Although forced migration is not new in human history it has become, in our time, one of the world's major problems. In the last few decades, armed conflict and political unrest have created vast numbers of asylum seekers, refugees and displaced persons. This has led, in turn to increasing involvement of professional care workers and agencies, both governmental and nongovernmental. While there is no doubt on the part of helping parties that care is necessary, there is considerable debate about the kind of care that is needed. This book presents a critical review of mental health care provisions for people who have had to leave their homeland, and explores the controversies surrounding this topic. Providing fresh perspectives on an age old problem, this book covers humanitarian aid and reconstruction programs as well as service provision in host countries. It is of interest to all those who provide health services, create policy, and initiate legislation for these populations.

This collection of international perspectives provides insights on the issue of immigration. Readers will evaluate immigration in relation to citizenship, economics, national identity, and national security. Readers evaluate citizenship in such places as India, Sweden, Russia, and Germany. They will evaluate immigration and economics in Ireland, China, Japan, and the United Kingdom. Further analysis takes them to Zimbabwe, Canada, Hungary, Morocco, and Spain.

Immigration is a comprehensive and practical guide to the history, economics, and contributions of immigrants, written by a former key policymaker who is now a leading researcher in the field.

What is the relationship between education and those seeking asylum or refuge? What is the impact of education being marginalized during conflict situations? Drawing on international research in numerous countries, including Thailand, North Korea, Lebenon, Africa, the USA and the UK, the contributors consider, conceptually and empirically, the provision of education to refugees and asylum seekers in their homeland or in host countries, analyzing the internal and external factors affecting educational provision during and after emergencies. Each chapter contains a summary of the key points and issues within the chapter to enable easy navigation, key contemporary questions to encourage you to actively engage with the material and an annotated list of suggested further reading to support you to take your exploration further. A companion website supports the text and provides updates and additional resources.

Utilizing international perspectives, this unprecedented collection of essays from leading authorities on refugee studies spotlights the realities and challenges of the global refugee population. * Contributions from 60 leading authorities on refugee studies * Bibliography features comprehensive international and interdisciplinary sources focusing on human migration and refugee studies

For many Americans, participation in community organizations lays the groundwork for future political engagement. But how does this traditional model of civic life relate to the experiences of today's immigrants? Do community organizations help immigrants gain political influence in their neighborhoods and cities? In Civic Hopes and Political Realities, experts from a wide range of disciplines explore the way civic groups across the country and around the world are shaping immigrants' quest for political effectiveness. Civic Hopes and Political Realities shows that while immigrant organizations play an important role in the lives of members, their impact is often compromised by political marginalization and a severe lack of resources.  S. Karthick Ramakrishnan and Irene Bloemraad examine community organizations in six cities in California and find that even in areas with high rates of immigrant organizing, policymakers remain unaware of local ethnic organizations. Looking at new immigrant destinations, Kristi Andersen finds that community organizations often serve as the primary vehicle for political incorporation--a role once played by the major political parties. Floris Vermeulen and Maria Berger show how policies in two European cities lead to very different outcomes for ethnic organizations. Amsterdam's more welcoming multicultural policies help immigrant community groups attain a level of political clout that similar organizations in Berlin lack. Janelle Wong, Kathy Rim, and Haven Perez report on a study of Latino and Asian American evangelical churches. While the church shapes members' political views on issues such as abortion and same-sex marriage, church members may also question the evangelical movement's position on such issues as civil rights and immigration. Els de Graauw finds that many non-profit organizations without explicitly political agendas nonetheless play a crucial role in advancing the political interests of their immigrant members. Recent cuts in funding for such organizations, she argues, block not only the provision of key social services, but also an important avenue for political voice. Looking at community organizing in a suburban community, Sofya Aptekar finds that even when immigrant organizations have considerable resources and highly educated members, they tend to be excluded from town politics. Some observers worry that America's increasing diversity is detrimental to civic life and political engagement. Civic Hopes and Political Realities boldly advances an alternative understanding of the ways in which immigrants are enriching America's civic and political realms--even in the face of often challenging circumstances.

This encyclopedia is a unique collection of entries covering the arrival, adaptation, and integration of immigrants into American culture from the 1500s to 2010. * Recent immigration and naturalization data from the 2010 U.S. Census * Excerpts from American laws and customs * A chronology of migration to the United States between 1500 to 2010

Global Heartland is the account of diverse, dispossessed, and displaced people brought together in a former sundown town in Illinois. Recruited to work in the local meat-processing plant, African Americans, Mexicans, and West Africans re-create the town in unexpected ways. Drawing on ethnographic research conducted in the US, Mexico, and Togo, Faranak Miraftab shows how this workforce is produced for the global labor market; how the displaced workers' transnational lives help them stay in these jobs; and how they negotiate their relationships with each other across the lines of ethnicity, race, language, and nationality as they make a new home. Beardstown is not an exception but an example of local-global connections that make for local development. Focusing on a locality in a non-metropolitan region, this work contributes to urban scholarship on globalization by offering a fresh perspective on politics and materialities of placemaking. Winner: Davidoff Book Award, Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) Winner: Global & Transnational Sociology section Book Award, American Sociological Association (ASA) Finalist: C. Wright Mills Book Award, Society for Study of Social Problems (SSSP)