Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Epigraphy, Papyrology, Numismatics: Epigraphy

Online Resources

The American Society of Greek and Latin Epigraphy

A non-profit organization whose purpose is to further research in, and the teaching of, Greek and Latin epigraphy in North America.

Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies of the Ohio State University

The only comprehensive research facility for the study of Greek and Latin inscriptions and manuscripts in the United States. Its purpose is to foster the study of inscriptions and manuscripts and promote research opportunities for those interested in these primary sources of information for the ancient and mediaeval world.

Center for the Study of Ancient Documents

Established in 1995 at Oxford University and remains one of the world’s foremost centres for the study of the documentary evidence for the ancient world.

Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)

A comprehensive collection of ancient Latin inscriptions based out of Berlin.

Current Epigraphy Blog

Current Epigraphy reports news and events in (especially Greek and Latin) epigraphy. It publishes workshop and conference announcements, notices of discoveries, publications and reviews, project reports, descriptive links to digital epigraphic projects, and occasional pre-publication previews of new epigraphic material and other short articles.

EAGLE: Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin Epigraphy

An international federation of epigraphic databases, including the Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg (EDH), the Epigraphic Database Roma (EDR), the Epigraphic Database Bari (EDB) and Hispania Epigraphica (HE).

EpiDoc

EpiDoc is an international, collaborative effort that provides guidelines and tools for encoding scholarly and educational editions of ancient documents.

Epigraphik-Datenbank Clauss-Slaby

A searchable resource providing texts and bibliographic citations for Latin inscriptions.

Inscriptiones Graecae (IG)

An academic project operating out of the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften. Its aim is to collect and publish all known ancient inscriptions from the mainland and islands of Greece.

Packard Humanities Institute Searchable Greek Inscriptions

One of the Packard Humanities Institute's oldest projects is a comprehensive database of all ancient Greek inscriptions, which is extraordinarily useful to expert epigraphers.

Roman Inscriptions of Britain

This website hosts Volume 1 of The Roman Inscriptions of Britain, R.G. Collingwood's and R.P. Wright's magisterial edition of 2,401 monumental inscriptions from Britain found prior to 1955. It also incorporates all Addenda and Corrigenda published in the 1995 reprint of RIB (edited by R.S.O. Tomlin) and the annual survey of inscriptions published in Britannia since.

Saxa Loquuntur

Produced by the Dutch scholar, Onno van Nijf, this website brings together an extensive array of online resources related to the study of epigraphy, including bibliographies, concordances, prosopography, and information on various corpora, images, and squeezes. 

Ubi Erat Lupa

A non-commercial project with content on prehistoric stone monuments to around the time of Justinian.

U.S. Epigraphy Project

The goal of the U.S. Epigraphy Project (USEP) is to collect and share information about ancient Greek and Latin inscriptions preserved in the United States of America. The Project currently provides access to a database of some 750 Greek and 1,700 Latin inscriptions, as well as texts in languages other than Greek and Latin (mainly Etruscan) from within the territory of the Roman empire and nearly 300 paper squeezes of Greek inscriptions from (mostly) Attica and the Greek cities of Asia Minor.

Print Resources

Each entry links to the University of Illinois Library catalog, which provides more information about call numbers, location, and status.

Epigrafia latina

Epigraphic evidence: Ancient history from inscriptions

Guide de l’épigraphiste: Bibliographie choisie des épigraphies antiques et médiévales

Inschriften griechischer Städte aus Kleinasien

Inscriptions of Roman Britain

The print series includes additional volumes that do not appear in the online database.

Latin epigraphy: An introduction to the study of Latin inscriptions

The study of Greek inscriptions

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG)

The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae