Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Epigraphy, Papyrology, Numismatics: General Reference

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Brill's New Pauly

Relevant entries would include:

 

Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th ed.

Relevant entries would include:

 

Lists of Abbreviations

Guide de l'épigraphiste: bibliographie choisie des épigraphies antiques et médiévales

Guide for epigraphers studying ancient and medieval epigraphy.

Packard Humanities Institute Searchable Greek Inscriptions

The Packard Humanities Institute's open-access database, Searchable Greek Inscriptions, includes a bibliography of corpora, major collections, and other publications, arranged by their standard abbreviations in alphabetical order.

Library Subject Headings

Bibliographies

Guide de l'épigraphiste

The Guide de l'épigraphiste is an extraordinarily comprehensive bibliography of Latin and Greek epigraphy from the ancient and medieval periods, including lists of handbooks and general treatments, catalogs and source books, major corpora, and thematic collections. The fourth edition, published in 2010, is the most current one. This entry links directly to the University of Illinois Library catalog record, showing the physical location of the different editions.   

 

Oxford Bibliographies in Classics

Relevant entries include: