Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page lists online databases, both those that are open access and available by subscription through the University Library, offering relevant articles and documentation for academic research about Colombia.
Latin American and Caribbean Databases
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
ISource for approximately 300,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Currently provides over 100,000 full text of articles from more than 600 key social science and humanities journals.
Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades (CLASE)
Bibliographic database maintained by the Universidad Nacional Autónmoma de México (UNAM) offering about 350 thousand bibliographic records of articles, essays, book reviews, literature reviews, short notes, editorials, biographies, interviews, statistics and other documents published in about 1500 journals from Latin America and the Caribbean, specializing in social sciences and humanities.
Latin Americanist Research Resources Portal (LARRP)
LARRP provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles in the area's major languages.
Portal de Portales Latindex
A "portal of portals" to index and full text academic journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal designed and maintained by the Universidad Nacional Autónmoma de México.
Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (PRISMA)
Comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI).
Gathers journals from 15 Latin American countries, with over 550 titles and 16,000 articles available in PDF format, along with abstracts in Spanish and English, reference information and other metadata. With the support of la Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, Redalyc offers its material for free to download under a Creative Commons license.
SciELO is a bibliographic database of open access journals and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in developing countries, originally from Brazil.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The DOAJ provides access to over 2,500 scientific and scholarly journals. The DOAJ covers free, full-text, peer-reviewed journals from many disciplines and in many different languages.
Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies
International and Area Studies Library
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies