Krokodil was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. Published continuously until 2008, Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events.

Established in 1922, Literaturnaia gazeta focused on literary and intellectual life and allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. Literaturnaia gazeta was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.

The oldest Soviet and Russian academic history journal, Voprosy istorii (“Issues of History”) has offered scholarly perspectives on events in Russia and the world since 1926. Published by the Russian Academy of Sciences, this legendary journal covering Russian and world history was first published under the title Istorik-Marksist (Marxist Historian, 1926-1941), then Istoricheskii zhurnal (History Journal, 1937-1945) and finally under the present title (since 1945). 

Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.

Full-text and full-image articles; fully searchable. Includes virtual keyboard for Cyrillic input of search terms.

Kul’tura (Culture) is an important Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskaia kul’tura (1953-1991). . Throughout the years the newspaper articles reviewed major events in Russian cultural life, in literature, theater, cinematography and arts.

Covers 19 newspapers from the North Caucasus, one of the most volatile areas of Russia and the Former USSR. Includes the two disputed breakaway territories of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

Gudok is a Russian daily newspaper in continuous publication since 1917 and is one of the oldest and leading trade newspapers in Russia.

An archive for the magazine Soviet Woman (1945-1991), an important communist propaganda outlet introducing Western audiences to the lifestyle of Soviet women, their role in the post-WWII rebuilding of the Soviet economy, and praising their achievements in the arts and the sciences.

The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series.

A unique collection of ephemera (brochures, clothing items, booklets, flyers, etc.) documenting LGBTQ movements in several Eastern European countries and offering important insights into LGBTQ activism in Eastern Europe and the Balkans in the past decade.

The Belarus Anti-Fascist Resistance Leaflets and Newspapers collection consists of 97 World War II leaflets and content from 30 newspaper titles produced during the period of German occupation of Belarus in 1941-1944.

Collections in this category span 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations. These collections provide an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, and also offer detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed, making these collections an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world.