Web of Science (WoS) allows users to easily search across multiple abstract and citation databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. WoS indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The following diagram explains the Web of Science collections and which databases you can expect to find within each collection. For a deep dive into each Web of Science database, please visit Clarivate Analytics' Web of Science libguide.
Why use Web of Science? Web of Science is uniquely selective in its content, consistent and comprehensive in its indexing, and has an independent and thorough editorial process which ensures journal quality. For an interactive Web of Science learning experience, check out Web of Science for Research, a Savvy Researcher workshop offered twice every semester. View schedule here.
There are several different ways to access Web of Science from the Library website without using this guide. Here are just a few of the paths you can take:
From the Funk ACES Library homepage, under “Funk Library supports research for,” click the “Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES)” link. Under “Frequently Used” in the "Key Databases" box, select “Web of Science.”
From the Library homepage, search for “Web of Science” in the Easy Search bar and click on the direct link at the top of the search results under "Suggestions."
From the Library homepage, click the Databases by Subject & A-Z icon in the middle of the icon grid. Search “Web of Science” in the search bar in the upper right of the page. Click on the link that appears.
Note: When off campus, log in with your UIUC NetID and password. If you are having trouble accessing Scopus or another database, view the Access Databases from On and Off Campus page or Ask a Librarian for help.