Home - Research - Native American and Othered Literature - Rodems - LibGuides at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

General Database Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Select Literature from the Subject list to search and browse literature reference sources.
Literature Criticism Online
A digitized collection of ten Gale series solely comprised of literary criticism. These series include the following topics: contemporary literature, 20th century lit., 19th century lit., Shakespeare, lit. from 1400-1800, classical and medieval lit., poetry, short stories, drama, and children's literature.
more...less...
Entries are viewed in a reader embedded in the browser (akin to reading the print version) or can be downloaded as PDF files.

Google Scholar

This service is Google's method of searching the invisible web. To see the full text of many of these sources, you need to be "authenticated" as a legitimate UIUC user. Do so by searching for the source title on the A-Z list of electronic journals and newspapers. Also try the advanced search.

Creating Citations

Noodle Tools

Create citations in APA, MLA or Chicago Style using a step-by-step process.

Photo by http *Colin*6666*

General Journal Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes literary criticism from 1963 to the present.
more...less...
Note that it contains both full-text and non-full-text resources. When you find a promising citation that doesn't have the full text, search for the journal title in the list of UIUC Online Journals and Newspapers. If the title isn't available through another database, click on the link that will take you to a search in the online catalog.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.

Project Muse
Searches full-text in over 150 journals supplied by 10 university presses. Click on the search button to start your search. Muse works well for more recent periodical issues, while JSTOR (see above) reproduces older volumes.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly periodical database offering access to full-text articles.

Native American - Focused Resources

National Museum of the American Indian
This resource has a wealth of information about Native Americans, including a FAQ that can help with general questions.
Virtual Library of Native American Resources
Index of resources available on the Internet.
Ethnic News Watch
Identifies full text access for 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Native American Times
Full-text of the Tulsa, Oklahoma newspaper.
National Congress of American Indians website
The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
UIUC's Program in American Indian Studies
This page includes a broad collection of resources, and has links to resources on media, education, and so forth.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse
This is a general guide to criminal jurisdiction in Indian country.
Indian Law Resource Center
The Indian Law Resource Center is a non-proﬁt law and advocacy organization established and directed by American Indians. We provide legal assistance to Indian and Alaska Native nations who are working to protect their lands, resources, human rights, environment and cultural heritage. Our principal goal is the preservation and well-being of Indian and other Native nations and tribes.
The Minnesota Indian Women's Resource Center
The Minnesota Indian Women’s Resource Center (MIWRC) is a non-profit social and mental health services organization committed to traditional ways of being and support of Native women and their families.

General Research

Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Indexed in the database are articles, editorials, columns, and reviews which address minority news, culture, and history. Published by Proquest, it covers 1990-present.
U.S. Census Bureau - FactFinder
Here you can build a customized search so that you can get the stats of specific neighborhoods, like the Barrio in Chicago.

Subject Guide

University High School Library

Email Me

Books

UIUC Online Catalog - Searches all UIUC libraries.

You can use subject headings to refine your search. So if, for instance, you are looking for specific ethnic and racial history or statistics of the city of Chicago, you can use these headings:

Chicago (Ill.)—Ethnic relations

Chicago (Ill.)—Statistics

Just copy and paste one of the above headings into the search field, and select "Subject" as the category.

If a book is not available at UIUC . . .

I-Share - Searches for items in more than 80 academic libraries in Illinois, including UIUC.
WorldCat - Searches for items in libraries throughout the world.

Other Related Library Guides

Native American Studies Resources
This UIUC library guide acts as a starting point for Native American research. This website is sponsored by the Native American Studies Bibliography Committee of the Library.
Native American History
Library Guide created by the University of Washington as a starting point for Native American research.

Native American and Othered Literature - Rodems: Home - Research