Resources from the IFSI Library Catalog
The Fire Outside My Window by Call Number: SD421.32.C2 .Y68 2013ISBN: 9780762791804Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Fire Season by
"Fire Season both evokes and honors the great hermit celebrants of nature, from Dillard to Kerouac to Thoreau--and I loved it." --J.R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar "[Connors's] adventures in radical solitude make for profoundly absorbing, restorative reading." --Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air Phillip Connors is a major new voice in American nonfiction, and his remarkable debut, Fire Season, is destined to become a modern classic. An absorbing chronicle of the days and nights of one of the last fire lookouts in the American West, Fire Season is a marvel of a book, as rugged and soulful as Matthew Crawford's bestselling Shop Class as Soulcraft, and it immediately places Connors in the august company of Edward Abbey, Annie Dillard, Aldo Leopold, Barry Lopez, and others in the respected fraternity of hard-boiled nature writers.
Call Number: SD421.25.C666 A3 2011ISBN: 0061859362Publication Date: 2011-04-05
A Fire Story by
Early morning on Monday, October 9, 2017, wildfires burned through Northern California, resulting in 44 fatalities. In addition, 6,200 homes and 8,900 structures and were destroyed. Author Brian Fies's firsthand account of this tragic event is an honest, unflinching depiction of his personal experiences, including losing his house and every possession he and his wife had that didn't fit into the back of their car. In the days that followed, as the fires continued to burn through the area, Brian hastily pulled together A Fire Story and posted it online--and it immediately went viral. He expanded his original web comic to include environmental insight and the fire stories of his neighbors and others in his community. This paperback version includes 32 new pages that bring the story up-to-date. A Fire Story is a candid testimony of the wildfires that left homes destroyed, families broken, and a community determined to rebuild.
Call Number: SD421.32.C2 .F54 2019ISBN: 9781419735851Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Granite Mountain by Call Number: SD421.25.M33 .A3 2016abISBN: 9781478940050Publication Date: 2016-05-03
Land on Fire by
"This comprehensive book offers a fascinating overview of how those fires are fought, and some conversation-starters for how we might reimagine our relationship with the woods." --Bill McKibben, author of Eaarth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet Wildfire season is burning longer and hotter, affecting more and more people, especially in the west. Land on Fire explores the fascinating science behind this phenomenon and the ongoing research to find a solution. This gripping narrative details how years of fire suppression and chronic drought have combined to make the situation so dire. Award-winning nature writer Gary Ferguson brings to life the extraordinary efforts of those responsible for fighting wildfires, and deftly explains how nature reacts in the aftermath of flames. Dramatic photographs reveal the terror and beauty of fire, as well as the staggering effect it has on the landscape.
Call Number: SD421.32.W47 .F47 2017ISBN: 9781604697001Publication Date: 2017-06-21
Firestorm by
For two months in the spring of 2016, the world watched as wildfire ravaged the Canadian town of Fort McMurray. Firefighters named the fire "the Beast." It acted like a mythical animal, alive with destructive energy, and they hoped never to see anything like it again. Yet it's not a stretch to imagine we will all soon live in a world in which fires like the Beast are commonplace. A glance at international headlines shows a remarkable increase in higher temperatures, stronger winds, and drier lands- a trifecta for igniting wildfires like we've rarely seen before.
Call Number: SD421.34.N67 .S77 2017ISBN: 9781610918183Publication Date: 2017-10-05
Fire in the Heart by
FIRE IN THE HEART is a powerful memoir by a woman, once a shy, insecure schoolgirl, who reinvented herself as a professional wildlands firefighter. Determined to forge herself into a stronger, braver person, Mary devotes herself to fire from the Florida swamp to Alaska's interior.
Call Number: SD421.3 .E44 2017ISBN: 9781628728439Publication Date: 2017-09-05- American perspectives on the wildland/urban interface by Subjects: Wildland fires|Forest fires|Wildland urban interface|Wildland urban interface fires| | -- United StatesCall Number: SD421.3 .A57 2004Publication Date: 2004
Fired up! : the optimal performance guide for wildland firefighters by
"Includes bibliographical references (p. [227]-229) and index.|Contents: Introduction -- Exercise physiology and sport psychology -- Physical training -- Nutrition, hydration, and ergogenic aids -- Injury -- Attitude -- Goal setting -- Teams -- Stress -- Transitions -- Relationships -- Putting it all together."
