Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Database Resources
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Select Literature from the Subject list to search and browse literature reference sources.
Literature Criticism Online
A digitized collection of ten Gale series solely comprised of literary criticism. These series include the following topics: contemporary literature, 20th century lit., 19th century lit., Shakespeare, lit. from 1400-1800, classical and medieval lit., poetry, short stories, drama, and children's literature.
General Journal Databases
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes literary criticism from 1963 to the present.
Searches full-text for back-file articles and reviews in over 130 multi-disciplinary journals. See Project Muse (below) for more recent articles.
Searches full-text in over 150 journals supplied by 10 university presses. Click on the search button to start your search. Muse works well for more recent periodical issues, while JSTOR (see above) reproduces older volumes.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly periodical database offering access to full-text articles.
Native American Databases
This is the most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference.
A full-text collection of 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Indexed in the database are articles, editorials, columns, and reviews which address minority news, culture, and history. Published by Proquest, it covers 1990-present.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
U.S. Census Bureau - FactFinder
Here you can build a customized search so that you can get the stats of specific neighborhoods, like the Barrio in Chicago.
UIUC Online Catalog - Searches all UIUC libraries.
You can use subject headings to refine your search. So if, for instance, you are looking for specific ethnic and racial history or statistics of the city of Chicago, you can use these headings:
Chicago (Ill.)—Ethnic relations
Just copy and paste one of the above headings into the search field, and select "Subject" as the category.
If a book is not available at UIUC . . .
- I-Share - Searches for items in more than 80 academic libraries in Illinois, including UIUC.
- WorldCat - Searches for items in libraries throughout the world.
Ms. Rodem's blog
Find copies of assignments and other useful course information.
Other Related Library Guides
Native American Studies Resources
This UIUC library guide acts as a starting point for Native American research. This website is sponsored by the Native American Studies Bibliography Committee of the Library.
Native American History
Library Guide created by the University of Washington as a starting point for Native American research.