Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taxonomy & Nomenclature Resources
Animals in the Ancient World from A to Z (2014)
Information on studies of animals in the ancient world.
Biosystemia: An International Journal on Animal Taxonomy, Diversity, Ecology, and Zoogeography (2007-)
Journal launched with the purpose of publishing original peer reviewed findings on animal taxonomy, faunal diversity, ecology, and zoogeography. Having prime dedication to animal taxonomy, the journal gives high priority to taxonomic monographs, revisions and reviews, catalogues, new descriptions, new records, checklists.
A taxon concept server. It stores and qualifies recorded taxon names, providing an index for all name-annotated content.
From the Polistes Foundation, it provides free on-line tools to identify species, teach and study nature's wonders, report findings, build maps, process images, and contribute to and learn from a growing, interactive encyclopedia of life with 1,419,246 species pages and 820,368 maps.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
An international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Index to Organism Names
Contains all the animal, plant, and virus names data found within the Thomson Reuters BIOSIS literature databases.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
A registry for all recorded taxon names.
From the International Society for Phylogenetic Nomenclature. The PhyloCode is a formal set of rules governing phylogenetic nomenclature, designed to name the parts of the tree of life by explicit reference to phylogeny.
An autonomous federation of taxonomic database custodians, involving taxonomists throughout the world.
From the Consortium for the Barcode of Life (CBOL). Search millions of species.
Tree of Life
The project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
A relational database of phylogenetic information, includes all types of phylogenetic data (e.g., trees of species, trees of populations, trees of genes) representing all biotic taxa.
Provides a means to register new nomenclatural acts, published works, and authors.