Finding Major Journals
For methods and resources to use in identifying journals in your field for publication or other purposes, see the Identifying Journals segment of this Introduction to Impact Factor guide.
Subject Guide
Funk ACES Library
Contact:
Funk ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Website
Soil Science Databases
-
Agricola on EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Agricola on EBSCO in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth and environmental sciences and more. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
-
AGRIS (FAO)Worldwide agricultural information.
-
Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) This link opens in a new windowLargest biological database, goes back to 1969. PDF Guide Available
-
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of Ag publications worldwide. It covers a diverse range of topics but those most relevant to Soil Science are Environmental Sciences, including: ecology and climate change, forestry, soil science, and hydrology. PDF Guide Available
-
Compendex This link opens in a new windowAllows you to do keyword searches using multiple databases such as Geobase and GeoRef. Covers an article date range of 1785 to the present.
-
GEOBASE This link opens in a new windowGEOBASE® is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management, and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series, and conference proceedings, GEOBASE has the most international coverage of any database in the field. To search GEOBASE, use the database limiter available to the left of the blue search bar.
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowThe GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 90,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. To search GeoRef, use the database limiter available to the left of the blue search bar.
-
Harmonized World Soil DatabaseThis database is put out by the Food and Agriculture Department of the United Nations. The HWSD is of immediate use in the context of the Climate Change Convention and the Kyoto Protocol for soil carbon measurements and for the FAO/IIASA Global Agro-ecological Assessment study (GAEZ 2008), for which HWSD was developed in the first place.
-
Journal of the Chemical Society, Abstracts[Chemical Abstracts] - The largest, most comprehensive chemical literature database.
-
The National Soil DatabaseThe NSDB is the set of computer readable files which contain soil, landscape, and climatic data for all of Canada. It serves as the national archive for land resources information that was collected by federal and provincial field surveys, or created by land data analysis projects.
-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowSearch for thesis and dissertations published either at the UIUC or any other university (full text access is available for some but not all thesis and dissertations).
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large abstract and citation database containing over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. For additional information on searching, visit the ACES Library Scopus library guide.
-
USDA/CRIS (Current Research Information System)The USDA's Current Research Information System. It documents ongoing and recently completed research in agriculture, food, and nutrition.
-
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowProvides the most current index to the world's leading scholarly research journals in all disciplines; includes abstracts. Available: 1982-present. Includes a unique "cited reference" feature, to find articles that have cited a given article. For more information on searching Web of Science, please visit the ACES Library Web of Science library guide.