : The S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1896.
Call Number: 977.337 B52
Bradsby, H.C., Ed. History of Bureau County, Illinois. Chicago : World Pub. Co., 1885.
Call Number: 977.337 B72H
Ford, Henry Allen. The history of Putnam and Marshall counties : embracing an account of the settlement ... of Bureau and Stark counties. Lacon, Ill. : The author, 1860.
Call Number: 977.337 F75
Leonard, Doris Parr, 1919- Big Bureau and bright prairies; a history of Bureau County, Illinois. Moline, Ill. Bureau County Board of Supervisors [1968].
Call Number: Q. 977.337 L55B
Census
UIUC affiliates or patrons using computers on-campus can access past census data via:
- Heritage Quest Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A subset of the record collections in Ancestry.com. Includes: U.S. Decennial Census enumeration forms (1790-1940); city directories (1821-1989); 1850 and 1860 slave schedules (from the Seventh and Eighth U.S. Decennial Censuses); Indian census rolls (1885-1940); U.S. Decennial Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (availability of records varies by state); and U.S. Decennial Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (emphasis on agriculture schedules and manufacturing/industry schedules).
Atlases
Hixson W.W. & Co. Plat book of Bureau County, Illinois. Rockford, Ill., [194-?]
Call Number: Q. 912.77337 G28P
Matson, N. Map of Bureau County, Illinois, with sketches of its early settlement. Chicago, G.H. Fergus, Book and Job Printer, 1867.
Call Number: 977.337 M42m
Rockford Map Publishers. Atlas & plat book, Bureau County, Illinois. Rockford, [197- - 197-].
Call Number: Q. 912.77337 R59T
Further Information
More information can be found on our Web Resources Page as well as in the Illinois County Bibliography, which is shelved with 016.9773.