Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for This Topic
Researching Brazil (open access)
"Devised as a tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, Researching Brazil/Pesquisa no Brasil is both a bibliographic index and a gateway to online resources relevant to the field. The site provides a searchable index of Brazilian scholarly journals and contains additional relevant resources, including a news page, an online directory of institutions, a bibliography of print sources, and links to selected websites relevant to researchers."
Funk (ACES) LIbrary (UIUC)
Databases for agricultural, consumer, and environmental sciences
Latin American and Caribbean Databases
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies article and review citations regarding Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. in subject areas including political science, history and the humanities.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Identifies articles, books and conference papers on the social sciences and humanities in Latin America
Latin american Periodicals Tables of Contents
(LAPTOC) provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of more than 800 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 250,000 articles in the area's major languages.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American studies is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and researchers. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources.PLEASE NOTE THAT UIUC HAS LIMITED ACCESS TO THIS RESOURCE.
Open Access Databases for LACST
The following are some reliable open access databases to find scholarly articles on and about Latin America and the Caribbean:
Multi-Subjects Indexes & Databases
International and Area Studies Library
Subjects: African Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies