Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Population, Health and Social Change in Eurasia: Current Trends in Health

This guide is designed for the 2016 Ralph and Ruth Fisher Forum organized by Professor Cynthia Buckley

Introduction

This page presents the pages maintained by the health ministries of East European and Eurasian countries.  Due to space restrictions, it was not possible to describe in detail the contents of each of the pages.  Further, the amount and even type of content often varies widely depending on the language in which it is presented (most pages are available in 2-3 language versions).  Also, the pages are constantly evolving and new material is being added, so the researchers are encouraged to explore them, but also to return to the parts they found of most interest, since new information could have been posted.

The websites of the large, multinational organizations, the websites, although well organized, interactive and searchable, are extremely content-rich.  As in the case of the national ministry pages, this guide highlights only a small part of their offerings.

Finally, the numerous databases provided by the portals of the US National Library of Medicine, and the Federal’nyi Obrazovatel’nyi Portal, offer numerous opportunities for data mining.  These are so numerous and diverse, that the researchers are encouraged to explore the provided links on their own, since even a cursory description of the research opportunities they offer was not possible due to space considerations.

Resources

National Library of Medicine

This large site provides access to a

number of databases, which can be

searched for a variety of topics.

DATABASES

FIND, READ, LEARN

Federal'nyi Obrazovatel'nyi Portal

Of particular interest in this multidisciplinary portal

is the section Sotsiologiia meditsiny

It links to over 300 articles on the subject of the intersection of medical science and sociology.

Armenia, Ministry of Health

The website is available in Armenian, Russian and English versions, however in many cases only the Armenian version is complete.  The coverage is uneven and sometimes unpredictable, so it is worthwhile to check all the versions. For example, within the English-language version the section “Latest news” is one of the most fleshed out, but is virtually empty in Russian.

To a visitor fluent in Armenian the page offers a multitude of interesting information from various health statistics to laws governing health care.

Moldova, Ministry of Healthcare

Available in Moldovan, English, and Russian. The tabs for switching languages are right above the search engine [image] Unfortunately, we were unable to make the page turn to languages other than Moldovan).

The site provides latest health care news, text of health legislation and reports. It also highlights the latest health programs and campaigns, such as this one:

 

Azerbaijan Republic, Ministry of Health

Unfortunately, the site is down very often, and its encoding in Russian does not always display properly.  Among other information, the website provides medical statistics.

Another possibility, for accessing the Ministry of Health information, unfortunately available only in Azeri. is via the following site. Among others, it provides overview of health initiatives, such as immunization programs.

Russian Federation, Ministry of Healthcare

This large and sophisticated site is available in Russian and English.  It provides a search engine, and even allows the viewer to customize the look of the site, by providing a possibility of switching to a printed version .

There is a parallel version of the site.  You can get to the English version from the home page of the official Roszdravnadzor (Federal Service for Surveillance in Healthcare) website or by the direct link: http://roszdravnadzor.ru/en    

Belarus, Ministry of Health

Surprisingly, the site is Russian and English, there is no Belarusian-language version.

The Russian-language section is much richer, since it contains 10 tabs versus 6 in English.

For readers of Russian the site offers a cornucopia of information as a legal section. Full text legal documents are linked to, and information on how the activities of the ministry fit into the Eurasian Economic Union.

Tajikistan, Minister of Health

The site is available in Tajik and Russian.  The Russian version is quite well fleshed out, but it varies significantly in content from the Tajik one. A search engine is provided.

The page provides a possibility to ask questions of the Ministry. 

Of interest to researchers may be the section of the latest news – Novosti.

Of interest is also the rubric Наши гости, where the questions posed to the ministry officials and their answers are archived.

Georgia, Ministry of Labor, Health and Social Affairs

The site is available in Georgian and English.

The main site

The English version

The English version is not very well developed.  English language tags may lead to pages that are ‘under construction’, or loop back to the vernacular.

It provides information on various aspects of health care, but since the ministry is a combined one, large parts of the site are devoted to labor and social issues.  Of interest may be the video content, which among others includes press conferences of the ministry officials.

 

 

Turkmenistan, Ministry of Health and Medical Industry

The website is a bit hard to navigate.  There is one unified linguistic version, where items in Turkmen and Russian are presented together, and often do not provide a translation to the other language. Some of the items, such as announcements of international events, are provided in English.

