The University of Illinois is a United Kingdom depository. This guide explains more about depository information, United Kingdom government resources that connect to parliament, bills, and laws, and additional resources that UIUC possess to highlight and provide supplemental research tools about the United Kingdom.

What is the United Kingdom?

While many know the term 'Untied Kingdom' few know what areas that includes. Here is a helpful and simple explanation of what the United Kingdom is. 

• UK Parliament
  • ​Parliament for the United Kingdoms' official website that includes parliamentary publications, House of Commons papers and bills, House of Lords papers and bills, parliamentary debates (also called Hansards) and legislation (Acts of Parliament).
• The National Archives
  • Contains an enormous collection of governmental publications, tweets, Shakespeare materials, and an abundance of other items from the United Kingdom.
• UK Legislation
  • Contains all of the legislative decisions across the United Kingdom. 
• Gov.uk
  • This site focuses on the different aspects of government such as helping disabled persons, education, immigration, the environment, and more. 

Databases

• Confidential Print: Africa
  • Provides electronic access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides a searchable collection of scores of official documents and maps covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa (with the exception of Egypt).
• Access World News
  • Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.

Library Catalog

To search for United Kingdom documents in the Library Catalog be sure to enter United Kingdom as the author.

Key Words

Try using these key words when beginning your research on Canada Combine them, change them and use them in different ways to find what you need.

• United Kingdom
• England
• Scotland
• Northern Ireland
• Great Britain
• Wales
• Constitutional Monarchy
• Parliamentary Government