Armies of the Ancient World is a new series focusing on the most important and best-attested armies of ancient Europe, North Africa and the Near East. Individual volumes provide invaluable and up-to-date coverage of all aspects of each army and the kinds of warfare in which it engaged, being particularly strong on the technical aspects of military organisation, training, equipment and logistics which are sometimes passed over in the more general academic works.

A series of monographs on all aspects of classical learning: literature, philosophy, history and archaeology. Most of the books arise from work done at Cambridge University.

This series will serve as an introduction to key aspects of Roman social and cultural life. It is designed as an introductory level program, and assumes no prior knowledge on the ancient world on the part of the reader. Volumes will be fully illustrated, with many color plates, and will include a glossary of key terms as well as a select bibliography.

Cambridge Studies in Classical Art and Iconography is a program of scholarly monographs that best represent the rapid and profound changes in the scholarship of one of the oldest and most respected disciplines in the humanities. A major goal of this series is to understand ancient art not merely as aesthetic objects, but as part of an intrinsic visual language of a distant culture. Books in this series are devoted to studies of a single artist, stylistic issues, or iconography of a particular theme in a specific period. Interpretive in the broadest sense, these works will also provide a link between art history and other related fields in the study of classical antiquity, including history, philosophy, and religion.

Plato's dialogues are rich mixtures of subtle argument, sublime theorizing and superb literature. It is tempting to read them piecemeal - by analyzing the arguments, by espousing or rejecting the theories or by praising Plato's literary expertise. It is equally tempting to search for Platonic views across dialogues, selecting passages from throughout the Platonic corpus. But Plato offers us the dialogues to read whole and one by one. This series provides original studies in individual dialogues of Plato. Each study will aim to throw light on such questions as why its chosen dialogue is composed in the complex way that it is, and what makes this unified whole more than the sum of its parts. In so doing, each volume will both give a full account of its dialogue and offer a view of Plato's philosophizing from that perspective.

Classical Culture and Society is a new series from Oxford that emphasizes innovative, imaginative scholarship by leading writers in the field of ancient culture. Among the topics covered are the historical and cultural background of Greek and Roman literary texts; the production and reception of cultural artifacts; the economic basis of culture; the history of ideas, values, and concepts; and the relationship between politics and/or social practice and ancient forms of symbolic expression (religion, art, language, and ritual, among others). Interdisciplinary approaches and original, broad-ranging research form the backbone of this series, which will serve classicists as well as appeal to scholars and educated readers in related fields.

Attempts to receive the texts, images, and material culture of ancient Greece and Rome inevitably run the risk of appropriating the past in order to authenticate the present. Exploring the ways in which the classical past has been mapped over the centuries allows us to trace the avowal and disavowal of values and identities, old and new. Classical Presences brings the latest scholarship to bear on the contexts, theory, and practice of such use, and abuse, of the classical past.

Classics After Antiquity examines the twofold nature of the relationship between classics and "classical" antiquity. In one sense, classics "after" antiquity assumes a temporal relationship of tradition and descent, in which the literatures, histories, and cultures of the ancient Greek and Roman Mediterranean have been taken up by individuals, groups, and institutions from the medieval world to the present. But the preposition "after" also suggests problems of succession, as subsequent ages have appropriated and imagined ancient Greece and Rome in their own image and have struggled to reinvent the classical past, caught between those who rushed to embrace this past and those who disowned it altogether. The scope of the series also includes works that explore the valence of Greek and Roman institutions and discourses for historical debates that continue to resonate in the present, to say nothing of the intellectual and cultural challenge that rival antiquities pose to the very idea of the "classical" in an era of globalization.

This long running and established book series publishes scholarly discussions of literary, historical and cultural issues from European classical antiquity and studies of classical ideas in medieval and Renaissance Europe.

The series Cornell Studies in Classical Philology, founded in 1887, is published jointly by the Cornell University Department of Classics and Cornell University Press. It includes monographs on a wide range of subjects within the field (traditionally by authors with some association, past or present, with the University) and published versions of the Townsend Lectures presented at Cornell. Manuscripts submitted are evaluated both by the Classics Department faculty and referees for Cornell University Press.

Founded in 1961, this series encompasses over 100 volumes, featuring studies of Egyptian and Oriental cults in the Roman Empire and their contact with Greek and Roman religion. The series continues under the title Religions of the Graeco-Roman World, also published by Brill.

Greek Culture in the Roman World offers a rich field for study. Extraordinary insights can be gained into processes of multicultural contact and exchange, political and ideological conflict, and the creativity of a polyglot, changing empire. This was also a period when many fundamental elements of Western society were being set in place: from the rise of Christianity, to an influential system of education, to long-lived artistic canons. This series is the first to focus on the response of Greek culture to its Roman imperial setting as a significant phenomenon in its own right. To that end, it will publish original and innovative research in the art, archaeology, epigraphy, history, philosophy, religion and literature of the Empire, with an emphasis on Greek material.

This series contains monographs on individual topics from Archaeology, with an emphasis on the Greek and Roman periods.

Key Themes In Ancient History aims to provide readable, informed and original studies of various basic topics, designed in the first instance for students and teachers of Classics and Ancient History, but also for those engaged in related disciplines. Each volume is devoted to a general theme in Greek, Roman, or where appropriate, Graeco-Roman history, or to some salient aspect or aspects of it. Besides indicating the state of current research in the relevant area, authors seek to show how the theme is significant for our own as well as ancient culture and society. By providing books for courses that are oriented around themes, it is hoped to encourage and stimulate promising new developments in teaching and research in ancient history.

Each book in this new series offers a concise and accessible treatment by a single author of a topic of major philosophical importance in the ancient Greek and Roman world. The emphasis is on a discussion of those debates of real philosophical interest, placed within their historical context. Future volumes will consider topics such as virtue, knowledge, psychology, cosmology, society, love and friendship, cause and explanation, and persuasion and argument. The books are designed for use in a teaching context, where they will bridge a gap between general introductions to individual philosophers or periods and specialist monographs. They will also appeal to anyone interested in the enduring influence and significance of ancient philosophy.

The Martin Classical Lectures are delivered annually at Oberlin College through a foundation established by his many friends in honor of Charles Beebe Martin, for forty-five years a teacher of classical literature and classical art at Oberlin.

A series of monograph studies produced by the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) as a supplement to its long-standing Römische Abteilung. Consists of thirty-four volumes published between 1931 and 1999.

Mnemosyne Supplements has existed as a book series for about sixty years, providing a forum for the publication of now almost 400 scholarly works on all aspects of the Ancient World, including inscriptions, papyri, language, the history of material culture and mentality, the history of peoples and institutions, but also latterly the classical tradition, for example, neo-Latin literature and the history of Classical scholarship. Works published include monographs, critical text editions, commentaries, critical bibliographies and collections of essays by various authors on closely defined themes. A number of volumes of the Mnemosyne Supplements series are published within the subseries History and Archaeology of Classical Antiquity and Late Antique Literature.

Volumes in this peer-reviewed series treat subjects concerning the material and visual culture of the Greek and
Roman world from later prehistory to Late Antiquity (that is from the middle of the 2nd millennium BCE to the third quarter of the 1st millennium CE). Geographically the area covered ranges from Western Europe to the Near East, from the Black Sea to Northern Africa. Monumenta Graeca et Romana will continue to house monographs on the type of thematic subjects in the area of the history of ancient art already produced in the series; henceforth it will also contain volumes which constitute full, analytical catalogues raisonés of similar classes of material in the collections of museums and other public institutions.

This papyrus studies series, founded in 1915 by Leopold Wenger, contributes to scholarship on the law, politics, economy and administration of ancient civilizations, notably the Ptolemaic and Hellenistic periods.

The New Surveys in the Classics are a series of short books dedicated to key themes and concepts in the classical world. They deal with a wide range of topics, from key figures like Homer and Virgil, to subjects such as Greek tragedy, thought and science, women, slavery, Roman religion, and satire.