To navigate the site one must scroll to the bottom of the main page.  From there it is possible to turn to the second page

,

as well as navigate to various topics via an interactive menu.

Kazakhstan, Ministry of Health and Development

The page is available in Kazakh, Russian, and English.  Besides strictly health-related information, it provides a snapshot of social issues (including news about minorities, undocumented workers, etc.) of Kazakhstan.

For those wishing to track the latest news the site provides a calendar which can be dialed to the date when updates to the page were made.

Ukraine, Ministry of Health

The site is available only in Ukrainian.  It offers a lot of various types of information, however the organization of the initial page is somewhat crowded.  To navigate the site efficiently, it is a good idea to click on the tab leading to the map of the site.

Тhe web page provides links to the web portals of the executive and legislative branches of the Ukrainian government.

The site links to several portals of organizations and governmental bodies which can be searched for further information.

Kyrgyz Republic, Ministry of Health

The page is available in Russian.  The page provides a search engine, which greatly aids in navigation.

Besides statistical and legal information, as well as announcements of the recent initiatives, the site provides video clips on health related topics (such as this rally advertising the health benefits of cycling). 

The site also provides numerous links to various governmental bodies, national organizations, and portals offering services for the public.

Republic of Uzbekistan, Ministry of Health

The site is available in Uzbek, Russian and English versions.  The English version is quite fleshed out, but it cannot compare with the other ones.  As an example, the tab leading to full text of legislation varies widely.  The Uzbek-language version links to 37 pages documents, Russian to 103, while English-language one has a total of 6 pages.

The site provides statistical information, legislative documents, and latest events, such as this conference on Eastern Europe and Central Asia:

23 марта 2016

Пятая Конференция по ВИЧ/СПИДу в Восточной Европе и Центральной Азии EECAAC-2016

The site links to the Uzbek Medical Portal, which provides a wealhth of information.

International Organizations

International Organization for Migration

The site is very rich, but the navigation is streamlined by a division into geographic territories including South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe and Central Asia.  This segment is further subdivided into 21 separate country pages, allowing the researcher to quickly locate the pertinent information on a particular area. Each of the country-specific pages is set up differently, with the content and its layout varying greatly, depending on the issues facing the country.  However, each of the separate pages is rich in content and many are highly interactive.

The page is rich in current material, which gives an in-depth picture of current developments.

World Health Organization

This very rich site is available in several languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.  The scope of information available is very broad, from individual health topics, to statistical data, information on programs and projects.

The WHO site links to information on events like the Eurasian Women’s Forum 

Resources linked to from WHO site:

The site links to WHO’s continuous publications (free to download), as well as YouTube videos on a variety of subjects.

The organization's Bulletin contains summary data on Eurasia.

The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Established in 1950 by the United Nations General Assembly. The agency is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide.

The site provides information on the current programs and initiatives, statistical data, and information on accessing the organization’s archives and records.

The site provides a valuable navigation feature: it can be browsed by country.  Once a country is selected, the user is directed to a wealth of information including latest news, background information, and statistics.

Implementation of the Regional Housing Program continues in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia, in an attempt to provide sustainable housing for all 74,000 vulnerable refugees, returnees and IDPs from the 1991-1995 conflicts, many of whom continue to reside in inadequate, temporary accommodation or collective centers. In parallel, UNHCR has recommended the cessation of refugee status for Croatian refugees by December 2014. In cases where local integration or repatriation processes are still underway, this deadline may be extended until 2017.


Doctors without borders

This extensive site contains: field news, videos, audio recordings, slide shows, press releases, as well as blogs.

To view the organization’s U.S. Annual Reports or International Activity Reports, please visit the Annual Reports page

The site also provides access briefing documents, special reports, op-eds and articles, speeches, open letters and more, a quarterly newsletter, and more.  This map shows the organization's involvement in Eastern Europe and Eurasia.

European Commission on Public Health

With the massive influx of refugees from Eurasia into the EU countries, this website has become relevant to those researching these parts of the world.

The site is extraordinarily rich, providing a detailed insight into the working of the EU health system with links to press material, key documents and statistics, publications, reports on special events, videos and much more.  It also describes the latest initiatives and programs such as this one:

A search engine helps in navigating the large site with its many databases, including The Migration Law Database.