Call Number: SD421.23 .P173 2007ISBN: 0974407143Publication Date: 2007-01-01- Incident Response Pocket Guide by "The intent of this guide is to provide a wildland fire job aid and training reference for operational personnel from Firefighter Type 2 through Division Supervisor and initial attack/extended attack Incident Commanders. It also has a secondary application for all-hazard incident response"--T.p. verso.Call Number: SD421 .N25 2010Publication Date: January 2010
- Wildland firefighting general knowledge flash cards by These flash cards aid in enforcing the important elements of fire behavior, various strategies, and safety.Call Number: SD 421.32 .T263 2000fcPublication Date: 2000
- Ground Cover Fire Fighting for Structural Firefighters by Synthesizes the information about fighting wildland fires in California and the West and makes it more applicable for personnel and agencies that face the flatter, fast-moving fires that are encountered in in central and eastern parts of the United States.Call Number: SD421.4 .R418 2018 1st ed.ISBN: 9780879396718Publication Date: 2018-01-01
- Firefighter's Handbook on Wildland Firefighting by Written for the firefighter who needs a basic grasp of wildland firefighting. This includes those who have primary wildland responsibilities, and those who may intermittently be called into a wildland fire situation, such as through a mutual aid response.Call Number: SD421 .T44 2018 4th ed.ISBN: 9780879396763Publication Date: 2018-01-01
IFSI Library Periodicals
- Wildfire Magazine Wildfire is published quarterly for members of the International Association of Wildland Fire and the greater global wildland fire community. The magazine serves as a storytelling and network building platform, exemplifying our role as a unique supporter and unifier of fire professionals across the globe.
- Fire Engineering - June 2021 Wildland Urban Interface Supplement Contains; How to Protect Houses from Ignition from Wildfires, Lessons Learned from Line-of-Duty Deaths in the Wildland and How They Relate to Structural Firefighting, Evacuees: Understanding the Other Side of the Fence
- Fire Engineering - June 2022 Wildland Urban Interface Supplement Contains; "Lessons Learned from the Marshall Fire: A Company Officer's Perspective," "Human Factors in the Wildland Urban Interface," "Defensible Space: Are We Doing Our Job?" and "Wildland Refresher Training: Don't Just Go Through the Motions."
- Fire Engineering - June 2023 Wildland Urban Interface Supplement Contains; "Wildland Urban Interface Fires," "Preparing for the Wildland Fire Response: A New Thought on LCES," and "Wildland Briefings: Create Impact with Context and Incident Specifics."
- Fire Engineering - June 2024 Wildland Urban Interface Supplement Contains: Conveying Leader's Intent, Making the Hard Calls: Strategic Priorities for Wildland Urban Interface Firefighting, The Wildland Urban Interface in Your Backyard, Effective Wildland Fire Management: Beyond the Logistics, Becoming a Wildland Firefighter, and So, You Want to Be a Hotshot?
Articles Available from IFSI Periodicals
- The Aftermath of the Valley Fire of 2015
This article discusses the impact of the 2015 Valley Wildfire in California, and future preventative measures.
Recent Research and Guides
- NFPA Report: Wildland/Urban Interface "This report, based on 46 fire chief and senior line officer interviews, describes how some fire departments are addressing the wildfire peril and making the transition to becoming better prepared and ready to control and mitigate a wildfire incident in their communities. For some departments these conditions require only minor adjustments in their organization, procedures, and activities, while for other departments a major shift in outlook and approach may be required." -- NFPA Website
- Homes that survived the Marshall Fire harbored another disaster inside – here’s what we’ve learned about this insidious urban wildfire risk. Published: Dec. 26, 2022 11.28am EST
"This article is part of a collaboration with Boulder Reporting Lab, The Center for Environmental Journalism at the University of Colorado Boulder, KUNC public radio and The Conversation U.S. to explore the impacts of the devastating Marshall Fire one year after the blaze. The series can be found at the Boulder Reporting Lab." [Photo: Matthew Jonas/MediaNews Group/Boulder Daily Camera via Getty Images]
Lattimer, B.Y., Huang, X., Delichatsios, M.A. et al. Use of Unmanned Aerial Systems in Outdoor Firefighting. Fire Technology 59, 2961–2988 (2023). https://doi.org/10.1007/s10694-023-01437-0 (Full text of this Fire Technology paper is available from the UIUC Main Library collection for UIUC students and staff. Others may be able to interlibrary loan the paper through their local public library.)