Oxford Approaches to Classical Literature introduces individual works of Greek and Latin literature to readers who are approaching them for the first time. Each volume sets the work in its literary and historical context and aims to offer a balanced and engaging assessment of its content, artistry, and purpose. A brief survey of the influence of the work upon subsequent generations is included to demonstrate its enduring relevance and power. All quotations from the original are translated into English.

Oxford Aristotle Studies is a series of outstanding research monographs on the philosophy of Aristotle.

Replaced by Oxford Classical Monographs (OCM).

Replaces the Oxford Classical and Philosophical Monographs (OCPM) series.

The series includes scholarly volumes on the thought and history of the early Christian centuries. Covering a wide range of Greek, Latin, and Oriental sources, the books are of interest to theologians, ancient historians, and specialists in the classical and Jewish worlds.

This innovative new series offers unique perspectives on the political, cultural, social, and economic history of the ancient world. Exploiting the latest technological advances in imaging, decipherment, and interpretation, the volumes cover a wide range of documentary sources, including inscriptions, papyri, and wooden tablets.

Oxford Studies in Byzantium consists of scholarly monographs and editions on the history, thought, and material cultures of the Byzantine world.

This series publishes substantial scholarly works of feminist literary research, which offer a gender-sensitive perspective across the whole range of Classical literature. The field is delimited chronologically by Homer and Augustine, and culturally by the Greek and Latin languages. Within these parameters, the series welcomes studies of any genre. This series publishes substantial scholarly works of feminist literary research, which offer a gender-sensitive perspective across the whole range of Classical literature. The field is delimited chronologically by Homer and Augustine, and culturally by the Greek and Latin languages.

This innovative monograph series reflects a vigorous revival of interest in the ancient economy, focusing on the Mediterranean world under Roman rule (c.100 BC to AD 350). Carefully quantified archaeological and documentary data will be integrated to help ancient historians, economic historians, and archaeologists think about economic behaviour collectively rather than from separate perspectives. The volumes will include a substantial comparative element and thus be of interest to historians of other periods and places.

In the Religion der römischen Provinzen (The Religion of the Roman Provinces) series, an attempt is made to describe the religious history of the Mediterranean during the period of its integration by the Roman Empire. A chronological and spatial matrix for this is based on the establishment of the provinces (from the 3rd century BC on) and their subdivision into new imperial provinces in late antiquity. The volumes focus on the new developments, on the importation of new religious signs and media from the religious centers, in particular, but not only from Rome, on the Romanization of existing traditions, on the development of new religious forms, which often involved the creation of new provincial societies. All the studies deal with regional developments and their connection to supra-regional developments, their involvement in the economic and administrative structures, their mobility and the diversity of cultural exchanges in the Roman Empire. Although the volumes differ in their tables of contents, their selection of sources as well as the epochs, they do try to achieve a certain conceptual and methodological uniformity and to give a comprehensive coverage of their subject by using all these narratives on the individual provinces to sum up the Roman epoch of Mediterranean religious history.

Screening Antiquity is a cutting-edge and provocative series of academic monographs and edited volumes focusing on new research on the reception of the ancient world in film and television. Books in the series showcase the work of the best-established as well as up-and-coming specialists in the field and provides an important synergy of the latest international scholarly ideas about the conception of antiquity in popular culture. Screening Antiquity is the only series that focuses exclusively on screened representations of the ancient world.

Seit 1973 werden in der monographischen Reihe "Sonderschriften des DAI Rom" archäologische und bauhistorische Forschungsprojekte vornehmlich des DAI Rom in einem qualitätvollen Rahmen publiziert. Durch das großzügige Format dient es in erster Linie für die Veröffentlichung von Architektur mit anspruchsvollen Bauaufnahmen.

As an accompaniment to the corpus of the Griechischen Christlichen Schriftsteller (GCS), Adolf von Harnack created the monograph series Texte und Untersuchungen zur Geschichte der altchristlichen Literatur (TU) in 1882, which from that time on served as an "archive for the ... editions of older Christian writers." The series encompasses over 170 volumes.