LibGuides: Carle Illinois Virtual Library (CIVL): CIVL HOME

What is it you need to find?

TEACHING & LEARNING	ENGINEERING & INNOVATION	PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE	RESEARCH & PUBLICATION
Curriculum Development	Data Science	Clinical Practice	Literature Reviews
Curriculum Threads	Data & Statistics	Evidence-Based Medicine	MedEd Research
Special Topics	Simulation & VR	Library Resources	Library Services

Quick Links

Study & Clinical Tools

Core Texts

Article Databases

PubMed (Best Bet)
Scopus
Web of Science
Cochrane Library
(for Systematic Reviews)
Engineering Village
IEEE Xplore
more databases

Other (restricted)

About the Carle Illinois Virtual Library (CIVL)

VIDEO TOURS

Welcome to the Carle Illinois Virtual Library (CIVL)
A short video tour of the Carle Illinois Virtual Library (CIVL)
CIVL Tour: Teaching & Learning
For faculty and students, this tour will highlight curriculum resources and tools for teaching and learning.
CIVL Tour: Engineering & Innovation
Learn about the resources found under the Engineering and Innovation section of CIVL.
CIVL Tour: Professional Practice
Learn about CIVL resources that support clinical practice and patient care.
CIVL Tour: Research and Publication
CIVL provides many resources that support research projects including types of research, methods, data management, and more.

TUTORIALS for CLINICAL & STUDY TOOLS

How to Use AccessMedicine
Learn how to effectively use AccessMedicine, including how to find and save various resources.
How to Use Clinical Key
Learn how Clinical Key can support your education and clinical practice with easy access to textbooks and evidence-based content for decision making.
How to Use DynaMed
Find out how DynaMed can help you find evidence and much more for clinical practice and patient care.

QUICK GUIDES to CIVL Resources

Where to Find What You Need
A guide to help you select the right source for your information need
Study & Clinical Tools at a Glance
Comparison of content across major resources for study and clinical practice
Major Resources: Access & Personal Accounts
Guide to off-campus access to major medical resources

Connecting to the University

Connecting to the University VPN
How to connect to the university VPN
How to Connect to a Network Drive (Mac)
Demonstration of how to connect to a Network Drive on a Mac.
How to Connect to a Network Drive (Windows)
Demonstration of how to connect to a Network Drive on Windows for both a personal computer and a University computer
UIUC Anywhere
In an effort to provide the best blended and remote learning experience this Fall, Technology Services is deploying a Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops service. UIUC AnyWare provides optimized virtual access to over 100 software applications for students whether working on campus, remotely, or in class. It also offers a virtual desktop environment allowing users to access applications securely, on multiple devices and operating systems including Windows, MacOS, and Linux, iOS, and Android.

Technology Services

Technology Services is the central IT organization responsible for managing campus-wide technology and network operations. As such, Tech Services offers technology help to anybody who requests it. Campus-wide, it helps requestors with anything related to computing, networking, online communications, instructional technology, learning management systems, and more.

Technology Services can help with Box, Canvas, Google Apps, Office 365, Teams, Zoom, passwords, connecting to campus and much more.

NEW! From Noon to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, you can consult with Technology Services representatives at theScholarly Commons on the 2nd floor of the Main Library.

Related Schools & Programs

Carle Illinois College of Medicine
As the first college of medicine in the world with a curriculum that fuses engineering, medicine and the humanities, we’re creating a truly innovative future.
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center
The Grainger Engineering Library Information Center is dedicated to the study of engineering and the physical sciences. The library was made possible by University of Illinois College of Engineering graduate and founder of Grainger Industrial Supply, William Wallace Grainger.
Cancer Center at Illinois
The Cancer Center at Illinois unites world-class faculty who uncover fundamental knowledge, innovate new technologies, and enable cancer-free lives.
College of Applied Health Sciences
The College of Applied Health Sciences at UIUC has departments in Kinesiology & Community Health, Speech & Hearing Science, Recreation, Sport, & Tourism, and Interdisciplinary Health Sciences.
Grainger College of Engineering
As one of the world's top ranked engineering programs, our students, faculty, and alumni set the standard for excellence. We drive the economy, reimagine engineering education, and bring revolutionary ideas to the world.
Illinois Experts
Illinois Experts provides access to over 2,000 Illinois researcher profiles through an online, searchable portal, updated weekly from the Scopus abstract and citation database.
McKinley Health Center
The McKinley Health Center provides medical services and health information to the Urbana-Champaign campus community.

Carle Illinois Virtual Library (CIVL)

Carle Illinois Librarians

STEM Librarians