Digital Collections Guide

Reproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts, online via ProQuest Direct.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

This work is derived from two reference collections, the Nineteenth-Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth-Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Search capablities include full text, specific keywords or phrases, author, title, date, subject and more. Legal Treatises comprises over 21,000 works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries British Commonwealth and American law, with 14,900 titles from the nineteenth century and 7,100 titles from the the years 1900 to 1926. The monographs and materials in this collection include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years. The University of Illinois has access to parts I-V of the collection, encompassing select newspapers from 1800-1950.

This database contains 2.1 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on all aspects of the 19th century life--literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions.;19th Century UK Periodicals provides full-text, fully searchable access to hundreds of magazines and journals with full color, high quality digital facsimiles of all articles. This is an invaluable resource for the study of British life in the 19th century. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued in any format since original publication. This database currently provides a wide range of subject content consisting of Part I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour and Leisure/Sport and Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial. Title lists are available on the Gale site.

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

The University of Illinois owns Collections I, II, III and IV.

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to .... New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. The Economist Historical Archive complements the Times Digital Archive also available from Gale/Cengage Learning.

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1835 brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French and American Revolutions; colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.

The Financial Times Historical Archive,1888-2010, is a complete facsimile run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. It includes over 700,000 pages of past issues, including Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.

Periodcials covering culture, entertainment, fashion, home and family life, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues, these historically significant and highly visual magazines provide a rich insight into these dynamic yet turbulent decades, as well as allowing examination of a burgeoning media industry that both shaped and reflected society.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.

Searchable database of the complete run of publications called: Listener, 1929-1959; Listener and BBC television review, 1960-1967; Listener (London, England : 1967), 1967-1991. Established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, the weekly publication also discussed major literary and musical programs, and it regularly reviewed new books. This archive enables users to search across 125,000 pages of the Listener publications, all newly digitized from originals in full color. Select broadcast transcripts are also included in this database.

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. Picture Post's innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness. Above all, Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things - from boys rolling a tyre, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a rollercoaster - all caught in a single moment in time.

From Manchester and London, UK. ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.

From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of humour and satire. From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity - and how the rest of the world saw the British. The Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes. The archive also correlates the previously anonymous articles and those written under pseudonyms with the private ledgers of contributors kept by the Punch editors, in many cases revealing for the first time the true identity of the authors.

Completely separate from the Times of London, the Sunday times is known for their investigative journalism, providing commentary and analysis of the week's news.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

The collection contains the main British Government files on South Africa from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices during the apartheid era. The documents include diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, minutes of meetings, leaflets and other ephemera. The main themes covered are South Africa's relationship with the international community, internal civil unrest, the growth of anti-apartheid organisations, forced removals and black self-government.

This collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s. It contains correspondence, intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, minutes, maps, newspaper excerpts and other materials from the FO 65, FO 106, FO 371 and FO 539 series.

Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.

This database includes materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.

Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Colonial State Papers integrates two important research tools as one service: Collection CO 1 from The National Archives (full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers); and Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. All of the documents from CO 1 have been reproduced as full-colour, high quality images. Users can limit their searches to records that include scanned documents or can search all documents recorded in the Calendar.

Provides electronic access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides a searchable collection of scores of official documents and maps covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa (with the exception of Egypt).

The Confidential Print series, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices since around 1820, is one of the most important series produced by the British Government. The documents of Confidential Print: Latin America cover the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, among other topics, the files in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.

Issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices since 1820; includes the following classes from The National Archives, Kew in their entirety: CO 880/1-32: North America, 1839-1914 -- CO 884/1-38: West Indies, 1826-1961 -- FO 414/1-278: North America, 1824-1941 -- FO 461/1-13: America, 1942-1956 -- FO 462/1-10: USA, 1947-1956.

Documents on British Policy Overseas provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on throughout the twentieth century. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series.--About p.

East India Company offers a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.

This digital collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Allows access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and anlyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and much more.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

This digital collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. Consists of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material.

This collection is an essential resource for understanding the events in the Middle East during the 1970s. It addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.

This project provides access to documents from the highest level of the British Government during the Macmillan Administration, 1957-1963. It includes strong material on Anglo-American relations, Europe, the process of decolonisation, key Cold War conflicts, various Defence White Papers over the period and reaction to Macmillan's "Winds of Change" speech.

Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.

Fully searchable database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK. Offers a broad range of material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the beginning of the First World War and the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914, through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32, and to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.

This collection provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon’s presidency. Top-level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate these papers. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment.

State Papers Online offers original historical materials from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Britain from the period of Henry VIII to the reign of George III.;State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century represents the final section of the State Papers series from the National Archives, Kew, UK and covers the years 1714-1782. Part I: [British] Domestic and Privy Council provides online access to approx. 300,000 rare British government manuscripts from the reigns of King George I, King George II and part of the reign of King George III, plus Military, Naval, Plantation Registers, Sheriffs Lists and State Papers Scotland and Ireland.

Encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Many contributors to the papers were found outside the official world, providing evidence or supplying memoranda to committees and commissions. HCPP online is searchable with full text and detailed subject indexing.

This resource is comprised of two distinct elements: A finding aid to women's studies resources in the National Archives, Kew; and, Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territoriesThe finding aid brings together the results of a five year project by staff at Kew and enables researchers to quickly locate details of any document relating to women in the National Archives at Kew. It is far more detailed and extensive than anything available elsewhere on the web and has the benefit of ranging across all of the classes of material held at the National Archives. The original documents focus on the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928, and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962. Prominent suffragettes include Emmeline Pethick-Lawrence, the Pankhursts, Emily Wilding Davison, Clara Giveen and Rachel Peace (alias Jane Short).

Uncover the history of European colonisation across the African continent in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century through the rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage presented within Africa and the New Imperialism.

Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.

A digital archive of documents, maps, photographs, expedition reports, manuscript materials, and books held by the Royal Geographic Society, founded in 1830. The RGS holds one of the largest private map collections in the world, with one million sheets of maps and charts, 3000 atlases, 40 globes, and 1000 gazetteers.

This collection includes approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries from women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales writing from 1500 to 1950. This searchable and browsable database is drawn from 290 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings

An extensive digital archive, comprising more than 400,000 manuscript pages, includes complete facsimile copies of poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence and other manuscripts from the Restoration through the Victorian era. Sources libraries include the British Library, the Folger Shakespeare Library, the National Library of Scotland, Princeton University, and the National Art Library at the Victoria and Albert Museum.

A collection of more than 6,000 newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company between 1911 and 1931. Users can search or browse in 24 different thematic areas, including the First World War, Women and Gender, Celebrities, and the British Empire.

Chatham House Online Archive provides a searchable, browseable research environment that enables users to explore approximately half a million pages and over 90 years of research, analysis and commentary. Subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs will allow users to quickly retrieve and analyze material relevant to their own research or study. Users will also have access to the full-text of Chatham House's publications and audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.

This database includes materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.

Defining Gender has brought together over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. The images are sourced from British and European libraries and archives, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the British Library.

This database includes documents showing how everyday working, family, religious and administrative life was experienced across England from the years 1500 to 1700. These primary documents take the form of legal and administrative records, wills, family correspondence, inventories, and commonplace books.

East India Company offers a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

The First World War portal presents rich and varied primary source documents on the personal experiences of men and women, recruitment, and the development and dissemination of various forms of propaganda. The documents feature in four self-contained modules: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives and Narratives, and A Global War. The wealth of original documents include: personal narratives, diaries, newspapers, posters, postcards, photographs, printed books, military and government files, and ephemera. This material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. Use the Interactive Maps to learn about the extension of the conflict, explore significant dates and events of the Great War through the chronology and view fascinating visual images in bespoke galleries

This database contains primary source documents from "frontier life" for English settlers from 1650 to 1920 in Africa, Australasia, and North America. These documents take the form of correspondence, diaries, government papers and legal documents, business records, speeches, books, and pamphlets.

Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.

For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan. This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives. This collection is a welcome addition to the new-flourishing literature on the military history of South Asia and the growing field of serious study of the British military experience in India.

This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.

This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

Bringing together unique primary sources drawn from world-class maritime archives and heritage collections Life at Sea takes a sociocultural approach, focusing on the individual experiences and personal narratives of seafarers. Through a broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, the lives of ordinary seamen, merchants, whalers and pirates can be explored. This resource offers exciting new insights into three centuries of the Anglo-American maritime world.

The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, and the Victorian manuscript holdings are the undisputed jewel in its crown. A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century makes the collection an invaluable research tool for scholars and students of Victorian literature. Authors represented in the collection include: Matthew Arnold, the Brontës, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, William Makepeace Thackeray. Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis of the works.

This path-breaking project offers literary scholars the opportunity to examine complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. These manuscripts can be read and explored in conjunction with the powerful BCMSV database, described in a recent survey of first-line indices for poetry of the long eighteenth century (c.1660-1830) as "the most sophisticated and flexible index yet created for a collection of manuscript poetry". The database includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems within the collection.

Alongside original compositions are painstakingly copied verses, translations, songs and riddles. The whole collection is situated within an assortment of manuscripts, some entirely dedicated to poetry, while others contain medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays. There are also several printed works, with handwritten verse additions.

The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.

Full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London; designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond. Will be of interest to students and scholars from a wide range of disciplines, including literature, cultural studies, urban studies, social history and the study of leisure and tourism. There is a strong emphasis on rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature available. There is also an emphasis on visual material. The documents are drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, the rare books, manuscripts, and special collections library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington.

Aimed at the study of incarceration from a global perspective, this database includes archival materials, reference texts, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, rehabilitation research, training materials, and artistic works.

This resource includes essays on British social history collected between 1937 and 1972 during a project called the Mass Observation. The archives also include photographs, file reports, diaries, day surveys and links to other sites. Topic collections include: Film, reading habits, dreams, religion, victory celebrations, capital punishment, smoking habits, drinking habits, gambling, posters, Britain Can Make it Exhibition 1946, reconstruction, family planning, sexual behaviour, Beveridge social surveys, music, dancing and jazz, propaganda and morale, conscientious objection and pacifism, holidays, newspaper reading, anti-semitism, industry, leisure and sport.

A collection of questionnaire responses to the Mass Observation Project, researching everyday life in Britain. Addressing topics such as the Falklands War, clothing, attitudes to the USA, reading and television habits, morality and religion, and Britain's relations with Europe, the directives and responses are an essential resource for anyone interested in late-twentieth-century British social history.

The resource tells the story of medical advances during warfare from the mid-nineteenth century to the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918 and the discovery of penicillin in 1927. The wealth of documents cover multiple conflicts as well as interwar developments from a range of perspectives.

Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.

A collection of digitized editions of texts concerning the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800). Covers economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts, chronicles, papal registers, etc. Most are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, although some are from Milan and the New World. Includes both printed sources and digitized versions of original manuscripts.

Medieval Family Life contains full-color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh family letter collections, along with full-text searchable transcripts from printed editions. Also includes family trees, chronology, a map, and a glossary.

Includes complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries. Document formats include, but are not limited to: account books, advice, commonplace books, culinary writing, meditations, travel writing, and verse.

Electronic reproduction of material relating to the social and cultural history of Britain and America during a period of momentous change between 1950 and 1975.|bThis online resource offers access to a wide range of printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video clips. The material covers key topics and major events of the period, including: student activism across Europe and the US; the Vietnam conflict; the fight for civil rights; women's liberation; fashion, consumerism and youth culture; the music scene; book, magazine and film censorship. It includes complete or significant runs of the following serial publications: Gandalf's garden ; International Times (IT) ; Oz ; Frendz ; Friends ; East Village other ; Los Angeles free press.

This database is focused on documents demonstrating the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early 20th century Britain. It contains primary source in the form of government correspondence of the Poor Law Office, pamphlets, newsletters, and periodicals published at the time, as well as essays and case studies by academic experts and historians.

The Church Missionary Society was founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and remains active today. This research module includes records of both the CMS and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime. The collections in this module are organized by mission location.

This module contains sources focused on the British Empire in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It features material on British colonial policy and government; perspectives on life in British colonies; the relationship between gender, race, and class and empire.

This digital collection, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps.

An archive of manuscripts, photographs, maps, and monographs collected by the Royal College of Physicians from the 14th to the 20th century. These materials relate to both medical and non-medical topics, the RCP's changing role in medical practice, and the personal lives of many distinguished physicians.

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Trade in Early Modern London brings together court records and financial accounts from some of London's principal livery companies, covering more than 300 years of history. The documents provide fascinating insights into the world of early modern London, through the lens of the trade guilds that dominated the economic, social, cultural, and political life of the city.

An essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also a fair range of materials for the U.S.A.

Discover the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, as well as a selection of special early large format films. This material provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.

This online project presents those Ferrar Papers which are in Magdalene College, Cambridge. They are reproduced by permission of the Master and Fellows of the college, with whom the copyright remains. In addition, transcripts of those documents that throw light on the Virginia Company of London are included, as are the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London (Washington, D.C., 1906-35), edited by Susan Myra Kingsbury-Introduction.;The Virginia Company Archives is an essential source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period. It documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624, the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, and tensions amongst the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.

Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 brings together diaries and oral histories for the study of the lives and experiences of less well-known women, told through their own words. Featuring content from both regional and national archives across the UK and Ireland, users can explore the life course of hundreds of individuals from a diverse range of backgrounds.