The Ante-Nicene Fathers ranges from the Apostolic Fathers to various third and fourth century sources including the liturgies and ancient Syriac documents. It was intended to comprise translations into English of all the extant works of the Fathers (with the exception of the more bulky works of Origen) down to the date of the first General Council held at Nicaea in 325 A.D. This American edition by Arthur Cleveland Coxe is a revision of the original series edited by Alexander Roberts and Sir James Donaldson and published in Edinburgh.

Published under the auspices of the Association Guillaume Budé (its aim being to defend and promote classical culture and intellectual life in general), the Collection des Universités de France, also known as the Budé Collection, encompasses in its purview all Greek and Latin texts down to the middle of the sixth century CE. Each edition includes a French translation, an introduction, notes, and a critical apparatus.

Galen's works represent one of the most impressive monuments of Classical medicine. They dominated medical theory, teaching and practice in the medieval European and Islamic worlds and remained a key source of medical wisdom down to the twentieth century. Cambridge Galen Translations provides a coordinated series of scholarly English translations of works of Galen in a unified format with substantial introduction and annotation, glossaries and indices. Editors and translators are drawn from the world's leading scholars of Galen and of ancient medicine. The series is intended both to contribute to international Galenic scholarship and to make Galen's work more easily accessible for a wider, non-specialist readership including historians and philosophers of science and readers with a medical background.

Translated from the original Greek, this series aims to bring students of Classical Civilisation and Drama courses as close as possible to the playwrights' original words and intentions. Each volume includes a full synopsis of the play, detailed commentary running alongside the translation for easy reference, background information setting the play in context, notes on pronunciation and suggestions for discussion and analysis.

The aim of the Clarendon Ancient History series is to provide authoritative translations, introductions, and commentaries to a wide range of Greek and Latin texts studied by ancient historians. The books will be of interest to scholars, graduate students, and advanced undergraduates.

Accessible to readers who do not read Greek and who are new to Aristotle. Scholarly and incisive enough to appeal to professional philosophers and classicists.

The mission of this longstanding project is to produce critical editions of texts by Christian authors from Late Antiquity till the end of the Middle Ages, with the expectation that they will serve as reference-works of first resort for scholars worldwide. The Series Latina (CCSL) comprises critical editions of all the Latin texts from the first eight centuries of the Christian era. The Continuatio Mediaevalis (CCCM) assembles Christian texts from the Carolingian era to the end of the Middle Ages. The Series Graeca (CCSG) aims to replace Jacques-Paul Migne’s Patrologia Graeca, which no longer fulfils the requirements of modern scholarship. Librarian's note: the entirety of the Series Latina and Continuatio Mediaevalis have been incorporated into Brepols' Library of Latin Texts.

Launched in 2002, the Dallas Medieval Texts and Translations series is engaged in an ambitious long-term project: to build a library of medieval Latin texts, with English translations, from the period roughly between 500 and 1500, which will represent the whole breadth and variety of medieval civilization. Thus, the series is open to all subjects and genres, ranging from poetry and history through philosophy, theology, and rhetoric to treatises on natural science. It will include, as well, medieval Latin versions of Arabic and Hebrew works. Placing these texts side by side, rather than dividing them in terms of the boundaries of contemporary academic disciplines, will, it is hoped, contribute to a better understanding of the complex coherence and interrelatedness of the many facets of medieval written culture.

The Dumbarton Oaks Medieval Library is a groundbreaking new facing-page translation series designed to make written achievements of medieval and Byzantine culture available to both scholars and general readers in the English-speaking world. It will offer the classics of the medieval canon as well as lesser-known gems of literary and cultural value to a global audience through accessible modern translations based on the latest research by leading scholars in the field. In order to do justice to the scope of the medieval world, the series commences with a focus on three languages—Byzantine Greek, Medieval Latin, and Old English—and will incorporate additional vernacular languages in the future.

Based on the conviction that only translators who write poetry themselves can properly recreate the celebrated and timeless tragedies of Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides, The Greek Tragedies in New Translations series offers new translations that go beyond the literal meaning of the Greek in order to evoke the poetry of the originals. Under the general editorship of the late William Arrowsmith and Herbert Golder, each volume includes a critical introduction, commentary on the text, full stage directions, and a glossary of the mythical and geographical references in the plays.

The I Tatti Renaissance Library is the only series that makes available to a broad readership the major literary, historical, philosophical, and scientific works of the Italian Renaissance written in Latin. Each volume provides a reliable Latin text together with an accurate, readable English translation on facing pages, accompanied by an editor’s introduction, notes on the text, brief bibliography, and index. Presenting current scholarship in an attractive and convenient format, The I Tatti Renaissance Library aims to make this essential literature accessible to students and scholars in a wide variety of disciplines as well as to general readers.

Brill's New Jacoby is a fully-revised and enlarged edition of Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker, providing new texts of the ancient historians in many instances as well as several new historians and many new fragments of existing historians that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. Especially important is that for the first time ever commentaries are provided on the final 248 historians in FGrH, which Jacoby was unable to prepare before his death. In addition, and also for the first time, Brill's New Jacoby presents facing English translations of all the testimonia and fragments, new, critical commentaries on all the testimony and fragments, and a brief entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.

The Loeb Classical Library is the only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. The entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies. Librarian's note: unlocked icon links to scanned volumes available through Internet Archive. Locked icon links to Loeb Classical Library Online.

Series I of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers consists of eight volumes of the writings of Augustine and six volumes of the treatises and homilies of John Chrysostom. The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers: Second Series contains in fourteen volumes the works of the Greek Fathers from Eusebius to John of Damascus and the Latin Fathers from Hilary to Gregory the Great. Several of the writings appear for the first time in English. The series concludes with the canons and decrees of the seven ecumenical councils, as well as canons of local synod with ecumenical acceptance.

The series provides reliable working texts of important early Christian writers in both Greek and Latin. Each volume contains an introduction, text, and select critical apparatus, with English translations en face, and brief explanatory references.

Oxford Medieval Texts provide scholarly editions of important Latin texts pertinent to the cultural history of medieval Europe. In addition to critical texts, the editions include apparatus, full historical commentary, and precise, facing-page English translations.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world, providing readers with a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Librarian's note: catalog entry is only for Penguin translations located in the Classics Collection, in Main Library 225. Across the University Library system are myriad Penguin translations of Latin and Greek authors from the ancient and medieval eras. Click on "find" to be taken to a full listing of the 700+ Penguin volumes in the University Library.

This monumental, internationally-renowned series presents early Christian texts by the Greek, Latin, and Oriental Fathers of the Church in their original language with a facing-page French translation and a critical apparatus. Each work is published in its entirety, in accord with the latest standards of scholarship, together with all the elements (introduction, notes, indices, etc.) that aid the reading and comprehension of the text.

This series will take up from 800 AD, where Translated Texts for Historians leaves off, and will follow a similar format. The volumes will normally include English translation with Introduction and Commentary. The intention of the series is to broaden access to Byzantine texts, enabling students, non-specialists and scholars working in related disciplines to access material otherwise unavailable to them. The series will, in time, include a wide range of texts, including historical, theological and literary works.

300–800 AD is the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages: the transformation of the classical world, the beginnings of Europe and of Islam, and the evolution of Byzantium. TTH makes available sources translated from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian and Armenian. Each volume provides an expert scholarly translation, with an introduction setting texts and authors in context, and with notes on content, interpretation and debates.