LibGuides: Curriculum & Instruction 420: Foundations of Early Childhood Education: Getting Started

Need a quick definition?

Here are some dictionary and encyclopedia sources that you can turn to if you need to find out more about a term or concept quickly.

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
The 2011 edition is available online or in print in the SSHEL reference collection (370.3 G8562011).
Encyclopedia of Education
The link above goes to the online version. A print version is also available in the SSHEL reference collection (Q. 370.3 En1932003).

Did you know?

The call number for Early Childhood Education is 372.21 or LB1139.35. Browsing the SSHEL Stacks or Main Stacks in this range could help you find sources.

Print Resources

Print resources are an excellent place to start your research. These books will provide some basic biographical information about the figures you're researching, as well as references to more complete biographies. These are all located in the SSHEL reference collection. If you need help finding any of them, just ask at the reference desk!

Biographical Dictionary of American Educators by John F. Ohles
Call Number: 923.773 B52
Publication Date: 1973
Provides a short biography of figures in education which emphasizes educational background, philosophy, and any publications or significant career achievements. Also includes a short list of references.
Biographical Dictionary of North American and European Educationists by Peter Gordon and Richard Aldrich.
Call Number: 370.922 G657b
Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by Eugene F. Provenzo (Editor); John Philip Renaud (Editor)
Call Number: Q. 370.3 En1925
Publication Date: 2009
Includes brief biographies of major educators as well as a visual history of American education with nearly 350 images and an accompanying narrative at the end of volume three.
Pioneers of Early Childhood Education by Barbara Ruth Peltzman
Call Number: 372.210922 P368p
Publication Date: 1998
Combines short descriptions of a figure's involvement with early childhood education with annotated bibliographies of both primary secondary sources on the figure.
Women Educators in the United States, 1820-1993 : A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook by Maxine Schwartz Seller
Call Number: 371.100922 W842

Electronic Resources

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to several different reputable biography sources. Just search for your educator.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides biographies of over 18,700 Americans. Search for your educator to find both biographical information and a bibliography.

Biography Resources
Provides a list of biographical sources including Biography and Genealogy Master Index that offer additional information. Be sure that the source you consult includes the time period during which the individual lived.