Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Translation Studies: Terminology

Resources for Translators

Scholarly Commons

The Scholarly Commons is currently permitting limited on-site scanning. Please contact them to make an appointment. They can also advice on OCR software.

Currently there are two types of OCR software that can be freely downloaded:

Adobe Acrobat Pro, now free at the university webstore https://webstore.illinois.edu/shop/product.aspx?zpid=4079

Tesseract is an open source command-line interface, which might not be easy for everyone. Here is a guide: https://guides.library.illinois.edu/c.php?g=347520&p=4121425

Linguistic Corpora

Specialized Dictionaries

The UIUC Library owns a number of bilingual and multilingual subject dictionaries, such as for technology, law and engineering. They can be found in the Main Stacks and departmental libraries. Finding them in UIUC Library catalog poses some problems, as there is no single subject heading for them. To find them, search the Primo Library Catalog using relative key words. You might try searching with the following formula: subject--dictionary--target language. For instance, Hydraulic engineering - Dictionaries - French.

Online Term Banks

IATE: InterActive Terminology for Europe is the European Union's multilingual term database; offers searches in 24 European languages and a variety of domains, such as agriculture, economics, and geography.

EUROTERMBANK: "The EuroTermBank project focuses on harmonisation and consolidation of terminology work in new EU member states, transferring experience from other European Union terminology networks and accumulating competencies and efforts of the accessed countries. The project will result in a centralized online terminology bank for languages of new EU member countries interlinked to other terminology banks and resources." EuroTermBank focuses on Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland, but include other EU countries and languages as well.

EUROVOC: multilingual thesaurus provided by the European Union, representing official European Union language.

EUROPEAN COMMISSION - Translation and Drafting Resources: compilation of links to official sites, online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries, term banks and glossaries, for 23 languages of the European Union.

WTO Linguistic Resources: WTO trilingual terminology database, translation resources and a compilation of links to many other official mutlilingual terminology resources. English, French, and Spanish.

UNITERM: multilingual terminology database with provides United Nations nomenclature, technical or specialized terms and common phrases in the six official UN languages.

Food and Agricultural Organization Term Portal: access to the UN-FAO FAOTERM database (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Italian) as well as other FAO and non-FAO language resources (other terminology resources, dictionaries, etc.)

Glossary on Trade Financing Terms (ITC)

MINÉFITERM - The terminology database of the Translation Centre at the Ministry for the Economy, Industry and Employment and the Ministry for the Budget, Public Accounts and the Civil Service (France) in English, French and German

SICE - Multilingual dictionaries of trade terms compiled by the Organization of American State's Foreign Trade Information System (SICE)

TERMITE - ITU Telecommunication Terminology Database

TOURISTERM - The terminology database of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), in Arabic, English, French, Russian and Spanish

TERMIUM: Terminology database of the Canadian government. One of the largest terminology and linguistic data banks in the world, gives you access to millions of terms in English, French, Spanish and Portuguese. You can find terms, abbreviations, definitions and usage examples in a wide range of specialized fields.

WIPO Pearl: Multilingual terminology database of the World Intellectual Property Organization. WIPO Pearl gives access to scientific and technical terms derived from patent documents. It helps promote accurate and consistent use of terms across different languages, and makes it easier to search and share scientific and technical knowledge.

FAO Term Portal: Multilingual terminology database of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Arabic, English, Spanish, French, Russian and Chinese, including some Italian and also Scientific Names for plants and aquatic species.

ILO Term: Multilingual terminology database of the International Labour Organization. Use “guest” userid and no password.

WTOTERM: Terminology database of the World Trade Organization, in English, Spanish, and French.

LinguaFin: Multilingual terminology database for financial terminology.

EcoLexicon: Multilingual terminology database for environmental terms in English, Spanish, German, French, Russian, and Greek.

TermSciences: Multidisciplinary terminology search portal in English, French, Spanish and German.

For more, go to http://telework.wto.org/linguistics/telework.htm or http://ec.europa.eu/translation/index_en.htm

See also the section on Dictionaries

Law and Law Enforcement