UIUC Library Catalog
Wildfires by
A dangerous combination of weather, flame, and human activity, wildfires are a menace that threatens lives, destroys property, and torches immense areas. Whole towns may vanish in the flames. Dozens of lives can be lost in minutes. The most destructive wildfires, like historic hurricanes and earthquakes, scar both the land and human memory for generations. Despite advances in firefighting and science, wildfires have intensified in recent years. The reasons are many. Fire-prevention policies have had the ironic result of creating hotter, bigger events. Human settlements continue to encroach on fire-prone wilderness. Shifts in weather related to climate change lead to drought and temperature extremes that turn forests and grasslands into tinderboxes. Extreme Threats: Wildfires looks at the wildfire phenomenon in both history and today's world-the science and the mythology, the causes and possible solutions, and the ways human beings seek to survive, understand, and even profit from these extraordinary disasters. Book jacket.
Call Number: S.363.379 C9175wISBN: 9781599351209Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Resources from the IFSI Library Catalog: History
America's Fires by
"America's Fires reviews the historical context of our fire issues and policies that can inform the current and future debate. The forecast makes it imperative that the nation review its policies toward wildland fires and find ways to live with them more intelligently"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: SD421.3 .P958 2010ISBN: 0890300739Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Fire in America by
From prehistory to the present-day conservation movement, Pyne explores the efforts of successive American cultures to master wildfire and to use it to shape the landscape.
Call Number: SD421.3 .P96 1997ISBN: 029597592XPublication Date: 1997-01-01
Year of the Fires by
In the summer of 1910, wildfires int eh Northern Rockies scorched millions of acres, darkened skies in New England, and deposited soot on the ice in Greenland. The flames ravaged pristine wilderness along with farms, towns, and mining camps, culminating in the deaths of seventy-eight firefighters in the Big Blowup along the Montana-Idaho border. Year of the Fires is the riveting story of that catastrophic year and its pivotal role in establishing how we deal with forest fire in this country.
Call Number: SD421.32.M9 P96 2008ISBN: 9780878425440Publication Date: 2008-03-30
The Great Plains by
Early descriptions of the Great Plains often focus on a vast, grassy expanse that was either burnt or burning. The scene continued to burn until the land was plowed under or grazed away and broken by innumerable roads and towns. Yet, where the original landscape has persisted, so has fire, and where people have sought to restore something of that original setting, they have had to reinstate fire. This has required the persistence or creation of a fire culture, which in turn inspired schools of science and art that make the Great Plains today a regional hearth for American fire. Volume 5 of To the Last Smoke introduces a region that once lay at the geographic heart of American fire, and today promises to reclaim something of that heritage. After all these years, the Great Plains continue to bear witness to how fires can shape contemporary life, and vice versa. In this collection of essays, Stephen J. Pyne explores how this once most regularly and widely burned province of North America, composed of various subregions and peoples, has been shaped by the flames contained within it and what fire, both tame and feral, might mean for the future of its landscapes.
Call Number: SD421.34.G74 .P96 2017ISBN: 9780816535125Publication Date: 2017-05-09
Between Two Fires by
From a fire policy of prevention at all costs to today's restored burning, Between Two Fires is America's history channeled through the story of wildland fire management.
Call Number: SD421.3 .P9586 2015ISBN: 9780816532148Publication Date: 2015-10-15- Wildfire! - DVD by Depicts a powerful and awesome force of nature: wildfire. Men and equipment fought for 20 days to control forest fires in the Wenatchee National Forest, in Washington State in the summer of 1970.Call Number: SD421.3 .W5 2012Publication Date: 1971
- Up in flames : a history of fire fighting in the forest - DVD by Documents the development of North American fire detection, communication, and fire suppression technology from the inception of the lookout tower to the weather satellite. Uses archival footage to show the devastation of fires such as Idaho's Big Blowup in 1910 and Oregon's 1933 Tillamook Burn. Illustrates the impact of these catastrophic fires on the research and development of fire-fighting technology.Call Number: SD421.3 .U7 2007Publication Date: 1984
- Smoke jumper training for airborne fire fighting in Missoula, Montana, 1949 - DVD by Three film segments show smoke jumpers training in the 1940's. A brief history of transporting firefighters and the need for quick access in the rugged back country is followed by an introduction to equipment and protective clothing. Trainees perform physical conditioning exercises, learn landing techniques for land and water, descend from tree landings, and practice plane exits and parachute maneuvers.Call Number: SD421.32.M9.S75 2012Publication Date: 1949
- Wildfires: Fighting Fire with Fire - DVD by During the summer of 1994 there were an unprecedented number of fires near new communities and residential areas which had built up into the forests. Firefighters had to battle wildfires--at one point, two fires coming together--in an heroic attempt to save lives and property. Thirty men and women lost their lives in this effort. Should communities continue to build in forested areas where firefighting is impossible?Call Number: SD421.3 .W5 1995Publication Date: 1995
