Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Microbiology Department: Databases

A guide for those in the School of Molecular and Cellular Biology. After using this guide, students in Microbiology will be able to locate resources that are needed for their field of study.

Best Databases for Research

PubMed

Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.


Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.


Web of Science (All Databases Search)

Easily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Related Databases

EcoCyc 

EcoCyc is a scientific database for the bacterium Escherichia coli K-12 MG1655. The EcoCyc project performs literature-based curation of its genome, and of transcriptional regulation, transporters, and metabolic pathways. 


EcoSal

EcoSal is a comprehensive, coherent archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell. Comprised of several hundred modules of information and interpretation with links to cognate sites containing extensive tabular and pictorial presentations, as well as to active databases of primary research information. Access link is through the library catalog.


EMBL European Bioinformatics Institute

Offers access to SRS, EMBL, TrEMBL, SWISS-PROT, RHdb, and MSD databases.


Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)

An international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth. 


Human Microbiome Project

From the National Institutes for Health (NIH) through The Common Fund. The Human Microbiome Project aims to develop tools and datasets for the research community for studying the role of these microbes in human health and disease.


Institute Pasteur

Access to biological databases and publications.


International Barcode of Life (IBOL)

An international initiative devoted to developing DNA barcoding as a global standard for the identification of biological species.


International Institute for Species Exploration

From the State University of New York (SUNY)'s College of Environmental Science and Forestry. Its mission is to inspire, encourage and enable the advancement of taxonomy and exploration of earth's species.


National Center for Biotechnology Information

From the National Library of Medicine. Includes access to GeneBank, Entrez, Cancer Genome Database, Human Genome Database, etc.


Saccharomyces Genome Database Project (SGC)

Provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms.  

About Databases

Databases are large, regularly updated files of articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications related to a specific subject or field. The databases listed to the left are related to microbiology, science, and related fields.

Some database coverage overlaps (i.e., some databases collect the same articles from the same journals), but you will find different results by searching in different databases. To be comprehensive in your research, it's a good idea to search more than one database.