Library Easy Search
Library Easy Search is a good place to search for known items but not for beginning a research project as it does not search ALL Library databases. A better option is to search in subject-specific databases lists on Library guides.
Databases for European Studies
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- Art and Architecture Archive I & II This link opens in a new window
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- IBZ Online - International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- FIAF International Film Archive Database This link opens in a new window
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
For more databases, go to Databases A-Z
Quick Links for Finding Articles
Finding Articles
Step One: Finding your database
You have a research topic and now you need a relevant database to search. To do this just turn to one of the side boxes for lists of relevant databases. Remember - if one database isn't giving you the results you want, feel free to switch to another database.
Step Two: Finding online articles
There are three ways to find online articles:
- Directly through a database, which will provide a link to online articles through the Library's Discover Full Text (Note: it's in a blue box).
- Through the Library's Journal and Article Locator
- You can also search for journals (but not articles) via the Primo Library Catalog's Journal Search.
What if my article is not available online in full-text?
Step Three: Finding print articles
Not everything is available in electronic format. During the Covid-19 pandemic the Library will be providing scans of print articles in its collections. You can request scans via Document Delivery.
What if the library doesn't have an article?
Step Four: Interlibrary Loan
If your article is not available in full-text online and it is not available in print, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. Make sure to choose "Request a photocopy" and fill out the entire form, including the source of the citation. This process typically takes 7-10 days, so plan ahead! Interlibrary Loan will most likely deliver your article as a .pdf file to your email address.
Key Dabases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Use MLA International Bibliography in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
- Bibliografía de la Literatura Española This link opens in a new windowBibliografía de la Literatura Española is a comprehensive bibliography of all documentation related to Literature in Spanish published in any language. It covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material.
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowThis database contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works. These include rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. It also includes book reviews and criticism related to this content.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Part of Gale Literature Criticism Online. LCO covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Database subscriptions may include any or all of the following titles, based on subscriber preferences: Contemporary literary criticism; Twentieth-Century literary criticism; Nineteenth-Century literature criticism; Literature criticism from 1400-1800; Shakespearean criticism; Classical and medieval literature criticism; Poetry criticism; Short story criticism; Drama criticism; and Children's literature review.
Latin American and Caribbean Databases
Key Databases
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowContains citations to articles in more than 400 scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesIdentifies articles, books and conference papers on the social sciences and humanities in Latin America
- Latin american Periodicals Tables of ContentsThe Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents database, or LAPTOC, provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of more than 800 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 250,000 articles in the area's major languages. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication. The user can save citations, create bibliographies, and e-mail or download results of searches.
- Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProQuest Latin American Newsstream provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 37 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. Key newspaper titles include El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nación (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Econômico (Brazil), and Portafolio (Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
Other Databases
- AmericasBarometer by the Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new windowThe AmericasBarometer is the only survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. It is an effort by LAPOP to measure democratic values and behaviors in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults.
- Bibliografía de la Literatura Española This link opens in a new windowBibliografía de la Literatura Española is a comprehensive bibliography of all documentation related to Literature in Spanish published in any language. It covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowChicano Database includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology. Use Chicano Database in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a My OBO function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.