Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior Department: Databases

A guide for those in the School of Integrative Biology. After using this guide, students in Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior will be able to locate resources that are needed for their field of study.

Databases

PubMed

Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.


Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.


Web of Science (All Databases Search)

Easily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.


AmphibiaWeb

Information on amphibian history, conservation, and taxonomy.


Amphibian Species of the World

Search amphibian taxonomies. From the American Museum of Natural History. 


Animal Info

Information on rare and endangered animals, searchable by species.


Cornell Lab of Ornithology - All About Birds

Provides tools for identifying and searching different species of birds.


International Barcode of Life (IBOL)

Offers access to worldwide collections of DNA barcoding. 


Fishbase

FishBase is a global biodiversity information system on finfishes.


HerpNet

Search database for guides on the care and protection of snakes and amphibians.


Red List from the World Conservation Union (IUCN)

Information on threatened species.

About Databases

Databases are large, regularly updated files of articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications related to a specific subject or field. The databases listed to the left are related to evolution, ecology, behavior, and related fields.

Some database coverage overlaps (i.e., some databases collect the same articles from the same journals), but you will find different results by searching in different databases. To be comprehensive in your research, it's a good idea to search more than one database.