Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The New Graduate Student's Guide to the Chemistry Library: Library Resources

Resources and services offered to graduate students (and others) in the UIUC Chemistry Library.

Resources

  • Our Collection. Our primary mission is to support the curricular and research needs of the School of Chemical Sciences (SCS). Our holdings cover all basic chemistry and chemical and biomolecular engineering. The Chemistry Library's collection includes over 200,000 volumes, many at the Oak Street Storage Facility. Items at Oak Street can be requested for delivery to any departmental library or campus mail.
  • Electronic Journals. In addition to print subscriptions at the Chemistry Library, the Library has full-text access to many journals online. They can be accessed via the Online Library Catalog as well as the Find Online Journals & Databases tool.
  • Article and Other Databases. Online access to a large collection of bibliographic databases is available to patrons. SciFinder, Reaxys, PubMed (MEDLINE), Science Citation Index via Web of Science, Science of Synthesis, and Scopus are linked directly from the Chemistry Library homepage. Other available online indexes include Biological Abstracts, INSPEC, GenBank, Entrez, ENZYME, and Faculty of 1000. Access these and many others subscription products by going to the Find Online Journals & Databases tool. If you would like some help learning to use these resources, or if you would like help in choosing appropriate databases, contact the Chemistry Librarian, Mary Schlembach.
  • Course Reserves. The Chemistry Library has course materials on Reserve. Items can be checked out for two hour loan periods and be renewed if no one else is waiting. Some courses also have copies on Reserves at Grainger Library, which is open 24 hours, five days per week. Check the Library Catalog Course Reserves page to see where materials for your course have been placed on reserve.

Subject Guide

Chemistry Library's picture
Chemistry Library
Contact:
170 Noyes Lab
505 Mathews
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-3737
Website
Subjects:Chemistry