Ask a Librarian
Biography Resources
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowBiographical dictionary of notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. Includes illustrations and hypertext links to other web resources.
- Biography.comOnline directory of biographical information for over 25,000 people. Information is stronger for current icons, but some historical figures are also available.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowCovers individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world by indexing reference sources such as biographical dictionaries and who's who guides, subject encyclopedias, and volumes of literary criticism.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowGale Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 528,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Biography Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Biography Index Retrospective in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers biographical content about people from antiquity to 1983 appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases from 1946 to 1983. The database includes articles and book citations as well as interviews and profiles of history-makers. It covers asked-about public figures, including writers, artists, statesmen, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, educators, military leaders, teachers, actors, business people, and more. Searchable by personal name and profession.
- Current Biography Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Current Biography Illustrated in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Current Biography Illustrated (TM) contains more than 15,000 full text biographies and more than 9,400 obituaries, with photographs, from all of the volumes of Current Biography Yearbook, from 1940 to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearches national and international news resources for biographical sources, people-related news sources, selected biographical stories, obituaries, and business-related stories covering company executives. This resource is particularly useful for finding politicians, business executives, and other people in the news.
- Marquis Who's Who This link opens in a new windowFeatures over 1.5 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields including government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports.
- Notable Names DatabaseDatabase of over 35,000 people, providing basic information and some detailed biographies. The NNDB tracks notoriety of people, both living and dead and links them by their connections.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of men and women, deceased at least five years, who, in the judgment of the editorial board, made important contributions to British history and culture. Includes access to articles from the original, Victorian classic, The Dictionary of National Biography.
- World Biographical Information System This link opens in a new windowWBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing short biographical information on over 6 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present.
- A-Z DatabasesFor additional resources, search through the A-Z Database. You can toggle the different drop down menus to filter by subject, type of sources needed, etc.