Digital Collections Guide

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to .... New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. The Economist Historical Archive complements the Times Digital Archive also available from Gale/Cengage Learning.

The Forbes Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Forbes, beginning with its first issue in 1917 and ending in December 2000.--Publisher information. 
 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.

The Financial Times Historical Archive,1888-2010, is a complete facsimile run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. It includes over 700,000 pages of past issues, including Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.

American Business: Agricultural Newspapers captures the central role of farming in the growth of the United States. Economic, social and cultural historians, as well as science, technology and environmental specialists, will find the published record of farming and rural life critical to teaching and researching America in the 19th century.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Publishers Weekly is a weekly news magazine focused on the international book publishing business. It offers feature articles and news on all aspects of the book business, bestsellers lists in a number of categories, and industry statistics. The complete archive includes nearly 200,000 book reviews, and bestseller lists from 1895 forward. The archive will cover 1872-2013.

Discover how the expansion of radio and television technology, and the rise of mass media empires, transformed America into a consumer-based society, through the lens of pioneer David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA), and other industry papers.

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries that include the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum and the Massachusetts Historical Society, China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history

This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from 1450-1914, and pre-1906 serials. It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. The Making of the modern world, part I: 1450-1850 is based on Gale's microfilm collection: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration--along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University. The Making of the modern world, part II: 1851-1914 expands the contents into the early 20th century.

Collection of proposals, pilot studies, advertisements, reports, memorandums, letters, and supporting material created by Ernest Dichter and the Institute for Motivational Research.

Searchable database of corporate and industry related documents. Mergent Archives contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

This module contains primary sources covering key subjects within the historical field of business, labor, and economics, including Keynesian economic policy in post-war Britain; international labor movements; the London Stock Exchange; and the papers of important economists.

Database containing primary source materials from the Smithsonian's museums, libraries, and archives.

The Transformation of Shopping brings together rich collections of primary source material from world-renowned institutions, enabling research into the vibrant sociocultural history of the retail industry with material from over 300 stores. Drawn from across the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, trade literature, staff newsletters and photographs highlight the experiences of workers and consumers, offering exciting new insights into the ways in which stores shaped and influenced daily and working life.